.

坦桑尼亚姆万扎非正式住区居民生活状况得到缓解

By on 2018-06-28

Mabatini非正式住区简化的污水处理系统。拍摄@Julius Mwelu 联合国人居署

姆万扎,2018628—— 坦桑尼亚姆万扎的 Mabatini、Igogo 和 Kilimahewa 非正式住区的居民有了微笑的理由,因为他们可以在姆万扎的岩石山丘中获得安全的环境卫生设施和清洁的水了。

姆万扎城市人口的三分之二生活在非正式住区,那里的供水、环境卫生设施、废水处理、固体废物管理和通路等基本服务供应不足。人口密集的非正式住区就建在花岗岩岩石和陡坡上,环境卫生条件极其恶劣。

但是仍有希望。姆万扎的维多利亚湖水和环境卫生项目通过简化的污水处理系统以及清洁水供应,为Kilimahewa、Mabatini和Igogo非正式住区的2,334名居民提供环境卫生设施。

“在此次干预之前,这一地区的环境卫生状况非常糟糕。由于这里的土地岩石性质,坑式厕所无法达到足够的深度。我们建造了浅坑厕所,而这些厕所很快就被填满了。由于这一地区没有排污系统以及抽粪卡车无法进入,这意味着人们必须找到随时清空被填满的坑式厕所的方法。在雨季期间,居民们借此机会清空他们的厕所,让粪便物质通过邻居的房屋和过道流到山下,导致邻里间的不和。

此外,该项目大大改善了我们获得清洁用水、安全用水的机会,并消除了女性在夜间醒来,要到离家很远的地方寻找水源时遇到的挑战。” Kilimahewa多利益相关方论坛主席Suleiman Sandor这样说道。

社区很高兴与水、环境卫生设施和个人卫生相关的疾病将不再是一个难题。 Mabatini多利益相关方论坛副主席Michael Masonga先生说:“去年由于霍乱疫情,社区失去了五名成员。 但现在社区成员都很高兴并享受着Mabatini卫生项目的好处。受益者的情况也得到了缓解,穿过岩石山丘回家将不再是一个挑战,因为该项目在岩石山丘上建造了楼梯,既保护了废水管道,也充当了居民的通路。

欧洲投资银行代表Raoul Pedrazzani先生表示:“我很高兴,我们可以见证这个项目,并证实了它对居民的好处。该项目的目标是为非正式住区提供环境卫生设施和洁净水,我们很高兴该项目不仅实现了这一目标,而且还通过建造岩石山丘上的楼梯使居民回家更加方便。感谢这里的居民,他们通过多利益相关方论坛,在项目实施之前、实施期间和完成之后表现出他们的支持、投入和参与。感谢居民的委托和履行责任。”

该项目由欧洲投资银行(EIB)、法国开发署(AFD)、坦桑尼亚政府通过维多利亚湖水和卫生项目——姆万扎与联合国人居署合作资助和实施。该项目旨在通过改善维多利亚湖盆地二级城镇的可持续供水和环境卫生基础设施,减少流入湖泊的污染。

Kilimahewa非正式住区的居民接取安全的洁净水。拍摄@Julius Mwelu 联合国人居署

Relief to residents of informal settlements in Mwanza, Tanzania

By on 06/28/2018

Simplified sewerage system in the informal settlement of Mabatini. Photo©Julius Mwelu UN-Habitat

Mwanza, 28 June 2018–Residents of the informal settlements of Mabatini, Igogo and Kilimahewa in Mwanza, Tanzania have a reason to smile as they access safe sanitation and clean water in the rocky hills of Mwanza.

Two-thirds of the urban population of Mwanza live in informal settlements where there is inadequate provision of basic services such as water supply, sanitation facilities, wastewater treatment, solid waste management, and access roads. The densely populated informal settlements are built on granite rocks and steep slopes and sanitation conditions are conceivably deplorable.

There is hope. Lake Victoria water and sanitation programme in Mwanza has been able to provide 2,334 residents in informal settlements of Kilimahewa, Mabatini and Igogo access to sanitation through the simplified sewerage system as well as access to clean water supply.

“Before this intervention, the sanitation situation in this area was very poor. We couldn’t achieve sufficient depth for our pit latrines due to the rocky nature of our land. We constructed shallow pit latrines which filled up quickly. The absence of a sewerage system and inaccessibility of our area by exhauster trucks meant that people had to find a way of emptying their pit latrines whenever they filled up. During the rainy season, residents would then take the opportunity to empty their pit latrines and let the faecal matter flow downhill through the neighbours houses and pathways resulting into disagreements.

Also, the project has significantly improved our access to clean and safe water and eliminated the challenges that women encountered as they woke up at night to look for water far away from their homes says,” Mr. Suleiman Sandor who is the Multistakeholders forum chair, Kilimahewa.

The communities are happy that the WASH – related diseases will no longer be a problem. Mr. Michael Masonga- Multistakeholders forum vice chair, Mabatini said, “last year the community lost five members due to Cholera outbreak. But now the community is happy and enjoying the benefits of the sanitation project in Mabatini. There is respite from the beneficiaries, accessing the rocky hills to their homes will no longer be a challenge, the project too has made accessibility possible by constructing stair way up the rocky hills which is meant to protect the waste pipes as well as act as an access road for residents.

“I am happy, we can see the project and attest to its benefits to the residents. The aim of the project was to provide access to sanitation and clean water to the informal settlements, we are glad that the project has not only achieved that, but it has also made accessibility of residents to their homes easier and better through the stairway up the rocky hill. I am grateful to the residents who through the Multistakeholders forum have shown their support, involvement and participation before, during and after implementation of the project, thank you for fulfilling your mandate and responsibilities.” Mr. Raoul Pedrazzani, representative of the European Investment Bank.

This project has been by funded and implemented by The European Investment Bank (EIB), Agence Française de Développement (AFD), the Government of Tanzania in partnership with UN-Habitat through the Lake Victoria water and sanitation programme – Mwanza. The aim of the project is to contribute to the reduction of pollution flowing into the lake by making improvement in sustainable water supply and sanitation infrastructure in secondary towns in Lake Victoria Basin.

Resident of Kilimahewa informal settlement accessing safe clean water. Photo©Julius Mwelu UN-Habitat

Main Menu