.

缅甸举行防洪避难所交付仪式

By on 2018-04-30

这项由欧盟资助的缅甸气候变化联盟(MCCA)方案旨在加强政府、 私营部门和民间团体行动者的能力, 并促进政府制定应对气候变化的国家政策、 战略和行动计划。 其目的旨在通过分享技术知识和最佳实践、 培训和制度支持来加强与气候变化相关的体制和政策环境, 并通过将气候变化试点纳入次国家和地方一级的发展规划举措进而促进循证规划与政策制订。

在木各具镇,MCCA支持(1-生态系统)提高对气候变化的认识; (2-社会经济)职业培训; (3-基础设施)多功能防洪堤建设; 改良捕水及存水存方法; 雨水排放; 家庭用水管理; 改进施工技术。木各具多功能防洪避难所正是在这样的背景下竣工并准备投入使用。

交付仪式由木各具国会议员U Pite Ko、环境保护局局长U Hla Maung Thein和联合国人居署国别项目经理Bijay Karmacharya先生联合主持。该活动由第十四区气候适应委员会以及来自国家和省环境保护局的官员现场见证。

多功能防洪避难所的用地由当地社区提供。气候适应委员会成员是在社会动员过程之后决定的。木各具镇基于生态系统的气候变化适应项目已将目标社区作为流程的中心。从一开始,气候适应委员会成员就已参与建设并起带头作用,参与了维护计划的制定工作,并负责维护和运营防洪避难所及其设施。

木各具国会议员在开幕词中表示,能在这个幸运的时刻将防洪避难所交付给地方各级政府,他感到十分高兴。同时,他还感谢木各具当地社区成员在这项非常重要的工作中所发挥了领导力并做出承诺。

环境保护局局长U Hla Maung Thein在讲话中表示,由人民选出的政府将人民的福利与幸福作为其首要任务之一。此外,他还衷心感谢那些参与了该项目的捐助方、合作伙伴和所有利益相关者。

联合国人居署缅甸国别项目经理Bijay Karmacharya先生在讲话中强调,防洪避难所与其他气候适应性基础设施将有助于极大提高木各具当地社区的抗灾能力,特别是在雨水和洪水的预期频率和强度增加的情况下。抗灾能力包括当前的恢复能力效益(因为在洪水期间,防洪避难所在为当地居民提供住所方面发挥了关键作用)以及更广泛的适应性效益,例如加强居民保持出行便利性和获得服务及就业的能力。其他社区和邻近乡镇应借鉴学习脆弱性评估与气候适应性基础设施实施的方式方法。

Handing over of flood shelter takes place in Myanmar

By on 04/30/2018

Pakoku April 30, 2018— Handing Over Ceremony of Multi-Purpose Flood Shelter, Emergency Water tank and Concrete Drainages took place on April 24, 2018 in Ward No.14 in Pakokku, Magway Region.

The European Union funded Myanmar Climate Change Alliance (MCCA) Programme was designed to strengthen capacity in Government, private sector and civil society actors and to facilitate the Government in preparation of a national policy, strategy and action plans to address climate change. The project aimed to strengthen the climate change related institutional and policy environment through sharing of technical knowledge and best practice, training and institutional support, and to promote evidence-based planning and policy making through pilot integration of climate change into sub-national and local level development planning initiatives.

In Pakokku Township, MCCA supported on (1- Ecosystems) Raising awareness on climate change; (2 – Socioeconomic) Vocational training; (3 – Infrastructure) Multi-purposed Shelter Construction; Improved Water Capture and Storage; Storm water drainage; Household level water management; Improving construction techniques. It is in this context that the Pakokku Multi-Purpose Flood Shelter has been completed and inaugurated.

The handover ceremony was jointly officiated by U Pite Ko, Member of Parliament from Pakokku, U Hla Maung Thein, Director General, Environmental Conservation Department, and Mr. Bijay Karmacharya, Country Programme Manager, UN-Habitat. The event was witnessed by Ward No.14 Adaptation Committee, officials from national and regional of Environmental Conservation Department .

Land for Multi-Purpose Flood Shelter was contributed by the community. The Adaptation Committee members were chosen following a process of social mobilization. Ecosystem Based Climate Change Adaptation Project in Pakokku has put targeted communities at the center of the process. Right from the beginning, the Adaptation Committee members have participated and taken leading role of the construction, and were involved in the development of maintenance plan, and they will take charge of the maintenance and operations of shelter and its facilities.

In his opening remarks the member of Parliament expressed happiness on this auspicious occasion of handing over of assets to the local levels.  He appreciated the leadership and commitment of community member in this very important work.

U Hla Maung Thein, Director General, Environmental Conservation Department in his remarks said that the government elected by the people had the welfare and wellbeing of the people as one of its foremost priorities.  He extended his sincere appreciation to the donors and partners and all stakeholders for their involvement in the project.

In his remarks Mr. Bijay Karmacharya, Country Programme Manager of UN-Habitat Myanmar stressed that the shelter, together with the other adaptation infrastructures will contribute greatly to improve the resilience of Pakokku community, particularly during the expected increased frequency and intensity of rain and floods. These include the immediate resilience benefits, given it key role in providing local residents shelter during floods, as well as the broader adaptive benefits, such strengthening capacities of residents to maintain mobility and access to services and employment. The approach and methodology of vulnerability assessment and implementation of adaptive infrastructure shall be replicated by other communities and neighboring townships.

Main Menu