.

图尔卡纳郡本地青年和难民青年开展参与式公共空间设计促进和平共处

By on 2017-11-22

难民青年和本地青年合作设计社区的公共空间

2017年11月13日至16日,联合国人居署在 Kalobeyei 启动了公共空间方案(Public Space Programme),首次为难民青年和本地青年开办参与式设计的培训班。 除了本地居民,另有七个民族的居民参加培训。 公共空间方案将搭建公共空间网络,由本地居民和难民执行、维护,促进难民融合,保障社区归属感和公共空间的使用。

首期设计培训班的目标是设计两个公共空间:周边地区的本地青年负责设计Kalobeyei镇,难民青年负责设计Kalobeyei难民营。学员们使用电脑游戏《我的世界》(Minecraft)这项工具,对公共空间进行3D设计和可视化设计。

培训班是《我的世界》的开发者Mojang公司与联合国人居署合作的成果。一直以来,联合国人居署公共空间方案始终支持全球的社区通过设计公共空间参与振兴小区。培训班使用有趣的、创新的方式,教授学员如何对所在小区公共空间的发展潜力进行可视化设计。两个公共空间的重建与振兴由Block by Block方案资助。今后几周,公共空间方案还将另外开展类似的两个公共空间的重建与振兴项目。

培训课程的开端是联合国人居署公共空间方案工作组的Mitiku Woldesenbet进行概况介绍。培训班讨论了设施完备的公共空间的范例,这些公共空间如何服务社区,及包括难民营等重要社区的情况。学员们按照所在社区分为小的工作组,学习并熟悉《我的世界》这款软件,在余下的几天里完成公共空间设计,在培训结束时提交设计。整个培训过程中,鼓励各小组积极思考要成功开发公共空间所面对的具体挑战,及解决上述问题可以采取的解决方案。

联合国人居署、联合国难民署(UNHCR)、世界粮食计划署(WFP)、地方政府及执行合作伙伴日本难民救助会(AAR Japan)参加了最后的报告会,分享可用于开发公共空间的潜在设施与资源。青年代表们强调了难民和本地居民都需要使用的几类公共空间,如社区公共厕所、公共长椅、提高安全的街灯、铺设的步行道、垃圾清洁和垃圾箱、儿童和青年的游乐场、户外运动设施等。他们强调,居民一致同意,迫切需要沿所有道路、在公共空间内建设绿色基础设施。青年还强调需要在公共空间提供免费WiFi,并在公共空间提供就业。

凭借两个公共空间附近的青年居民的参与,这些公共空间将建立管理框架,支持Kalobeyei难民营从短期应急规划向更可持续的发展模式过渡,为Kalobeyei的社区改善基础设施,促进难民融合。

此外,公共空间为Kalobeyei新难民营18个不同民族的和平共处和文化共享提供了空间,为减少民族间的冲突、建设安全且善加利用的公共空间铺平了道路。

培训最后,联合国人居署工作组与日本难民救助会(AAR)分析了学员们提出的不同建议。学员们建议在完成两个场所的施工图并与社区召开验证研讨会后,于2017年12月的第一周快速实施两个公共空间项目。

Participatory Public Space Design with host and refugee youth to promote peaceful coexistence in Turkana County

By on 11/22/2017

Refugee and host community youth working together to design the public space around their community

On 13th – 16th November, UN-Habitat kick-started the Public Space Programme in Kalobeyei though a first participatory design workshop with youth from refugees and host communities. In addition to the host community, seven different nationalities were involved in the workshop. The Public Space Programme will establish a network of public spaces designed, implemented and maintained by host and refugee communities, fostering integration the two communities to ensure sense of community ownership and use of the public space.

The first design workshop was organized for designing 2 public spaces: in Kalobeyei Town, by youth living in the surrounding area, and in Kalobeyei Refugee Settlement, by refugee youth. Participants utilized the computer game Minecraft as a tool for 3D design and visualization of the public spaces.

The workshop is a result of the collaboration between creators of Minecraft, Mojang, and UN-Habitat. UN-Habitat’s Public Space Programme has been supporting the engagement of communities internationally in revitalizing their neighborhoods through public space designs. Participants are taught in an engaging and creative way on how to visualize the potentials of public spaces within their neighborhoods. The rehabilitation and revitalization of these two public spaces is funded by Block By Block. Two additional and similar public space rehabilitations and revitalizations project to occur in the coming few weeks as part of the same project.

The workshop begins with an explanatory introduction by Mitiku Woldesenbet from UN-Habitat`s Public Space Programme team, discussing examples of well-equipped public spaces and how they served their communities, and their importance communities including refugee settlements. Participants from the respective communities were then divided into smaller working groups, to familiarize with Minecraft software, spending the remaining days producing final public space designs presented at the end of the workshop. Throughout the process of the workshop, groups were also encouraged to brainstorm on specific challenges to the successful development of these spaces, and the potential solutions that could be adopted to address them.

The final presentation was attended by UN-Habitat, UNHCR, WFP, Local Administration and the implementation partners AAR Japan, sharing the potential facilities and resources that could be used towards public space development. The youth members highlighted on several uses of public spaces that are needed in both refugee and host communities such as community public toilet, seating benches, street lights for improvement of safety, paved foot paths , garbage collectors and garbage bins, , children and youth playgrounds and outdoor sports facilities, and a consensus on the urgent need of implementing green infrastructure along all roads and in the public spaces. The youth also highlighted on the need of free WiFi in the public spaces and job creation in public spaces.

Though the involvement of the youth living in the proximity of the two public spaces, these public spaces will have a management structure that also supports the Kalobeyei Settlement’s transition from a short-term, emergency planning to a more sustainable development model, and to better provide for infrastructure to communities within Kalobeyei, strengthening the integration of Host Communities and Refugees.

Furthermore, public space provides a space for the coexistence and shared cultures, considering the 18 different nationalities living together in Kalobeyei New Settlement, paving the way for reduces conflict between communities and achievement of safe and well used public spaces.

After the end of the workshop, the UN-Habitat team with the AAR analyzed the different proposals from the participants moving towards a quick implementation of the two public spaces project in the first week of December 2017, after completing the working drawing of the two sites, and following the validation workshop with the community.

Translate »
Main Menu