.

牧师称水、环境卫生和个人卫生项目是神的赠礼

By on 2018-05-21

Rapidera2018516—— 牧师Franklin Birikpe 心情不错,说他看到了神的恩典。他完全有理由高兴。作为上西部省Hain of Rajidera 区圣约瑟夫小学的校长,他见证了学校的日益壮大。

“去年,我们在全共和国12000多所小学的总评中排名第三。这是非凡的成就,虽然我们小学远离村庄,但是我们能与设施条件好许多的学校竞争,且表现优异。我们高兴,是因为我们正在做的是神的工作”,他说。

这所小学参加了加纳选定地区开展的联合国水、环境卫生和个人卫生(WASH)易受灾社区(DPC)联合项目。校长称,以往,洗手对大多数学生来说是个陌生概念。

“为此,过去,我们学校里许多学生生病缺课。而现在情况变了,学生们养成了洗手的习惯,我们都很高兴,”他说。他列举了困扰学生们的病症,腹泻、呕吐、及其它传染病都导致学生们缺课。

水、环境卫生和个人卫生(WASH)项目建造了厕所,改善了学生的生活。“我们给月经期的女学生设了更衣室。之前,女学生在月经期只能待在家里,如果她们倒霉地在课上来了月经,她们会羞愧到不愿回学校上课,这就造成了自动辍学,”他说。

校长恳请扩建设施。例如,厕所就扩建到了最大程度。“我们制定了学校食堂计划,但是没有厨房和餐厅。我们在废弃的房里做饭,学生们在树下用餐。这与我们教导学生的个人卫生基本理念相悖。”

Franklin Birikpe牧师相信,他有责任培养学生成为全面发展的个人,因此,除了课堂教学,学校还十分强调课外活动。“每周五下午,我们都组织课外活动。这样做,我们就把学生培养成为优秀的运动员、杰出的艺术家和计算机能手,”他说。

圣约瑟夫小学在全国总评中排名第三,荣获了证书和20台笔记本电脑。校长有信心,让学校凭借这批设备巩固地位,成为计算机人才中心。然而,要建设机房,他需要帮助,因为目前学校的机房占用的是教研室。

他的愿景是什么?他说,他想把学校迁至内陆地区,让更多的孩子接受教育。对于他来讲,这样做将意味着履行神职,他说。

Esther Arthur是学校的保健室主任。她说,学生们从这个项目中获益良多。“我发现发病率降低了,自尊提升了,尤其是女学生的自尊,出勤率也改善了,”她说。

Esther Arthur认为,学生们把水、环境卫生和个人卫生(WASH)项目传达的讯息带给家人,正在教导他们的父母和兄弟姊妹个人卫生的重要性。大多数学生已经转变为宣传员,在家庭成员中倡导反对滥用毒品和酗酒,这位老师透露。

上西部省地区环境卫生官员赞同这位老师的观点。根据官方数据,环境卫生的改善有目共睹。他尤其肯定具有韧性的厕所的作用,称这些厕所使居民的发病率大幅降低。他注意到某些挑战仍然存在,如在某些项目社区,可以用上项目设施的是大量居民,而非全部居民。

他补充道,他观测的大部分地区土壤渗水性强,易于遭受洪灾。他希望项目把这些因素都考虑在内,因为水是基本需求。

“最让我高兴的是,在100个项目社区中,约62个社区实现了无随地便溺,”他说。

Man of God says WASH project was a gift from God

By on 05/21/2018

Rapidera, 16 March 2018—The Reverend Brother Franklin Birikpe is in an upbeat mood and says that he has seen God’s grace. And he has every reason to be happy. As the principal of Saint Joseph Primary School in Hain of Rajidera District in the Upper Western Region, he has seen his institution grow from strength to strength.

“Last year we came up number three in an assessment of more than 12,000 pimay schools in the whole of the republic. This is a major achievement for us because although we are far away in the village, we competed against schools with much better facilities and we performed well. We are hpy because here we are doing God’s work,” he says.

The school is one of those that participated Joint UN programme on WASH in Disaster Prone Communities (DPC) project in selected areas of Ghana. According to the principal, hand washing was an alien concept to most of the pupils.

“Because of this we used to see a lot of sicknesses with pupils missing classes. This has however changed and the pupils are nor had washing champions and we are all happy,” he says. He enumerates the sicknesses that bedeviled his pupils as diarrhea, vomiting and other infections which led to absenteeism.

The WASH project came along with a toilet block which has changed the pupil’s lives for better. “We have a changing room for girls who are going through their menstrual cycle. Before this, such girls would stay at home and if by bad luck they had their periods while in class, they would feel ashamed to come back to school and this led to automatic dropping out,” he says.

However, the principal is appealing for an expansion of the facilities. The toilet block, for example, is stretched to full capacity. “We also have a school feeding programme but we do not have a kitchen or a dining hall. We cook in an abandoned building and the pupils eat under the trees. This beats the whole purpose of teaching them basic hygiene,” he says.

Fr. Bro. Birikpe believes that he has a duty of producing all round individuals and as such apart from class work, a lot of emphasis is put on extra curricular activities. “Every Friday afternoon we dedicate to such activities and through this we have produced good athletes, fine artists and computer competent pupils,” he says.

With the position three it got from the national assessment, St. Joseph received a certificate and 20 laptops, equipment the principal is confident will even cement the school’s position as a centre for computer excellence. He however needs help to build a computer lab because at the moment they are using the staff room as the computer lab.

His vision? He says he wants to move into hinterlands and reach more children with education. For him, doing so will be fulfilling his commission of doing God’s work, he says.

Esther Arthur is the head of the school’s health club and she says the pupils have benefitted hugeky from the initiative. “I have seen sicknesses go down, improved self esteem especially among the female pupils and better class attendance,” she says.

According to Esther, the pupils are taking the WASH message to their homes and are now teaching their parents and siblings the importance of personal hygiene. Most of them have also turned into advocates against drug and alcohol abuse among their family members, the teacher discloses.

The Regional Environmental Health Officer for the Upper Western Region agrees with the teacher. According to the official  the improved sanitation is out there for all to see. He is particularly impressed with the resilient toilets which he says have considerably reduced diseases among the residents. Some of the challenges he has noticed include the big number of people in some of the communities targeted meaning not all were able to get the facilities aimed at in the project.

Bagah adds that most of the areas under his watch had a kind of soil that gets saturated with water easily, making them flood prone. He wishes the project would accommodate all those in need since water was a basic need.

“One of my biggest sources of joy was the realization that out of 100 communitie targeted , some 62 became Open Defecation Free,” he says.

Main Menu