.

有韧性的住房设计挑战赛宣布获奖名单

By on 2018-12-19

内罗毕,2018年12月18日 —— 世界银行、建筑学院(Build Academy)、爱彼迎(Airbnb)、全球减灾与恢复基金(GFDRR)与联合国人居署合作,于今天宣布了有韧性的住房设计挑战赛(Resilient Homes Design Challenge)的获奖名单。 挑战赛要求设计具有抗灾韧性的、可持续的住房,以一万美元成本为限,为自然灾害的灾民及危险地带的居民建造住房。

十年来,灾害已使逾2300万人无家可归。(Disasters caused over 23 million people to become homeless in the past 10 years. )去年,飓风玛利亚重创加勒比岛国多米尼加,全岛仅11%的住房幸免于难。受害最深的常常是最贫困的居民。到2050年,要求再完成50%建筑存量的建设,今后15至20年的城市政策和决策将塑造我们所在的世界。住房设计和规划发挥着重大作用,使城市更具韧性。( With half the urban building stock that will exist in 2050 yet to be built, policies and decisions made by cities over the next 15-20 years will shape the world we live in.  Housing design and planning can play a big role in making cities more resilient.

这次挑战赛呼吁建筑师、工程师、设计师和全球各地的学生参赛,针对以下三种情景设计方案:

  • 情景1:遭遇地震、风暴和洪灾的岛国
  • 情景2:遭遇地震和塌方的山区和内陆地区
  • 情景3:遭遇风暴和洪灾的沿海地区

120多个国家的3000余名专业人员参赛,申请参赛的团队超过300个。由国际专家组成的评审团(jury of international experts)针对每个情景选出三个获奖设计,三个场景共选出九名获奖者。

诸如本次挑战赛这类的倡议支持重新开展由社区发起的有韧性的住房建设。这类倡议还有助于支持实现《2030年可持续发展议程》(2030 Agenda)和《可持续发展目标》的目标11(SDG 11.1)。其中,目标11呼吁为最弱势的群体提供安全的、负担得起的、有韧性的住房。

获奖名单:

团队名称设计地点
Antu (尼加拉瓜)加勒比和太平洋岛国
情景1CSW建筑 (法国)海地
KZ建筑 (美国)加勒比地区
Baha空间机构(尼泊尔)尼泊尔
情景2S4舱 (印度)印度
十(瑞士)尼泊尔、不丹
建筑师大街 (马来西亚)马来西亚
情景3PoLito (意大利)菲律宾
Bam-S (意大利)孟加拉

评审团还针对每个情景选出一个特别奖:

团队名称设计地点
情景1Kunqi Guo (中国)海地
情景2种子队 (印度)喜马拉雅山脉
情景3Maru队 (越南)越南

评审团对参赛作品的质量、从传统建筑方式到平板包装、3D打印等多样的建材和方法印象颇佳。评审团充分考量了参赛作品的抗灾韧性、可持续性、可复制性,及设计方案对本地文化环境的适宜度。建设的过程要求使用本地材料,促进本地就业,而不必倚重外来的专业技能和建材。

麻省理工学院建筑与规划院院长 Hashim Sarkis 总结评审团的评奖过程:“我们遇到灾害时屡次发现,有些解决方案在理论上看来不错,但最终却被人们否定、弃用。我肯定会选择更本地化的建筑体系和方法,改变现有的因素,或加入新的细节,让住房更坚固,建造起来更快速、更简便,也更体面。”

挑战赛将公布获奖的设计方案。获奖设计将获邀在世界银行华盛顿总部及全球各地其他选定的场所展出。获奖设计最终还将作为有韧性的住房或重建工作的设计参考,辅助世界银行资助的加勒比、南亚、及东南非项目。

下一阶段将测试获奖设计住房模型的韧性。随后,将与设计者持续协作,调整改进设计方案,便于实际应用。

“我们不该把这次设计赛看成是一次性的。我们应该把它视为社区围绕有韧性的住房设计和翻新这个重要的议程开展实践的开端。我们希望这次竞赛促进启动了一项运动和社区实践,便于交流知识、经验、思想,继续进步,”世界银行城市和地区发展、灾害风险管理和韧性建设部门负责人 Sameh Wahba 强调。

