谢里夫女士会见肯尼亚顶尖编辑,为联合国人居署大会筑立根基

By on 2019-05-02

内罗毕,201952—— 联合国人居署执行主任麦慕娜·莫哈德·谢里夫(Maimunnah Moh’d Sharif)女士于本周会见了肯尼亚编辑协会成员,为联合国人居署大会争取支持,会议定于2019年5月27日至31日在内罗毕举行。

谢里夫女士与编辑们开展了一场颇富成效的辩论,探讨了快速城市化给全球带来的挑战和机遇。 她说,在她的工作中,经常把媒体视为盟友,尤其是她在家乡马来西亚任职槟城市长期间。

肯尼亚编辑协会是一个统筹组织,汇集了来自广播和在线媒体的140名编辑。 作为媒体出口的把关者,他们是重要的利益相关方,如果要将信息传递给目标受众,必需让他们参与进来。

谢里夫女士补充道,许多国家和地方政府因快速的城市化进程而感到不堪重负,在某些情况下,城市化会导致贫困、污染、资源和服务的不平等分配,从而造成不平等、暴力和争夺自然资源引发战争的循环。

“肯尼亚政府在《2030年愿景规划》和《四大议程》之下制定优先发展事项,联合国人居署正在帮助其落实,执行主任与肯尼亚内阁秘书詹姆斯·马查里亚(James Macharia)先生共同签署了《肯尼亚人居国别方案文件(2018-2021年)》,此方案已在2018年7月启动。郡级政府要求的不断增加,从地理和内容上讲,扩大了联合国人居署提供帮助的范围。联合国人居署正在制定一套向郡政府提供援助的方案,并将提交给理事会。到目前为止,对郡政府的援助主要集中在这些领域:空间规划,青年生计支持,地方创收,地方经济发展和废弃物管理。” 她说。

对外关系司司长克里斯汀·穆西西(Christine Musisi)女士,特别顾问尼尔·豪尔(Neil Khor)先生和通信处负责人苏珊娜·普赖斯(Susannah Price)女士陪同谢里夫女士参加会面。谢里夫女士指出,即将召开的联合国人居署大会是全球共同讨论城市化及其周边多种问题的绝佳机会。并在回答一名记者的提问时说道:“联合国人居署与各利益相关方打交道已有40多年,我们希望利用这一点,让联合国人居署更加贴近民众。”

曾为记者的霍尔先生在演讲中鼓励编辑们寻找更具包容性的故事,以及在城市中心可以获得的机会。他欢迎记者们批评联合国人居署,只要他们觉得该机构做得不对。

肯尼亚编辑协会(KEG)主席邱吉尔·奥提诺(Churchill Otieno)先生要求人居署优先考虑肯尼亚问题,因为人居署总部在该国。“肯尼亚民众希望看到并感受到你们在这个国家的存在。我们知道你们在世界各地做了很多事情,但是我们希望在这里看到更多你们的人。”

执行主任列举了联合国人居署在肯尼亚执行的部分项目,并补充道,肯尼亚47个郡,联合国人居署在几乎一半的郡开展活动,从北部的图尔卡纳郡到南部的基利菲郡。干预措施包括从可持续住房到湖滨开发和一站式青年中心等。

奥钦·拉图罗(Ochieng’ Rapuro)是该地区最大周刊《东非》的编辑,他对肯尼亚许多城市中心的规章制度表示遗憾。他说,这些规章制度在很多情况下阻碍了更快的发展,并提问联合国人居署能否协助审查其中的一些规定。

Ms. Sharif meets Kenya’s top editors, roots for UN Habitat Assembly

By on 05/02/2019

Nairobi, 2 May 2019—UN-Habitat Executive Director Ms. Maimunnah Moh’d Sharif this week met with members of the Kenya Editors’ Guild and drummed up support for the forthcoming UN Habitat Assembly holding in Nairobi between 27 to 31 May 2019.

Ms. Sharif held a fruitful debate with the editors in a session that delved into challenges and opportunities posed by the rapid urbanization being witnessed across the globe. She said she has often seen the media as allies in her work especially when she served as the mayor of Penang in her native Malaysia.

The Kenya Editors’ Guild is the umbrella body bringing together some 140 editors drawn from print, broadcast and online media. Being the gate keepers of their media outlets, they are key stakeholders that need to be engaged if a message is to be passed to the intended audience.

Many national and local governments are overwhelmed by the rapid pace of urbanization, she said adding that in some cases, urbanization leads to poverty, pollution, unequal distribution of resources and services, and a cycle of inequality, violence and war over natural resources.

“UN-Habitat’s support to the Government of Kenya’s priorities under Vision 2030 and the Big Four Agenda is being implemented through the Habitat Country Programme Document for Kenya 2018-2021, signed by the Executive Director and Cabinet Secretary Mr. James Macharia and launched in July 2018.

Increasing requests from county governments offer an opportunity to broaden UN-Habitat’s support geographically and in terms of content. UN-Habitat is working on a package of assistance to county governments to be presented to the Council of Governors. So far, county governments have requested for assistance mainly in the following areas: spatial planning, youth livelihoods support, local revenue generation, local economic development and waste management,” she said.

Ms. Sharif who was accompanied by the Director of External Relations Division Ms. Christine Musisi, Special Adviser Mr. Neil Khor and the head of Communications Branch Ms. Susannah Price said the upcoming UN Habitat Assembly was the perfect opportunity for the world to discuss urbanization and the various issues around it. “UN-Habitat has more than 40 years’ experience dealing with stakeholders and we want to leverage on this to bring UN-Habitat closer to the people,” she said in a response to a question from one of the journalists.

In his presentation, Mr. Khor, a former journalist, challenged the editors to look for more inclusive stories as well as the opportunities available in urban centres. He welcomed the journalists to critique UN-Habitat whenever they felt that the agency was not doing something right.

The chair of KEG Mr. Churchill Otieno challenged UN-Habitat to give Kenya priority since the country played host to the agency. “Kenyans want to see and feel your presence in the country. We know you are doing much worldwide but we would want to see more of you here,” he said.

The Executive Director listed some of the projects UN-Habitat was executing in Kenya, adding that the agency has footprints in almost half of the country’s 47 counties starting with Turkana to the north to Kilifi in the south. Such interventions ranged form sustainable housing to lakefront development and one stop youth centres, among others.

Mr. Ochieng’ Rapuro who edits the region’s largest weekly, the East African, lamented the many by-laws ecisting in many of Kenyan urban centres which he said in many cases hindered faster development and asked whether UN-Habitat could assist in reviewing some of these.

Main Menu