挪威庆祝联合国日聚焦青年和可持续发展目标的本地化

By on 2018-10-26

挪威首相埃尔娜·索尔贝格(中间)与联合国人居奖获奖者Issac Muasa(左二)、联合国人居署工作组在阿斯克的青年会议上

挪威阿斯克,20181024—— 联合国人居署与阿斯克市政府(Asker Kommune)共同主办了第三届联合国日阿斯克青年会议,庆祝青年通过地方行动参与实现《可持续发展目标》。 会议主题是 “可持续发展目标的本地化”,挪威 Hurum、Røyken 和阿斯克的50名社区青年与国际青年代表、政府领导一道,讨论上述三地如何把《可持续发展目标》作为可持续发展的框架。

挪威政府的参会代表包括首相埃尔娜·索尔贝格、地方事务与现代化大臣Monica Mæland、知识与融合大臣Jan Tore Sanner、阿斯克市市长、Hurum市长和Røyken市长。

“看到这么多青年参与所在城市和小区的建设,令人振奋。你们投身于建设民主的未来。今天,你们有机会发表意见,讨论新阿斯克未来的面貌,”Monica Mæland大臣称,“新阿斯克与人居署的合作旨在实现《可持续发展目标》,令人鼓舞,展现了联合国在挪威本地的影响。”

本次会议的目标是制定体察青年的政策和方案,以《可持续发展目标》为框架,建设即将设立的新阿斯克。计划并入新阿斯克的Hurum、Røyken和阿斯克这三个城市的青年男女与国际青年、人居署的治理专家合作,为即将召开的市议会制定了切实的建议。

“《可持续发展目标》意义重大,因为它反映了我们的各项需求,包括健康、教育、创新、包容和安全的城市、气候变化等。这些问题都是我们现在必须解决的,”(肯尼亚)玛萨瑞一站式中心协调员、2018年联合国人居奖获奖者Isaaac Muasa称,“我们不能等到一年、五年或十年后再行动。我们不能坐等这些目标在国际舞台上积灰,我们必须把这些目标‘本地化’,我们必须确保采取本地行动,实现这些目标。”

阿斯克为地方政府制定的《可持续发展目标》框架正在全球为各市政府所采纳,琳恩·康拉迪(Lene Conradi)市长及其下属迫切需要分享他们的这项新工具。这一框架的特点在于注重包容性,这也是阿斯克会议突出的要点。

“可持续性目标将有助于指导我们开展工作、制定优先发展事项和着眼未来的本地化解决方案。我们的解决方案还将惠及全球,”康拉迪市长称。“这就意味着,2020年设立的新城市新阿斯克将在城市总体规划中制定本地目标,与《联合国可持续发展目标》中的全球目标相符。”

首相参加本次会议和工作组,听取并参与青年的讨论,展现了中央政府对青年的支持。

在主题为“可持续发展目标的本地化”的挪威阿斯克会议上,青年庆祝《可持续发展目标》

“Hurum、Røyken和阿斯克一马当先。我们希望,其他城市会紧随其后,”首相称,“以《可持续发展目标》的17项目标为框架建设新阿斯克市,是一项卓越的战略。这些目标为全球考量、从本地行动。我知道,人居署的代表也参加了本次会议。感谢各位对17项目标的宝贵意见和建议。”

背景介绍

挪威正在进行市政改革。其目标是建设更强大的地方政府。作为改革的组成部分,Hurum、Røyken和阿斯克决定于2020年合并。设立的新城市将称作新阿斯克。三个城市在合并初期即已决定,新城市应以“最佳范例”及“下个范例”为立市之本。

《联合国可持续发展目标》于2016年1月生效。同期,Hurum、Røyken和阿斯克刚刚开始计划三市合并。因此,三个城市顺理成章地以联合国的17项可持续发展目标为建设新阿斯克市的框架。本次会议的成果也将被纳入新阿斯克市的城市规划。新阿斯克市的规划致力于促进改善治理、融合地方社区,将于2020年起实施。

