.

非洲城市筹备监督汇报目标11的执行进度

By on 2018-01-12

弗朗西斯敦培训班学员、联合国人居署和联合国非洲经济委员会(UNECA)代表

内罗毕,2018112日 —— 2017年底,博茨瓦纳和突尼斯筹备监督汇报《可持续发展目标》目标 11 的执行进度,得到联合国人居署全球城市观测站工作组和联合国非洲经济委员会(UNECA)的支持。

2017年10月,联合国人居署和联合国非洲经济委员会(UNECA)开办技术培训班,讲解使用分解法对于实现《2030年可持续发展议程》、《可持续发展目标》目标11非空间指标的重要意义。来自博茨瓦纳和突尼斯主要部委及国家统计部门的学员们参加培训,交流他们对自身工作经验及挑战的洞见,包括生成分解统计数据,采取创新解决方案,处理目标11对分解统计数据的需求,及应对(统计)能力差距,提供机遇强化国家统计体系以生成分解统计数据。

学员们赞同分解统计数据意义重大,尽管这一工作具有挑战性。分解统计数据要求开展大量工作,按照方法来制定标准、工具和准则,提高分解数据的质量。因此,要求协作进行数据采集和数据的三角测量。相关分解工作常常无法完成,有时是因为调查设计有误,如未入学儿童不被计入学校调查。此外,学员们同意,需要制定机制,承诺保障分享数据,而这应由合作伙伴与各国共同完成。点击下方链接观看培训班的讲座: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B87QMWwLVgkKdFRPZWJiV2l5a00

完成关于分解统计数据的方法的培训后,选定在博茨瓦纳的弗朗西斯敦市和哈博罗内市分别开展为期三天的集中培训。弗朗西斯敦市市长Sylvia Muzila女士和哈博罗内市市长Kagiso Thutlwe先生在各自的城市为培训班正式揭幕。基础设施与住房发展部副常秘Esther Serati女士出席了两个揭幕仪式。她的莅临代表着政府高层对培训项目的支持和祝福,这对项目的成功举办十分必要。

在博茨瓦纳的上述两个选定城市开办专业培训班的主要目标是提高现有能力,使用各种统计工具和技术,监督汇报《可持续发展目标》目标11的执行进度。培训聚焦并促进强化联合国人居署的工具,如城市繁荣指数(CPI)、空间和非空间数据分析、国家城市样本(National Sample of Cities)等,从而促进强化地方(市级)监督《可持续发展目标》(SDGs)的能力,最终促进全国乃至全球监督汇报的整体工作。培训将使用各类工具和体系,支持博茨瓦纳和其它试点国家,赋权各国协同汇报全球、全国、地方的所有愿景。目前,联合国人居署和联合国非洲经济委员会(UNECA)提供综合工具组,包括城市繁荣指数(CPI)、国家城市样本(NSC)等,旨在帮助各国进行城市监督,无缝链接相关要求和需求。

哈博罗内培训班学员、联合国人居署和联合国非洲经济委员会(UNECA)代表

培训班学员包括不同地方政府的50多名代表。培训班向利益相关方概述了城市繁荣指数(CPI)和国家城市样本的举措及《可持续发展目标》目标11的监督框架,展示了空间指标和非空间指标。弗朗西斯敦市和哈博罗内市分享了在城市指标、监督、汇报和传播等方面的经验。显然,两个城市都已经在监督《可持续发展目标》方面取得了长足的进步。例如,弗朗西斯敦已经建立了几个稳固的系统,如汇报《可持续发展目标》进度的各委员会。2018年计划在突尼斯的两个城市试点开办类似的培训班。

两个城市的培训班最后都讨论并制定了工作计划,使用城市繁荣指数(CPI)框架,指导《可持续发展目标》目标11各项指标的数据采集和分析过程。联合国人居署和联合国非洲经济委员会(UNECA)将继续与两个城市合作,保障充足的能力开发,保障突尼斯和博茨瓦纳的这四个选定城市成为未来非洲各国乃至全球的参考点。点击下方链接阅览本次培训的最终报告和讲座: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1hDVcudP5PkvJ15w9NCdsWL60iDqKmVJV

关于项目

“《可持续发展目标》目标11:监督汇报非洲和拉丁美洲的人类住区指标”项目支持设计监督工具,以改善城市和全国城镇各级统计数据的采集及供应,促进制定循证政策。联合国人居署、联合国非洲经济委员会(UNECA)、联合国拉丁美洲和加勒比经济委员会(ECLAC)与四个试点国家合作,包括两个非洲国家(博茨瓦纳、突尼斯)和两个拉丁美洲国家(厄瓜多尔、哥伦比亚),探讨和检测国家城市样本的理念,全面汇报《可持续发展目标》(SDGs)所有城市指标的性能。

Preparing Cities in Africa to Monitor and Report on Goal 11

By on 01/12/2018

Francistown Training Workshop Participants, UN-Habitat and UNECA representatives

Nairobi, 12 January 2018– At the close of 2017, Botswana and Tunisia were getting prepared to monitor and report on SDG 11, with the support of the UN-Habitat’s Global Urban Observatory team and the UNECA to monitor and report on SDG 11.

