肯尼亚丹多勒启用新示范街道

By on 2018-04-18

周六, 联合国人居署共建城市公共空间项目合作伙伴及丹多勒转型联盟(Dandora Transformation League)在内罗毕丹多勒二期工程启用示范街道。 示范街道为公民使用街道提供便利, 同时推动街边小规模商业的繁荣发展。 示范街道旨在作为基准,指导未来的干预手段。 示范街道作为榜样,证明了场所营造如何刺激基层团体、私营部门、地方政府和其他场所营造领导者结成看似难以成行的联盟,从家庭到小区适应、复制和提升优良做法,带动不同利益相关方广泛开展社区赋权项目。 出席活动的有联合国人居署执行主任麦慕娜·莫哈德·谢里夫女士、丹多勒转型联盟创始人 Robinson Esialimba 先生、人居署工作人员、共建城市公共空间项目工作组、城市不同地区的代表、丹多勒社区等。

丹多勒是低收入小区,距内罗毕市中心11千米,人口数为141885。示范街道项目成功地解决了各类问题,如高犯罪率、青年犯罪团伙、青年失业、城市衰败、垃圾场不受管理及其对周边社区乃至更广大地区环境和健康的有害影响、很多开放空间堆置废弃物等。示范街道造成的直接的、积极的影响是总体改善当地居民的福利。示范街道的干预举措带来的某些具体成果如下:

使居民感到安全保障有所改善:现在,居民在示范街道上行走,感到更加安全。当地居民Anthony Kwach解释,“这些天,即使我午夜出门,也不会担心。我知道,我会安全到家,没有问题。因为有了照明,百米外的人我都看得见。”

改善生计和机遇:改善街道使街头小贩可以更长时间摆摊,获取更多收益。此外,可以向青年提供就业机会,如公共空间的维护和安保。当地的项目倡导者、丹多勒转型联盟首席执行官Charkes Gachanga解释,“过去,因为害怕遇袭,移动钱包(M-pesa)业务和其他利润不错的买卖都要在晚上7点结业。但现在,这些业务和其他许多小买卖可以经营到夜里11点。”

改善与政府的关系:当地青年与酋长、次郡长官的关系有了很大改善。这一关系带来了以往鲜有的协作,尤其是收回了公共空间、提高了凝聚力、友善的邻里关系等。

使儿童游戏的机会有所改善:现在,街道铺设平整,儿童爱上了轮滑运动,有的人甚至可能日后以此为职业。每周六,约40名儿童和青年在示范街道一起玩轮滑。

改善排污设施和环境质量:疏通排污管道,为小区的环境健康做出重大贡献。由此解决了污水、洪水和污泥溢出管道的问题。

丹多勒转型联盟凭借示范街道项目,还荣获迪拜国际改善居住环境最佳范例奖。今年,该联盟将赢得迪拜奖颁发的3万美元奖金。示范街道项目题为“公共空间管理的庭院系统”,是创新的社区驱动举措,致力于修缮和管理公共空间、半公共空间。该项目包括一项竞赛,由青年团体相互竞争,为该地区创建最清洁、绿色、安全的公共空间。在3个月的赛期内,根据赛前赛后的照片给青年评分。由于开展了创收活动,竞赛期间发起的大多数转变得以保留至今。

联合国人居署执行主任向丹多勒转型联盟(DTL)和丹多勒居民致谢。她鼓励他们继续工作,努力建设安全、绿色、健康的丹多勒。丹多勒居民也承认,丹多勒不再是贫民窟,而是一个宝库。当地居民每月捐出100肯尼亚先令,用于支付青年维护庭院的薪酬。

为庆祝示范街道的正式启用,当地社区将其命名为Badilisha街,在斯瓦西里语中意为改变。命名前进行了民主选择,以投票方式选出街道名。现场的其他活动还包括儿童轮滑比赛、全体参会者在户外练习瑜伽等。

该项目共植树25株,铺设道路800米,清理疏通排污管道,安装13个垃圾收纳箱,建造4座大门。垃圾收纳箱的创新设计采用艺术创作,附上鼓舞人心的标语。大门被设计为进入小区的宽敞入口,赋予街区新的形象。执行示范街道项目也是场所营造整体进程的组成部分,由地方社区联合创作完成,由青年和妇女出力建设。此外,示范街道还激励当地议会成员James Gakuya阁下对项目给予支持,拨付选区发展基金(CDF)铺设整条街道。这一举动突出了公共空间合作建设的潜能。鉴于示范街道项目牵涉复杂,涉及法定要求等,建设街道约用了18个月。强调详细的项目过程,为的是促进汲取经验,为未来的干预举措提供政策投入。

