在气候行动方面所作出的市长承诺代表了将近10%的全球人口

By on 2017-11-12

波恩,2017 1112—— 在波恩召开的联合国气候变化峰会上,宣布了全球减少温室气体排放的城市承诺,这代表着将近七亿人口,或者说大概地球上人口的十分之一。

城市承诺隶属于“全球市长盟约”,并在《联合国气候变化框架公约》第二十三届缔约方大会(COP23)一份新的影响文件中呈现。这些承诺彰显了全球各城市将在气候行动中带来真实、重要影响这一毋庸置疑的地位。

“全球市长盟约”是一个城市和地方政府的国际联盟,他们拥有长期的共同愿景,致力于推动和支持自发的承诺,来抵御气候变化,迈向低碳社会。

作为创始成员之一,联合国人居署携手C40城市集团(C40)、倡导地区可持续发展国际理事会(ICLEI)、世界城市和地方政府联合组织(UCLG)、欧盟(EU)以及其他合作伙伴,努力扩大地方政府在做出重大气候承诺方面的影响。

 

凸显城市的影响力

今年联合国主要的气候对话都在聚焦城市问题,为此设置了专门的“人类居住日”,并且安排了一天来推动实现“可持续发展目标11”,即建设弹性、安全、包容的可持续城市

联合国副秘书长、联合国人居署执行主任克洛斯博士在城市和地区领导人峰会上发言,谈到在《新城市议程》指引下各城市的行动能力。《新城市议程》是在一年前的联合国“人居三”大会上签署的。

克洛斯博士说,《新城市议程》继续维系以下两方面的联系,一方面是气候行动和环境保护,另一方面是实现经济转型至更具可持续性。

峰会闭幕之际,演员、前加州州长阿诺德·施瓦辛格确认了城市地区在抵御气候变化方面发挥的影响力。

“各个城市、国家和地区都拥有巨大的力量,尤其是在和衷共济,携手面对时。”施瓦辛格说道。“我们在扮演改革实验室的角色,同时我们也是创新引擎以及行动所在。

Mayoral commitments on climate action represent nearly 10% of world’s population

By on 11/13/2017

Bonn, 12 November 2017 – City commitments to reducing global greenhouse gas emissions announced at the UN climate change summit in Bonn, represent nearly seven million people, or roughly one in every 10 people on the planet.

The commitments, made under the Global Covenant of Mayors and presented in a new impact document at COP23, demonstrate the unquestionable position of cities around the world to make real and significant impacts to climate action.

The Global Covenant of Mayors is an international alliance of cities and local governments with a shared long-term vision of promoting and supporting voluntary commitments to combat climate change and to move to a low-carbon society.

UN-Habitat is one of its founding members and it works with partners C40, ICLEI, UCLG, the EU among others, to amplify the impacts of local governments in making significant climate commitments.

Highlighting the influence of cities

Cities are under the spotlight this year at the UN’s leading climate talks, with a dedicated Human Settlements Day and a day allocated to promoting Sustainable Development Goal 11 – to make cities resilient, safe, inclusive and sustainable.

Speaking at the Cities and Local Leaders Summit, Dr Joan Clos, UN Under-Secretary-General and UN-Habitat Executive Director, spoke about the enabling capacity of cities under the direction of the New Urban Agenda, signed one year ago at the Habitat III conference.

“The New Urban Agenda continually draws the link between climate action and environmental protection on the one hand and the transition to a more sustainable economy on the other,” said Clos.

Closing the Summit, actor and former Californian Governor, Arnold Schwartzenegger confirmed the influencing power of urban areas in the fight against climate change.

“Cities, states and regions hold tremendous power, especially when you work together,” said Schwarzenegger. “We are the laboratories of reform, we are the engines of innovation and we are where the action is.”

Translate »
Main Menu