.

马来西亚拿督麦慕娜·莫哈德·谢里夫女士当选新一届联合国人居署执行主任

By on 2018-01-22

继联合国秘书长向联合国大会提名之后, 2017年12月22日, 马来西亚拿督麦慕娜·莫哈德·谢里夫当选联合国人类住区规划署(UN-Habitat)执行主任。

卸任的执行主任霍安·克洛斯博士为人居署做出了卓越贡献,联合国秘书长为此向他致谢。 在全球总人口以城市人口为主的关键期,正是这位西班牙人领导了人居署。 在任期间,他支持发展《新城市议程》和《可持续发展目标》的目标 11(SDG11),其中,目标11是关注可持续城市化的首个发展目标。他强调城市规划和国家城市政策,得到全球各城市的广泛认可,并应用于规划和指导城市的发展,促进城市的可持续性、经济社会进步和包容。

谢里夫女士现任马来西亚槟岛市政厅市长。在被任命为市长之前,她于2011年成为威省市议会史上第一位女性主席。作为地方政府的市长,她领导威省市议会实现了发展愿景,即提供“更清洁、更绿色、更安全、更健康的工作、生活、投资和娱乐环境”。她倡导性别反应参与式预算,在治理过程中融入性别理念,推动预算、发展政策和规划中的性别主流化。在她任期内,威省市议会是首个实施ISO质量管理体系并赢得六项认证的地方政府。

1985年,她在滨城市政厅以一个城市规划师的身份开始了自己的职业生涯。2003年,她升任规划发展主任,2009年11月离任。作为规划发展主任,她负责筹备结构和地方规划,直接参与发展和监管滨城市项目及景观发展。她还领导规划和执行团队,在乔治敦推行城市更新项目(Urban Renewal Projects)。2009年11月,她受命组建乔治敦世界文化遗产公司,任首任总经理,管理2008年7月被联合国教科文组织(UNESCO)列为世界遗产的乔治敦古城。

她是英国威尔士大学科技学院城市规划学荣誉学士,是马来西亚科技大学规划学硕士。

Ms. Maimunah Mohd Sharif of Malaysia elected new Executive Director of UN-Habitat

By on 01/18/2018

Following nomination by the Secretary-General, the General Assembly, on 22 December 2017, elected Maimunah Mohd Sharif of Malaysia as Executive Director of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat).

She succeeds Joan Clos of Spain to whom the Secretary-General is grateful for his dedicated service to the Organization. Dr. Clos led UN-Habitat during the pivotal years when the world’s population became majority urban.  During this time, he championed the development of a New Urban Agenda and Sustainable Development Goal 11 (SDG11), the first development goal focused on sustainable urbanization. His emphasis on urban planning and national urban policies has been widely appreciated and applied to plan and steer the world’s cities toward sustainability, economic and social progress and inclusion.

Ms. Sharif is currently Mayor of the City Council of Penang Island, Malaysia. Prior to her appointment as Mayor, she was the first woman to be appointed as President of the Municipal Council of Seberang Perai in 2011. As mayor of a local authority, she leads Municipal Council of Seberang Perai to achieve its vision of a “cleaner, greener, safer and healthier place to work, live, invest and play”. She is a champion of Gender Responsive Participatory Budgeting to integrate gender perspectives into the governance process as a tool to mainstream gender into budgetary and development policy and planning. During her tenure, the Municipal Council of Seberang Perai was the first Local Authority to implement and achieve six quality-based management ISO certifications.

Ms. Sharif began her career as a Town Planner at the Municipal Council of Penang Island in 1985. In 2003, she was promoted to Director of Planning and Development, a position she held until November 2009. As Director, she was responsible for the preparation of structure and local plans, and was directly involved in development control of Penang City projects and landscape development. She also led a team for the planning and implementation of the Urban Renewal Projects in George Town. In November 2009, she was entrusted as the first General Manager to establish George Town World Heritage Incorporated and manage the George Town World Heritage Site which was inscribed by UNESCO in July 2008.

She holds a Bachelor of Science with Honors in Town Planning Studies from the University of Wales Institutes of Science and Technology, United Kingdom and a Master of Science in Planning studies from the Malaysia Science University.

 

Main Menu