法语区专家齐聚阿比让, 就城市的全球定义达成一致

By on 2018-11-22

2018年11月13日,阿比让 —— 来自法语区国家的 15 位统计学家和城市规划师齐聚阿比让举行了研讨会。 该研讨会就城市的全球定义以及对城市区域进行监测的可行性进行了评估, 并审议了城市地区可持续发展目标和《新城市议程》 (NUA) 。 在欧洲联盟委员会的资助下, 联合国人居署将在全球举办七场研讨会, 此次会议是第二次研讨会, 此举旨在统一城市定义, 以便对可持续发展目标进行监测, 并为土地和农村地区相关指标制订方法和数据收集方法。

研讨会将向各国介绍由欧洲联盟委员会提出的城市化水平(DEGURBA)这一概念。该概念是指根据联合国和参与国所提供的卫星图像和统计数据来界定一座城市。这将加强在全球性测试中使用城市定义的能力, 利于通过科学验证方法采用国家监测框架来产生可靠、最新和分类的数据,监测和审议可持续发展目标和《新城市议程 》(NUA),并根据真实数据为实现可持续城市发展制定变革性政策和行动。

与会者支持联合国采取行动帮助各国规范可持续发展目标相关指标的报告和基准制定流程。多哥INSEED城市问题负责人泰特·科西·格贝莱瓦先生(Tete Kossi Gbeblèwou)表示:“总体而言, 此次研讨会是一个很好的机会,突显了为统一城市定义以监测可持续发展目标的相关指标及其在全球层面的可比性方面所做出努力。此外,研讨会还为城市指标活动确定了方向。”

此次研讨会由科特迪瓦国家统计研究院技术顾问主持开幕,与会者包括来自科特迪瓦城市和建设部、住房和城市规划部的高级代表以及来自欧洲联盟委员会和联合国粮食及农业组织的高级代表。

Francophone experts gather in Abidjan to agree on a global definition of city

By on 11/22/2018

Abidjan, 13 November 2018 – Statisticians and urban planners from 15 Francophone countries have convened at a workshop held in Abidjan to Assess the feasibility of a global definition of city or urban area for monitoring and review of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) for urban areas and the New Urban Agenda (NUA). This is the second of seven workshops to be conducted globally by UN-Habitat with financial support from the European Commission to harmonize the definition of the city for monitoring of the SDGs and development of methodologies and data collection approaches for indicators related to land and rural areas.

The workshops will introduce countries to the Degree of Urbanization (DEGURBA) concept developed by the European Commission to define the city based on interpretation of satellite images and statistical data obtained from the United Nations and participating countries. This will strengthen capacity in the use of urban definitions tested at the global level, adopt national monitoring frameworks based on scientifically proven methods that produce reliable, up-to-date and disaggregated data, monitor and review SDGs and New Urban Agenda (NUA), and translate the factual data generated into transformative policies and actions towards sustainable urban development.

Participants welcomed the UN initiative to help countries standardize the reporting and benchmarking process for SDG indicators. “Overall, this was a good opportunity to shed light on efforts towards harmonization of the definition of the city for monitoring SDG indicators and their comparability at the global level. It also sets the direction for activities on urban indicators,” said Mr. Tete Kossi Gbeblèwou focal point for urban issues for INSEED in Togo.

Participants at the workshop which was opened by the technical adviser of the National Institute of Statistics (INS) in Côte d’Ivoire included senior representatives of the Ivorian ministry of City and Construction and the ministry of Housing and Town Planning, the European Commission, and the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO).

Main Menu