.

日本政府代表团察访Kalobeyei

By on 2017-12-19

12月18日至20日,日本政府代表团造访了Kalobeyei,监督联合国人居署在 Kalobeyei 新难民营的工作。 陪同代表团的有联合国人居署项目组,日本国际农林水产业研究中心(JIRCAS)和世界农用林业中心(ICRAF)的代表。 上述组织正在与国际农业研究磋商组织(CGIAR)的水、土地与生态系统项目、宾夕法尼亚州立大学进行合作。

目前,联合国人居署为支持Kalobeyei而开展工作,由日本政府资助的项目“Kalobeyei和卡库玛难民安置与融合社区稳定项目”具体执行。10月至11月间,根据该项目的目标,联合国人居署率先开展了三项主要行动;

  • 为新难民营试点建造3种备选的住房模型,由世界知名建筑师坂茂在公益基础上设计完成
  • 通过培训和支持型煤生产,发展难民和本地妇女的生计。这些型煤用作燃料,使用废木炭、碳粒制作而成。废木炭(碳灰/碳粒)采自木炭交易场所和生产场地。碳粒的制作原料包括经过滚筒式干燥炉碳化处理的、入侵树种mathenge的小树枝,市场和居民产生的有机垃圾,屠宰场和地里的牛粪等。
  • 在Kalobeyei新难民营建设社区中心,向本地居民和难民开放使用

第一天,代表团造访了试点住房项目,会见了新难民营的运营商,参观了本地妇女和难民营妇女展示的型煤生产活动。

住房项目旨在向Kalobeyei提供战略,保障为难民建造适当的住房,达到经济适用且便捷,符合难民的文化需求。该项目由坂茂团队直接监督,协作方是联合国人居署卡库玛工地办公室。

型煤生产项目关注赋权妇女,使她们拥有创业机会自主创收,并为Kalobeyei地区提供烹饪所需能源的替代性选择。目前该地区主要使用木柴和木炭,对环境极为有害。

12月4日至6日,20名本地妇女接受了培训。今天,其中5名妇女来到难民营,对难民营的约20名妇女进行了培训。培训活动得到世界农用林业中心(ICRAF)生物能源学家Mary Njenga博士的支持。培训增进了本地居民与难民的友谊。

日本政府代表伊藤与(Ito Yo)先生在展示活动上发表了讲话,重申日本政府支持图尔卡纳郡的最边缘社区建设可持续住区、保护环境、改善生计。项目负责人Yuka Terada女士确认联合国人居署的承诺,要在Kalobeyei地区实现上述目标。本地社区和难民营的代表都对联合国人居署、世界农用林业中心(ICRAF)在日本政府资助下给予他们支持表示感谢。与日本国际农林水产业研究中心(JIRCAS)、世界农用林业中心(ICRAF)合作的经济学家Miyuki Liyama博士强调,需要可持续的提供烹饪所需能源,保护图尔卡纳等干燥地区的植被,遏制土地恶化。

代表团将造访当前开展的其他项目,如正在建设的公共空间,即社区中心,并参观本地培训的摄影师组织的摄影展。摄影展记录了Kalobeyei新难民营的演变过程。代表团还将会见联合国难民署(UNHCR)官员,讨论废弃物管理策略及其与世界农用林业中心(ICRAF)促进的能源生产项目的关系等。

Government of Japan undertakes monitoring visit in Kalobeyei

By on 12/19/2017

A delegation from the Government of Japan is in Kalobeyei between 18-20th December monitoring UN-Habitat activities in the Kalobeyei new settlement. The delegation is accompanied by the project team at UN-Habitat and representatives from Japan International Research Center for Agricultural Sciences (JIRCAS) and the World Agroforestry Center (ICRAF) who are working in collaboration with Water Land and Ecosystem program of CGIAR and Penn State University.

UN-Habitat’s support in Kalobeyei is currently being implemented through the government’s funded project titled “Community-Based Stabilization Programme for Resettlement and Integration of Refugee Communities in Kalobeyei and Kakuma”. Over the period October – November, UN-Habitat has, within the project objectives, been spearheading three key activities;

  • Piloting construction of 3 alternative housing models for the new settlement – which have been designed on pro-bono basis by world re-known architect Shigeru Ban
  • Livelihoods development among refugee and host community women through training and supporting production of fuel briquettes from charcoal waste (dust/fines) collected from trading places and charcoal production sites, charcoal fines made from small twigs harvested from the invasive Propospis spp (mathenge) and charred using drum kiln, organic waste from markets and households, cow manure from the slaughter house and soil.
  • Construction of a community center in Kalobeyei new settlement, open for use by both communities

In the first day, the delegation visited the pilot shelter project, met business operators in the new settlement and got a demonstration on briquette production process by women from both host and refugee communities.

The shelter project aims to make a strategy for Kalobeyei that ensures construction of adequate housing for refugees that is affordable, accessible and culturally appropriate. The project is directly being overseen by Shigeru Ban’s team, in coordination with UN-Habitat’s Kakuma field office.

The briquettes production initiative is focused on empowering women to have self-employment opportunities that also generate income, as well as introducing alternative cooking energy options in an area that predominantly uses wood and charcoal, to great environmental detriment.

Twenty women from the host community received the training on 4-6th December and today five of them came to the settlement and trained another group about 20 refugee women, with support from Dr. Mary Njenga, a Bioenergy Research Scientist with ICRAF. This process is fostering friendship.

Speaking during the demonstration, Mr. Ito Yo, the Government of Japan representative reiterated the government’s commitment to sustainable settlements, environmental conservation and enhanced livelihoods among the most marginalized communities in Turkana County. Ms. Yuka Terada, the project leader confirmed the commitment of UN-Habitat to attaining these objectives in the Kalobeyei area. Representatives from the host and refugee communities expressed their appreciation for the support accorded to them by UN-Habitat and ICRAF through funding from the Government of Japan. Dr. Miyuki Liyama, an economist working with JIRCAS and ICRAF emphasized the need for sustainable cooking energy options that conserve trees in dry areas such as Turkana to arrest land degradation.

The delegation will visit other ongoing activities: the community center, an going construction of public space, and attend a photo exhibition organized by locally trained photographers, that documents the evolution of Kalobeyei new settlement. They will also meet UNHCR and hold discussions on waste management strategies and its linkages to energy production initiative being facilitated by ICRAF.

Translate »
Main Menu