.

肯尼亚第三大城市与联合国人居署签署合作协议

By on 2018-05-24

内罗毕,20185—— 2018年5月18日星期五,基苏木郡郡长 Peter Anyang’ Nyong’o 教授阁下对联合国人居署新执行主任麦慕娜·莫哈德·谢里夫女士进行了礼节性拜访, 呼吁正式化和强化人居署与基苏木郡的合作。

2012年以来,人居署在多个项目中一直支持基苏木郡,包括城市规划和设计部门执行的湖畔发展项目(Lakefront Development Initiative)。麦慕娜女士和Peter Anyang’ Nyong’o教授同意基苏木郡在湖区的战略地位是可持续城市发展和地区发展的一大优势,有利于支持在肯尼亚各郡推行《新城市议程》。双方同意,2018年11月即将在肯尼亚召开的蓝色经济大会(Blue Economy Conference)为展示、加强和提升人居署与基苏木的伙伴关系提供了良机。

Peter Anyang’ Nyong’o阁下正式邀请麦慕娜女士访问基苏木郡,指出基苏木湖畔发展项目可以大量借鉴国际经验,如马来西亚和塞浦路斯的经验。上述两国的滨水规划项目使它们转变成为强大的经济区,关注混合用途发展和休闲,同时融合文化和历史价值。郡长补充说,基苏木的发展作为肯尼亚最大的城市方案,应该支持可持续城市规划,在第一时间融合大容量快速交通(MRT)系统、致密化、及改善公共空间,主要关注公交导向发展(TOD)和公共与私营伙伴关系(PPP)。麦慕娜女士和Peter Anyang’ Nyong’o郡长同意,基苏木本地经济发展(LED)的土地价值捕获应该是当前进行的各类项目的工作内容,这是因为目前基苏木郡正在加强税收和公共与私营伙伴关系,以提高收入。

郡长与人居署非洲地区办公室主任Naison Mutizwa-Mangiza教授共同签署了《谅解备忘录》。

Kenya’s third largest City signs collaboration agreement with UN-Habitat.

By on 05/24/2018

Nairobi, May 2018 – H. E. Prof Peter Anyang’ Nyong’o, Governor of Kisumu County on Friday,  18 May 2018 paid a courtesy call to the new Executive Director of UN-Habitat, Madam Maimunah Mohd Sharif in a bid to formalize and strengthen UN-Habitat’s engagement with the County.

UN-Habitat has been supporting the County of Kisumu since 2012 in different initiatives including the Lakefront Development Initiative being implemented by Urban Planning and design branch. Madam Maimunah and H. E. Prof Anyang’ Nyong’o agreed that Kisumu City County’s strategic position within the lake region is an advantage for sustainable urban and regional development and could be useful in championing implementation of the New Urban Agenda among counties in Kenya. The two agreed that the forthcoming Blue Economy Conference that will be held in Kenya in November 2018 presents an opportunity to showcase, strengthen and enhance the partnership between UN-Habitat and Kisumu.

H.E. Prof Anyang’ Nyong’o, while extending an official invitation to Madam Maimunah to visit the City County, noted that Kisumu LakeFront Development Initiative could borrow a lot from global experiences such as Malaysia and Cyprus whose water front planning initiatives have transformed the countries into strong economic zones with focus on mixed use development and recreation while incorporating cultures and historic values. The Governor added that Kisumu, the largest urban programme in Kenya, should embrace sustainable urban planning that integrates at the earliest opportunity, Mass Rapid Transport (MRT) systems, densification, improved public spaces, primarily focusing on Transit Oriented Development (TOD); and Public Private Partnership (PPP). Both Madam Maimunah and Governor Nyong’o agreed that Land value capture for Kisumu’s Local Economic Development (LED) should be part of the ongoing initiatives since the county is currently intensifying revenue collection and PPP for revenue enhancement.

The Governor thereafter co-signed a MoU with Prof. Naison Mutizwa-Mangiza, UN-Habitat Director, Regional Office for Africa.

Main Menu