.

主要行为体讨论妇女在东非使用公共交通的安全问题

By on 2018-12-19

内罗毕,201812—— 在内罗毕召开的会议为女性群体呼吁更安全和更方便的公共交通。

“我们要携手加强女性在公共交通这样一个男性占主导地位的领域中的影响力,为所有人创造一个更公平,更可持续的公共交通系统。” 夫隆倡议组织(Flone Initiative)的创始主任内奥 米· 姆瓦乌拉(Naomi Mwaura)表示。 这是一所由女性领导的慈善信托机构,致力于消除东非地区妇女及女童在公共场所遭遇到的暴力。

借助德国莱比锡举行的 “妇女动员妇女”(WomenMobilizeWomen)会议的势头,东非公共交通界女性会议聚集了约 250 名研究学者,公共交通领域的代表,小巴女性司机,售票员,政策制定者,非政府组织及其他来自埃塞俄比亚,肯尼亚,坦桑尼亚,乌干达和卢旺达等国的相关人员。

此次会议旨在制定具体措施为东非地区女性在交通领域创造工作机会和为所有人创造更安全的公共场所。 会议分享了最新的研究情况、案例分析、关于女性和交通方面的地区或国际举措;会上讨论了女性乘客面临的难题,针对安全问题的行动方案;本次会议还强调了东非地区女性在交通领域的体验。

会议期间,联合国人居署与夫隆倡议组织共同宣布将制定“非洲城市小巴性别敏感问题工具包”,为公共交通领域的有关机构提供最基础的指导方针,包括交通服务供应商、城市规划师、市政府官员和民间团体。工具包草案将于2019年1月发布,后续将在蒙巴萨、坎帕拉、达累斯萨拉姆等地试行。

联合国人居署执行主任麦慕娜·莫哈德·谢里夫(Maimunah Mohd Sharif)女士表示,“对妇女,对每个人来说,交通系统都应是安全的”。她指出《新城市议程》第13条:城市应“推动年龄平等、性别平等的规划和投资,为所有人提供可持续的、安全的、方便的城市交通运输”。

此次会议得到了联合国人居署,城市交通转型倡议组织(TUMI),国际交通运输工人协会,内罗毕大学,联合国环境署,斯德哥尔摩环境学会和国际汽车联合会等的支持。

联合国人居署执行主任麦慕娜·莫哈德·谢里夫女士在东非公共交通界女性会议上发言(图片来源:夫隆倡议组织)

公共交通界女性会议与会人员,内罗毕(图片来源:夫隆倡议组织)

Key actors discuss safety for women using public transport in Eastern Africa

By on 12/19/2018

NAIROBI, December 2018 – A conference in Nairobi has called for concrete measures to make  public transport safer and more accessible for women.

“Together, we must increase the visibility of women in the male dominated field of public transportation to reflect a more equitable and sustainable public transport system for everyone”, said Naomi Mwaura, Founding Director of  Flone Initiative  a women-led organization charitable trust working to end violence against women and girls in public spaces in East Africa.

Building on the momentum created at the WomenMobilizeWomen Conference in Leipzig, Germany, the Eastern Africa Women in Transportation Conference brought together  around 250 researchers, representative of the public transport sector, female minibus drivers and conductors, policy-makers, non-governmental organizations and others involved in Ethiopia, Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda and Rwanda.

The conference aimed at developing concrete ways to create opportunities for women working in transportation in East African and safer public spaces for everyone. The conference facilitated the sharing of the most up-to-date research, case studies, and initiatives being developed for women and transportation regionally and globally; explored the challenges facing women commuters and actions to address safety concerns; and highlighted the experiences of women in transportation in the Eastern Africa region.

During the conference, UN-Habitat and the Flone Initiative jointly announced the development of the “Toolkit for gender-sensitive minibus services in African cities” to provide minimum guidelines to stakeholders in public transport, such as transport service providers, urban planners, city officials and civil society. The draft Toolkit will be launched in January 2019, and subsequently tested in Mombasa, Kampala and Dar es Salaam and elsewhere.

Ms. Maimunah Mohd Sharif, Executive Director of UN-Habitat stated that “Transport systems that are safe for women, are safe for everyone.” She referred to Article 13 of the New Urban Agenda, where cities have committed to “promote age- and gender-responsive planning and investment for sustainable, safe and accessible urban mobility for all.”

The conference was supported by UN-Habitat, the Transformative Urban Mobility Initiative, the International Transportation Workers Federation, the University of Nairobi, UN Environment, Stockholm Environmental Institute, the Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile, among others.

UN-Habitat’s Executive Director, Ms. Maimunah Mohd Sharif delivering remarks during the Eastern Africa Women in Transportation Conference (photo credit: Flone Initiative)

Participants at the Women in Transportation Conference, Nairobi,  (photo credit: Flone Initiative)

Main Menu