New Model Street launched in Dandora, Kenya

By on 04/18/2018

UN-Habitat Public Space Programme, Making Cities Together coalition of partners and Dandora Transformation League on Saturday launched a Model Street in Dandora Phase II, Nairobi. The Model Street has enabled easy access to the estate while allowing small scale road-side businesses to thrive. It is to serve as a benchmark to guide future interventions. It is an exemplar of how placemaking catalyses unlikely alliances among grassroots groups, the private sector, local government and other placemaking leaders to adapt, replicate and up-scale good practices from domestic to neighbourhood level, and trigger an avalanche of community empowerment initiatives by various stakeholders. In attendance, was the Executive Director of UN-Habitat, Ms. Maimunah Mohd Sharif., Founder of Dandora Transformation League Mr. Robinson Esialimba, UN-Habitat colleagues, Making Cities Together team, visitors from various parts of the city and the Dandora community.

Dandora is a low income neighbourhood located 11km from the city center, with a population of 141,885. The initiative has succeeded in addressing issues such as high crime rate, criminal youth gangs, youth unemployment, urban decay, unregulated dumpsite and its deleterious effects on both environment and health for surrounding communities and beyond, waste covering most open spaces. One of the immediate positive impact of the Model Street has been the general improvement in the well-being of local  residents. Below are some more specific results which can be attributed to the model street intervention:

Improved perceived safety and security – Residents now feel safer walking along the model street.  Anthony Kwach, a local resident explains, “These days even if I alight at midnight I have no worries. I know I will reach home safely without a problem. Because of lighting, I can see someone from 100m away.”

Improved livelihood opportunities – The improved streed enables street vendors to vend for longer hours and make more returns. Further, employment opportunities such as public space maintenance and security have been made possible for the youth. Charkes Gachanga, a local champion and the CEO of Dandora Transformation League explains, “Sometimes back, M-pesa and other businesses that make a fair amount of money would be closed by 7.00 pm due to fear of attacks. Today however, these and many other small businesses operate until 11 o’clock in the night.”

Improved relationship with authorities – the relationship between the local youth and the chief, and the sub-county administrator has greatly improved. This relationship has resulted into rare collaborations particularly with regard to reclaiming public spaces; better cohesion and good neighbourliness.

Improved play opportunities for children – As a result of the paving of the street block, children have now embraced skating as a sport, and to some, has become a possible career. Every Saturday, around 40 children and youth meet to skate on the model streets.

Improved drainage and environmental quality – The opened drainage lines have had a significant contribution to environmental health of the neighbourhood. This has solved the problem of overflowing sewer, flash floods and mud.

The Dandora Transformation League also won the Dubai International Award for Best Practices for their initiative where they will walk away with USD 30,000 to be awarded later this year. This initiative titled Courtyard System for Management of Public Spaces is an innovative community-driven approach in rehabilitation and management of public and semi-public space implemented. The initiative entails a competition where youth groups are challenged to compete against each other in creating the cleanest, greenest and safest public space in the area. During the 3-month-long competition, the youth are assessed based on before and after photos. Most of the transformation initiated during the competition have today been maintained due to income-generating activities.

The Executive Director of UN-Habitat expressed her gratitude in the efforts of DTL and Dandora residents. She encouraged them to continue working for a safe, green and healthy Dandora. The Dandora residents also acknowledged that Dandora is not a slum but an estate. Area residents make monthly contributions of 100 Kenya Shillings that go towards paying the youth responsible for maintenance courtyards.

To officially mark the opening, the local community named the avenue Badilisha street which means change in Swahili. This was preceded by a democratic process which led to the selection of the street names by a vote. The event saw other activities like a kids’ skating competition and open-air yoga for all the attendees.

The implementation saw a total of 25 trees planted, a total of 800m of roadway paved, drainages cleared and opened, 13 waste receptacles creatively designed with an art work and a quote to provide inspiration installed and four Gateways constructed. The Gateways were designed to provide grand entrances into the neighbourhood and to give a new identity to the street block. The implementation of the model street was also part of the whole placemaking process, and was done in co-creation with the local community – with youth and women providing labour. Further, the process inspired the local Member of Parliament, Hon. James Gakuya to support the initiative by paving the whole street though the Constituency Development Fund (CDF). This underscored the potential of co-production of public spaces. Given the elaborate process, including the statutory requirements, the construction of the street took about eighteen months. The detailed process was emphasised so as to facilitate learnings and to provide policy inputs for future interventions.

Main Menu