.

在全国青年大会上突显青年在发展中的作用

By on 2017-12-22

20171222—— 第二届全国青年大会在索马里召开之际, 基于青年人在参与建设和平与发展举措中所做的贡献, 在索马里全国范围内挑选了400 多名青年共聚一堂, 以庆祝当青年在社会中充当变革和和平的积极推动者方面, 我们所能取得的成就。

大会旨在明确青年人所面临的新问题、就需要优先干预的领域达成共识、通过创造安全的平台,供青年人会晤与合作,由此加强索马里青年网络及组织的建设。大会也力求在为青年男女与决策者会晤渠道上提供便利的同时,促进代际间对话与合作。

本届大会由联邦青年和体育部联合举办,包括联合国人居署索马里办事处在内的众多联合国机构提供了协作。大会也为联合国人居署方案司主任提供了绝佳的机会,可以和索马里联邦政府总理一道,依照大量涌入的境内流离失所者的现状,共同面对围绕城市规划能力的诸多挑战;同时通过国家各级规划设计,寻找实现城市增长和提高可持续性的途径。

 

促进青年成为社区利益相关方

联合国人居署在索马里的城市领域活跃已经超过25年,一直冲在第一线,推动社会与环境可持续城镇建设,确保包容性进程的实现,支持和集体提高青年的能力,使他们成为所在社区的核心利益相关方。大会的一个关键成果是发起了国家青年政策,该政策已于2017年11月获得政府的核准。这一政策具有里程碑意义,能够创造一个有利环境,使得青年人的成功成为发展的中心。

正如联合国秘书长青年问题特使Jayathma Wickramanayake在大会上所强调,“…青年政策的出现对于索马里青年来说,正当其时。”在一场由特使主持,青年领导组织代表参加的有关青年领导解决方案的圆桌会议上,这一问题被再次重申。

大会强调了青年面临的挑战,包括高失业率、为了寻求更好的生存机会而进行的凶险迁徙、缺乏诸如健康,教育等基本的城市服务、以及无法融入到可以塑造他们生活的地方和联邦层面的治理工作中。同时大会也为青年提供了空间,供他们提出呼吁并能够在制定直接影响他们的政策机制上,同政治领导人和国际代表进行互动。

该政策提供了广泛的框架,在此框架内青年领导的发展将会枝繁叶茂;同时还提供了一个政治工具,让他们能够将青年领导的解决方案融合到发展进程,尤其是城市的发展中。

Marking the Role of Youth in Development at the National Youth Conference

By on 12/22/2017

22 December 2017 –  Over 400 youth selected based on their contributions to peacebuilding and development initiatives, from across Somalia, came together to celebrate what can be achieved when youth are active agents of change and peace in their societies, as the second National Youth Conference was held in Somalia.

The conference aimed at identifying emerging issues faced by young people, agreeing on priority areas for intervention and strengthening Somali youth networks and organizations by creating a safe platform for them to meet and collaborate. It also sought to foster intergenerational dialogue and cooperation while facilitating the avenues for young women and men to meet with decision-makers.

Jointly organized by the Federal Ministry of Youth and Sports and in collaboration with various agencies of the United Nations, including UN-Habitat Somalia, the conference also presented a prime opportunity for the Director of Programmes Division of UN-Habitat to engage with the Prime Minister of the Federal Government of Somalia on the various challenges around the urban planning capacity of cities in light of the massive influx of internally displaced people and to look at approaches for achieving urban growth and improved sustainability through planning and design at all levels.

Promoting youth as community stakeholders

Active in the Somalia urban sector for more than 25 years, UN-Habitat has been at the forefront of promoting socially and environmentally sustainable towns and cities ensuring that inclusive processes are in place that support and collectively empower youth as key stakeholders in their communities. One of the key outcomes of the conference was the launch of the National Youth Policy endorsed by the government in November 2017. The policy is a critical milestone towards cultivating an enabling environment in which the success of young people are placed at the centre of development.

As underscored by the UN Secretary General’s Envoy on Youth, Jayathma Wickramanayake, at the conference “…the youth policy comes at a crucial moment for the young people of Somalia.” This was a point that was reiterated in a round table session on youth-led solutions chaired by the Envoy with representatives from youth-led organizations.

Highlighting the challenges they face including high levels of unemployment; perilous migration journeys in search of better opportunities, lack of access to basic urban services such as health and education as well as a lack of inclusion in governance processes shaping their lives at the local and federal level, the conference provided the space for youth to raise their voices and interact with political leaders and international representatives on mechanisms for delineating policies that directly impact them.

The policy provides a broad framework within which youth-led development can flourish and provides the political tool that will enable them to be at the helm of integrating youth-led solutions into the development process particularly in the development of cities

Translate »
Main Menu