In October 2017, UN-Habitat and UNECA organized a technical workshop on the importance of disaggregation in achieving Agenda 2030 and possible disaggregation methodologies for SDG 11 non-spatial indicators. Participants from the lead ministries as well as the National Statistics Offices in Botswana and Tunisia participated and exchanged insights on their national experiences and challenges in producing disaggregated data, innovative solutions that could address the disaggregated data needs of SDG 11, and (statistical) capacity gaps and opportunities to reinforce national statistical systems to produce disaggregated data.

Participants appreciated the importance of data disaggregation despite the challenges that come with it. Data disaggregation requires a lot of methodological work for developing standards, tools and protocols, and improving quality of data disaggregates. There is therefore need for coordination in data collection and triangulation of data. Relevant disaggregation is often absent sometimes due to the way surveys are designed e.g. children who are not in school are excluded from school-based surveys. Additionally, participants agreed that there is a need to develop mechanisms and commitments to ensure data sharing, which should be a joint effort between partners and countries. The presentations made during the training can be accessed using this link: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B87QMWwLVgkKdFRPZWJiV2l5a00.

This training on methodologies for data disaggregation was followed by an intense three-day training workshop in each of the selected cities in Botswana – Francistown and Gaborone. Ms. Sylvia Muzila, the Mayor, City of Francistown and Mr. Kagiso Thutlwe, the Mayor of Gaborone City officially opened the training workshops in their cities. The workshops were also attended by the Deputy Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Infrastructure and Housing Development – Ms. Esther Serati, demonstrating a high level of commitment and goodwill essential for successfully implementing the project.

The main objective of the specialized training workshops in the two selected cities in Botswana was to enhance the existing capacity in monitoring and reporting on SDG 11 using various statistical tools and techniques. The training focused on and contributed to the reinforcement of UN-Habitat tools such as the City Prosperity Index (CPI), spatial and non-spatial data analysis, National Sample of Cities among others, consequently contributing to strengthening of the local (city level) monitoring of the SDGs, which ultimately contribute to the overall national and global monitoring and reporting. The tools and systems that will be employed to support Botswana and the other pilot countries will enable them to harmonize reporting for all the global, local and national visions. UN-Habitat and UNECA are offering an integrated suite of tools including CPI, National Sample of Cities (NSC) among others that are intended to help countries to deliver on urban monitoring, requirements/needs in a seamless way.

Gaborone Training Workshop Participants, UN-Habitat and UNECA representatives

The workshops attended by over 50 representatives from various local authorities, provided stakeholders with an overview of the City Prosperity Index (CPI), National Sample of Cities approach and the monitoring framework for SDG 11 showcasing both the spatial and non-spatial indicators. The cities of Francistown and Gaborone both shared their experiences on urban indicators, monitoring, reporting and dissemination. It was evident that both cities were already making strides towards monitoring SDGs. For instance, Francistown already has several well-established structures such as committees to report on SDGs. Similar workshops are planned in 2018 for two pilot cities in Tunisia.

By the end of the workshop, each city had discussed and developed a work plan to guide the data collection and analyses processes for SDG 11 indicators using the CPI framework. UN-Habitat and UNECA will continue to work with the cities to ensure that capacities are adequately developed and that the selected cities in Tunisia and Botswana will be the reference point for the rest of the continent and the world. The final report and presentations from this workshop are available using this link: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1hDVcudP5PkvJ15w9NCdsWL60iDqKmVJV .

About the Project:
The project ‘SDG11: Monitoring and Reporting on Human Settlement Indicators in Africa and Latin America’ is supporting the design of monitoring tools to improve the availability of and access to data and statistics at city and national urban level for the formulation of evidence-based policies. UN-HABITAT, UNECA and ECLAC are working with four pilot countries, 2 from Africa (Botswana, Tunisia) and 2 from Latin America (Ecuador, Colombia) to explore and test the concept of working with a national sample of cities to report on performance on all urban SDGs indicators in a holistic manner.

Main Menu