Resilient Homes Design Challenge – winners announced

By on 12/19/2018

NAIROBI, December 18, 2018—The World Bank, Build Academy, Airbnb, the Global Facility for Disaster Reduction and Recovery (GFDRR), and UN-Habitat today announced the winners of the Resilient Homes Design Challenge.  The Challenge generated designs for disaster-resilient and sustainable houses that could be constructed at under $10,000 for people living in areas affected by or vulnerable to disasters caused by natural hazards.

Disasters caused over 23 million people to become homeless in the past 10 years. When last year’s Hurricane Maria hit the Caribbean island country of Dominica, only 11 percent of the homes on the island remained intact. It is often the poorest that suffer the most from these shocks.  With half the urban building stock that will exist in 2050 yet to be built, policies and decisions made by cities over the next 15-20 years will shape the world we live in.  Housing design and planning can play a big role in making cities more resilient.

The Challenge called on architects, engineers, designers, and students from all over the world to design proposals for up to three scenarios:

  • Scenario 1:Island countries affected by earthquakes, storms, and flooding;
  • Scenario 2: Mountain and inland areas affected by earthquakes and landslides; and
  • Scenario 3:Coastal areas affected by storms and flooding

Over 3,000 professionals from over 120 countries participated in the Challenge, resulting in over 300 team submissions. A jury of international experts selected three winning designs for each of the three scenarios, for a total of nine winners.

Initiatives such as the Challenge support a renewed engagement in community-driven housing resilience efforts.  They also help support achievement of the 2030 Agenda and SDG 11.1, which calls for providing safe, affordable, and resilient housing for those most in need.

The winners are:

  Team Name Location for Design
  Antu (Nicaragua) Caribbean & Pacific islands
Scenario 1 CSW Architecture (France) Haiti
  KZ Architecture (USA) Caribbean
     
  Baha Spatial Agency (Nepal) Nepal
Scenario 2 Compartment S4 (India) India
  Ten (Switzerland) Nepal, Bhutan
     
  Architects Avenue (Malaysia) Malaysia
Scenario 3 PoLito (Italy) Philippines
  Bam-S (Italy) Bangladesh

The jury also selected one Special Mention for each scenario:

  Team Name Location for Design
Scenario 1 Kunqi Guo (China) Haiti
Scenario 2 Team Seeds (India) Himalayas
Scenario 3 Team Maru (Vietnam) Vietnam

The jury was impressed by the quality of the submissions as well as the diversity of materials and construction approaches, ranging from traditional construction to flat-packing, 3D-printing, and more. The jury gave due consideration to resilience, sustainability, replicability, and designs that suited the local cultural context, whose construction process would use local materials and enable local employment rather than requiring significant external expertise and materials.

Hashim Sarkis, Dean of the MIT School of Architecture & Planning, summarized the jury’s thinking process: “We’ve seen this repeatedly in disaster situations, where there are solutions that seem fine on paper but are ultimately rejected and abandoned by people. I would definitely go for the more localized construction systems and approaches that changed existing elements or introduced new details that makes the houses stronger, faster, and easier to build, but are also more dignified.”

Winning designs will be published, and the winners will be invited to exhibit at the World Bank in Washington, D.C., and other select global venues. Winning designs could also eventually inform resilient housing or reconstruction work for World Bank-funded projects in the Caribbean, South Asia, and East Asia, for example.

The next phase will be testing the winning design housing models for their resilience. This will be followed by a continued collaboration with the designers to tweak and improve the designs to get them ready for real-world application.

“We should not be looking at this design competition as a one-off. We should look at this as the beginning of a community of practice around the very important agenda of resilient housing design and retrofitting. We hope that this competition has jump-started a movement and a community of practice that can exchange knowledge, experience, and ideas, and continue to grow,” emphasized Sameh Wahba, World Bank Director for Urban and Territorial Development, Disaster Risk Management and Resilience.

Main Menu