.

国际城市化专家在内罗毕召开会议商讨建立城市现代法律

By on 2018-09-05

2018年9月4日,内罗毕 —— 约20位来自联合国人居署、联合国非洲经济委员会(非洲经委会)、非洲联盟委员会、非洲城市和地方政府联合会的专家,以及学术界人士、民间社会和地方政府的代表齐聚内罗毕,召开了为期两天的会议。 会议探讨了详细制定一项示范法的流程,以应对非洲城市化进程中面临的挑战。 此次会议是一系列持续磋商的组成部分,旨在制定一个协调一致的实施框架,以利用快速城市化的动力来加快非洲的结构转型。

此前2018年3月29日非洲联盟专门技术委员会(STC 8)在拉巴特举行了主席团会议,并根据就“非洲住房和城市发展宪章”开展工作的建议于6月15日在拉巴特举行了STC 8专家会议。此次由非洲联盟专门技术委员会(STC 8)召开的工作组会议即是对上述会议所提出建议的跟进。

鉴于宪章要求的冗长流程以及非洲大陆快速城市化带来了巨大挑战,与会者认为在非洲大陆并控制这些挑战的最快、更有效的方法是制定一项示范法,随后每个非盟成员国可以根据各自的具体情况予以采纳并加以调
为此,会议围绕以下具体目标展开:

  • 听取非盟委员会(AUC)法律顾问的简报和建议;
  • 提出全球规划法律的评估框架;
  • 就非洲联盟示范法草案的制订过程和生效进行交流;
  • 分享其他部门制定示范法的经验;
  • 将制订宪章的非盟职权范围修改为拟订示范法的职权范围
  • 确定伙伴机构可能发挥的作用与承担的责任:非洲机构 -非盟委员会、区域经济委员会,非洲开发银行;联合国组织 – 联合国人居署、非洲经委会、非洲问题特别顾问办公室;地方政府 – 非洲城市和地方政府联合会以及其他能够为将这一进程主流化提供关键机会的机构;
  • 就制订和审查示范法起草路线图并达成一致。
  • 在对议程上的所有项目进行了积极探讨和审议后,非洲联盟专门技术委员会(STC 8)工作组提出下列主要建议,结束了会议:
  • 设立指导委员会来指导和监督示范法的制订过程。指导委员会将由来自非盟委员会政治事务部、泛非议会、联合国非洲经济委员会、联合国人居署、非洲世界城市和地方政府联合组织以及非盟的五个成员国(每个各一名)的代表组成。

联合国人居署将领导示范法制定的规划过程,包括起草聘用顾问的职权范围、组织有关主导示范法制定的技术会议、开展筹资活动以支持这一进程等。

  • 非洲联盟委员会将确保将示范法的制订过程纳入非盟指示和批准文书的程序机制中;
  • 非洲联盟委员会政治事务部将努力把“应对城市化挑战以加快非洲结构转型”作为下届非洲联盟国家元首和政府首脑会议的优先议题之一(拟定2020年)。
  • 此外,根据预算情况,顾问的职权范围应在一个月内拟订,协商进程应在三至四个月内开始。会议强调,需要确保非洲的《新城市议程》运营框架与获得示范法等文书应适当同步。与会者建议急需处理的关键问题之一是进行人员培训和能力发展以有效实施计划。

与此同时,代表们建议将城市韧性和公共空间概念纳入示范法的起草工作中。虽然坚持在谈判中采取总体的综合性办法,但会议仍建议强调媒体应参与到该进程的各个环节中来。会议上,专家们一致要求国家和次区域层面的参与,以确保所有国家都参与进来。

下届会议将在第一批交付成果到位后举行。

International urbanization experts meet in Nairobi to discuss urban modern law

By on 09/05/2018

Nairobi, 4 September 2018 – Some twenty experts from UN-Habitat, United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA), African Union Commission, United Cities and Local Governments of Africa (UCLGA), members of academia, representatives from civil society and local governments gathered for a two-day meeting in Nairobi to chart out the process of elaborating a Model Law seeking to address urbanization challenges across the continent. The meeting was part of ongoing consultations aimed at developing a harmonized implementation framework for harnessing the dynamics of rapid urbanization to accelerate structural transformation in Africa.

The working group meeting was summoned by the African Union Specialized Technical Committee (STC 8) as a follow up to recommendation of its bureau meeting held in Rabat on 29 March 2018 and the meeting of STC 8 experts held on 15 June 2018 also in Rabat in accordance to the recommendation to work on an African Charter on housing and urban development.

In consideration of the lengthy process that a charter would require and given the magnitude of the challenges brought about by rapid urbanization of the continent, it was felt that the fastest and more efficient way to start mastering and having control on these challenges across the continent was to develop a model law that will then be adopted and adapted to the specific context of each AU member country.

To that effect, the meeting centered around the following specific objectives:

  • Receive briefing and advice from the AUC Legal Counsel;
  • Present the global Planning law assessment framework;
  • Exchange on the elaboration process and validation of the draft African Union model laws;
  • Experience sharing in developing other Model Laws from other Sectors
  • Adapt the AU Terms of Reference (ToR) for the elaboration of the Charter to a ToR for the elaboration of model laws
  • Map the potential role and responsibilities of partner institutions namely: African Institutions -AUC, Regional Economic Commissions (RECs), African development Bank (AfDB); UN organizations- UN-Habitat, ECA, Office of the Special Adviser on Africa (OSAA); Local Government – UCLGA, and others listing key opportunities for mainstreaming the process
  • Draft and agree on a road map for the elaboration and review of the model law.

After robust engagement and deliberations on all items on the agenda, the working group meeting for the African Union Specialized Technical Committee (STC8) ended with the following key recommendations:

  • That a steering committee be set up to guide and oversee the elaboration process of the model law. The steering committee to include representatives from the AUC, Department of Political Affairs; Pan African Parliament; UNECA, UN-Habitat; UCLG Africa and Five AU member States (1 per region)
  • That UN Habitat will lead the planning process of the elaboration of the model law, including drafting Terms of Reference for hiring consultants, organizing technical meeting leading on the elaboration of the model law; implementing fund raising activities to support the process, etc.
  • That the African Union Commission will ensure that the process of elaboration of the model law is included in the AU procedural machinery for the instruction and approval of AU instruments
  • That the African Union Commission, Department of Political Affairs makes every effort   to have the theme of « Addressing the urbanization challenge to accelerate the structural transformation of Africa » among the priority issues of one of the next conferences of heads of State and Government of the African Union (preferably for 2020).

Furthermore, the terms of reference for consultants should be developed within a period of one month and the consultative process should start in the period of three to four months, depending on the availability of budget. The meeting underscored the need for ensuring a proper synchronization of the Africa’s operational framework for the new Urban Agenda and the obtaining of instruments such as the Model Law. Among the critical areas to be addressed as recommended by the participants was the need for training and capacity development for effective implementation.

Meanwhile, delegates advised that the issue of urban resilience and the concept of public space should be included in the drafting of the model law. While insisting on a collective and integrative approach in the negotiations, the meeting recommended that emphasis be made on the involvement of media in all the steps of the process. Engagement at country and sub-regional levels to ensure that all countries are involved was also unanimously prescribed by experts in the meeting.

The next meeting shall be convened once the first deliverables are ready.

Main Menu