Norwegian UN Day celebration focuses on youth and the localization of the Sustainable Development Goals

By on 10/26/2018

The Prime Minister of Norway Erna Solberg (centre) with the UN Scroll of Honour winner Isaac Muasa (2nd from left) and UN-Habitat team at the Asker youth Conference

Asker, Norway, 24 October 2018 –  UN-Habitat and Asker Kommune (Norway) co-hosted the third Asker Youth Conference on UN Day, celebrating the engagement of youth in achieving the SDGs through local action. Convened under the theme of “Localization of the SDGs”, 50 youth from the Norwegian communities of Hurum, Røyken and Asker came together with international youth delegates and government leaders to discuss how the three communities could use the SDGs as a framework for sustainability.

Attending from the Government of Norway was Prime Minister Erna Solberg, Minister of Local Government and Modernization, Monica Mæland and the Minister of Education and Integration Jan Tore Sanner, and the current Mayors of Asker, Hurum and Røyken.

 “It is inspiring to see so many young people engaging in what happens in their municipality and in their neighbourhoods. You are participating in building our democracy for the future. Today you have the opportunity to give your opinions on what New Asker can be in the future,” stated Minister Maeland, “The cooperation between New Asker and UN-Habitat in order to achieve the SDGs is encouraging and demonstrates that the UN also has impact locally in Norway.”

The goal of the conference was to develop youth informed policies and programmes utilizing the SDGs as a framework for the soon to be constituted New Asker. Young men and women from the three merging municipalities worked with international youth and governance experts from UN-Habitat to create concrete proposals to present to the incoming municipal council .

“The SDGs are important because they reflect our needs – health, education, innovation, inclusive and safe cities and climate change. These are all issues that we must tackle now, “ stated Isaaac Muasa, coordinator of the Mathare One Stop Centre (Kenya) and a recipient of the 2018 UN-Habitat Scroll of Honour, “We cannot wait to start in a year, five years or a decade from now. We cannot leave these goals to collect dust at the international level, we must “localize” them, we must make sure we can take local actions to bring them about.”

The SDG framework for local governments created by Asker is being sought after by municipalties globally, with Mayor Lene Conradi and her staff in high demand to share their new tool. One aspect of the framework is its focus on inclusiveness, which the Asker Conference highlighted.

“The Sustainability Goals will help guide our work and priorities – and develop local solutions for the future – solutions that will also contribute globally,” stated Mayor Conradi. “This means that in 2020 the new municipality – New Asker – will have local goals in our Municipal Masterplan, that are in line with the global goals and targets in the UN Sustainable Development goals.”

Demonstrating the support of young people at the highest level, the Prime Minister attended the conference and the working groups, listening to and engaging the youth in the delberations.

Youth celebrating the SDGs at Asker Conference in Norway on Localization of the SDGs

“Hurum, Royken and Asker are leading the way, and we hope that others will follow the same path,” stated the Prime Minister, “Using the 17 goals as a framework for building the New Asker municipality is an excellent strategy. The goals are all about thinking globally and acting locally. I know that there are also delegates from UN-Habitat at the conference. Thank you everyone  for your advice and your take on the goals.”

 

Background

Norway is undergoing local municipal reform. The goal is to build bigger, stronger local authorities. As part of the reform, Hurum, Røyken and Asker have decided to merge in 2020. The new municipality is to be called New Asker. The three municipalities decided at an early stage that the new municipality should not only be built on ”best practice” but a ”next practice”.

The UN Sustainable Development Goals came into force in January 2016. At the same time, Hurum, Røyken and Asker had just started planning their future merging. It was natural, therefore, for the three municipalities to use the UN’s 17 Sustainable Development Goals as the framework for building the new Asker municipality, The outputs gathered from the conference will be further included in the municipal plan for the new Asker municipality which was created to foster better governance and inclusion of local communities and which will be implemented from 2020.

Main Menu