.

2017年“世界城市日”全球主场活动将在广州举办

By on 2017-09-22

2017年9月20日在广州举办的新闻通气会现场

广州,2017年9月22日 —— 日前广州的一场媒体通气会上发布消息称,2017年“世界城市日”全球主场活动将于10月31日在广州市举办。该活动由联合国人类住区规划署(人居署)、中华人民共和国住房和城乡建设部和广东省人民政府共同主办,广州市政府承办。

“世界城市日”是中国政府在联合国推动设立的首个国际日。2010年上海世博会闭幕之际,世博会组委会、联合国、国际展览局在共同发布的《上海宣言》中提出:“将上海世博会闭幕之日(10月31日)定为‘世界城市日’,以此激励人类为城市创新与和谐发展而不懈追求与奋斗”。

通过联合国人居署、住房城乡建设部、中国贸促会以及上海市政府的共同努力,2013年12月第68届联合国大会通过决议,决定将每年的10月31日设为“世界城市日”。

“世界城市日”以上海世博会主题“城市,让生活更美好”作为总主题。每年根据当年情况设定不同的年度主题。今年“世界城市日”的年度主题设定为“城市治理,开放创新”。该主题呼应了《新城市议程》中提出的相关理念,同时也契合了中国的五大发展理念,旨在引领全世界城市可持续发展的路径,推动联合国2030年可持续发展议程和《新城市议程》在世界范围内有效实施。

本届全球主场活动举办城市广州素有“花城”的美誉,是建城2200多年的历史文化名城,也是中国重要中心城市和宜居城市的优秀范例之一。在城市治理实践中,广州秉承创新、协调、绿色、开放、共享的发展理念,主动适应全球城市发展新趋势,在努力建设枢纽型网络城市,构建全球城市网络重要节点方面取得积极成效。

本届全球主场活动将围绕活动主题,重点交流和展示世界各地在城市规划设计、建设、管理等方面的创新做法,探讨如何进一步落实联合国《新城市议程》,促进“一带一路”沿线国家和城市的交流与合作。

世界城市日主场活动包括世界城市日论坛、世界城市日—城市治理创新实践展、城市文化交流以及相关配套活动等。联合国人居署、住房城乡建设部、广东省政府领导届时将莅会演讲,有关国家和地区政府部门负责人、国内外城市市长、有关国际组织代表、城市规划建设管理专家学者等将参加主场活动。

为做好2017年“世界城市日”各项筹备工作,广东省住房和城乡建设厅会同广州市政府制定了筹备方案,在广州成立了专门的组织机构,策划了专题研讨会、学术论文征文、南粤古驿道定向大赛、专家访谈等配套活动,推动社会各界关注和参与城市治理、城市发展,携手打造更加绿色、宜居、便利、和谐的城市。

“世界城市日”设立以来,在全球各地开展了形式多样的庆祝活动。2014年10月31日,首届“世界城市日”庆祝活动在上海举办,来自37个国家的嘉宾出席,中国总理李克强、联合国秘书长潘基文分别发来贺信和祝辞;当天,纽约联合国总部和全球12个国家也举办了数十场庆祝活动。2015年、2016年分别在意大利米兰和厄瓜多尔基多举办了全球主场活动,并分别在上海和厦门举办了中国主场活动。各主场活动围绕总主题和年度主题,鼓励和推动各国各级政府、城市管理者、研究者、市民从不同角度研讨交流城市可持续发展的政策措施和实践经验。

这个新诞生的、由中国发起的国际日已得到国际社会的广泛认可,去年十月举办的联合国第三次住房和城市可持续发展大会(人居三)通过决议,将“世界城市日”作为落实《新城市议程》的现有举措。“世界城市日”已成为国际社会宣传城市可持续发展理念、共同探讨构建宜居和谐城市、应对城市化带来的各类挑战的重要平台。

Guangzhou to host global observance of 2017 World Cities Day

By on 09/22/2017

The photo of Media Briefing Conference on 20 September 2017 in Guangzhou

Guangzhou, 22 September 2017 – The global observation of 2017 World Cities Day will be held in Guangzhou on 31 October, as recently announced in a media briefing in the city. The event is organized by United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat), the Ministry of Housing and Urban-Rural Development of China (MOHURD) and the People’s Government of Guangdong Province, and hosted by Guangzhou Municipal Government.

World Cities Day is the first international day established under the proposal of Chinese government. It was proposed in the Shanghai Declaration by organizing committee of the World Expo, UN and International Exhibition Bureau the closing day of the closing ceremony of World Expo 2010 Shanghai China, should be nominated as World Cities Day, “… inspiring humankind in its enduring pursuit of urban innovation and harmonious development.”

With the joint efforts of UN-Habitat, MOHURD, CCPIT and Shanghai Municipal Government, the UN General Assembly adopted the resolution which designated 31 October as World Cities Day(WCD) in December 2013.

The general theme of WCD is “Better City, Better Life”, the theme of the Shanghai World Expo, while the annual theme changes accordingly. The theme for WCD 2017 is “Innovative Governance, Open Cities”, which echoes the ideas of New Urban Agenda and the five development philosophies of China, aiming at leading the sustainable development of cities around the world and advancing the worldwide implementation of 2030 Sustainable Development Agenda and New Urban Agenda of UN.

Guangzhou, known as Flower City, is the host city of the 2017 Global Observation. As one of the key central cities and demonstration livable cities of China, Guangzhou has remained a famous historic and cultural city with 2200 years of history. In the practices of urban governance, Guangzhou actively reacts to new global trends of urban development according to the development concepts of innovation, coordination, green, open and sharing, while trying to build itself a hub network city and an important node for global city network.

Based on the annual theme of 2017, this year’s global observation is to exchange and showcase the innovative practices around the world in urban planning, building and management, discuss how to further implement New Urban Agenda, and promotion of the exchange and cooperation among cities and countries along the Belt and Road.

Specific activities include World Cities Day Forum, WCD-Urban Governance Innovation Practices Exhibition, Urban Cultural Exchange and other supporting activities. To be present in this event are representatives of UN Habitat and leaders from MOHURD and Guangdong Provincial Government as well as ministry officials and mayors from different countries, representatives of relevant international organization, and scholars on urban planning and construction management.

For the 2017 WCD, Guangdong Housing and Urban-Rural Development Department and Guangzhou Municipal Government have jointly formulated a preparation scheme, founded a specialized preparation organization, and made plan for symposium, academic paper collection, South Guangdong Ancient Post Road Orienteering and Expert Interviews, to draw public attention and efforts to city governance and development for the purpose of building a greener and more livable, convenient, harmonious city.

Since its establishment, WCD has been celebrated worldwide in various forms. The 2014 WCD Global Observation was held in Shanghai which saw the presence of guests from 37 countries and the felicitations of Premier Li Keqiang and UN Secretary General Ban Ki-Moon. On the same day, dozens of celebration events were organized in UN Headquarters and 12 countries. The 2015 and 2016 WCD Global Observations were respectively held in Milan of Italy and Quito of Ecuador while national celebration events were held in Shanghai and Xiamen of China. In line with the general and annual themes of WCD, governments at all levels, city managers, researchers and citizens are encouraged to discuss and exchange policies, measures and experiences of sustainable urban development from different perspectives.

This new international day initiated by China has been widely recognized by international community. Last October, WCD was identified as one of important existing initiatives related to the implementation of New Urban Agenda adopted by the United Nations Conference on Housing and Sustainable Urban Development (HabitatIII). The WCD has become a major platform for the world to promote the idea of sustainable urban development, to discuss urban livability and harmony, and to meet challenges brought by urbanization.

Translate »
Main Menu