日本政府资助肯尼亚难民营执行摄影项目

By on 2018-01-09

图尔卡纳郡 Kalobeyei201819—— 在日本政府资助、联合国人居署支持下,Kalobeyei 青年摄影小组成立。小组由10名本地成员组成,于2016年项目初始阶段建立,主要目标是支持联合国人居署通过摄影实现快捷的可视化记录,探查当地经济,废弃物管理,公路,水、环境卫生与个人卫生(WASH),气候变化,环境和住房状况。结果非常令人振奋,组员们对于上述城市问题的认识显著提高,他们的个人报告可作证明。

2017年12月,在日本政府代表团考察图尔卡纳郡Kalobeyei新难民营期间,摄影小组成功赢得了支持,在卡库玛镇的公平银行(Equity Bank)开立了小组的账户。项目收益将推动赋权青年,成为其生计来源,同时扩展青年的知识,便于他们更好地参与开展Kalobeyei空间规划及地方政府的其他公民社会活动。

在联合国人居署支持下,小组开展了难民营的首个可视化记录活动。难民营于去年成立,在交通、住房、经济、公共空间和环境方面有所转变。可视化记录将利于更好地呈现城市转变的过程。在此过程中,城市从执行应急举措转为执行耐久举措,支持和平共处,抓住机遇促进肯尼亚图尔卡纳郡的难民融合。

此外,小组还将免费使用难民营社区中心的剪辑和打印服务。该中心定于2018年3月向公众开放。中心设有一间电脑室,供本地居民和难民自由使用。摄影小组的主要任务将是在难民营和本地社区发挥他们的技术,记录Kalobeyei难民营快速的发展建设过程。

Government of Japan funds photography project at Kenya’s refugee settlement

By on 01/09/2018

Kalobeyei, Turkana, 9 January 2018—Kalobeyei Youth Photography Group has been established with the support from UN-Habitat through the funding Government of Japan. The 10-member host community group was formed in the initial stages of the project inception in 2016, with the key objective of supporting UN-Habitat in doing a rapid visual documentation exercise through photography to unearth the condition of the local economy, waste management, roads, WASH, climate change, environment and housing. The outcome was very inspiring and their knowledge on these urban issues increased significantly as evidenced in their individual presentations.

In December 2017, government of Japan’s mission to kalobeyei new settlement in Turkana County, the photography group managed to get support to open a group account with Equity Bank in Kakuma town. The proceeds gotten from this initiative will go a long way in empowering the youths as a livelihood source and also expanding their knowledge to better participate in the implementation of the Kalobeyei spatial plan and other civil society activities for the local government.

Supported by UN-Habitat, the group has conducted the first visual documentation of the settlement one year after establishment following the changes in transport, shelter, economy, public space and environment. The visual documentation will serve to better present the process of urban transformation from emergency to durable approach, supporting peaceful coexistence and seizing opportunities from hosting refugees in Turkana County, Kenya.

Moreover, the group will get free access for editing and printing services in the community center in the refugee settlement which is planned to be open for public in March 2018. The Center is designed to offer a computer room with unlimited access for both host and the refugees.  The main scope of the photographers will be to perform their skills in the refugee and host communities but also to document the fast physical development process of Kalobeyei Settlement.

Translate »
Main Menu