.

阿克拉召开专家会议探讨改善非洲道路交通安全和机动性的办法

By on 2018-08-28

阿克拉,2018828—— 近 20 个非洲国家及其他合作伙伴的 100 多名代表参加了最近在加纳首都阿克拉举行的会议,探讨遏制交通肇事逃逸、肇事逃逸致人死亡的办法,及改善非洲城市机动性的办法。

会议召开的背景是,非洲每年交通事故死亡人数预计超过30万。据世界卫生组织(WHO)统计,非洲地区拥有全世界2%的在册车辆,交通事故死亡人数却超出比例,占全球总数的16%。交通事故死亡预计是年龄在5岁至44岁之间的人群的第四大死亡原因。

为了分享在改善道路交通安全方面的经验,近20个非洲国家政府的基础设施部/交通部、国家道路交通安全管理局和委员会、非洲次区域和区域组织、国际组织、非政府组织(NGOs)、学术界和研究机构、私营部门的100多名代表参加了为期两天的道路交通安全与城市机动性研讨会。

研讨会由加纳政府主办,联合国秘书长道路安全问题特使秘书处、联合国欧洲经济委员会、联合国非洲经济委员会、非洲交通政策计划(SSATP)、联合国人类住区规划署(联合国人居署)等给予支持。

联合国秘书长道路安全问题特使让·托德(Jean Todt)先生和联合国前秘书长已故的科菲·安南先生为这次研讨会提供了契机。安南先生是既定参会代表,但这位前秘书长身体不适,在会议前不久离世了。他原定参会,因突发疾病被迫取消了加纳的行程。这次研讨会在开幕时安排了默哀时间,以悼念安南先生,并向其家人表达哀思。

“我与他共同面对这座伟大的大洲在道路交通安全方面遭遇的苦难。他本已准备好,要助力改变这一局面……我很荣幸,继承了他的遗志,要推进这次研讨会取得成果,继续致力于改善他的祖国加纳乃至非洲地区的道路交通安全。”托德先生表达了科菲·安南先生终结交通事故死亡的遗愿。

研讨会强调,不断增长的城市化与非洲地区预计增长的交通事故死亡人数相互关联。托德先生、加纳交通部长奎库·奥福里·阿夏马(Kwaku Ofori Asiamah)先生、世界银行驻加纳代表亨利·克拉利(Henry Kerali)先生致开幕词。

“我们很幸运,近几年,全世界团结起来,制定了《可持续发展目标》的愿景,致力于解决道路交通安全问题。其中,可持续发展目标3.6制定了具体目标,致力于减少交通事故死亡人数;可持续发展目标11.2致力于改善安全交通体系,”人居署城市交通部门的Stefanie Holzwarth女士说。

她补充:“要制定行动计划,帮助我们把上述全球目标落实为转型项目,加以执行。《新城市议程》为各城市提供了今后20年的框架,有助于这些全球目标的本地化”。研讨会代表们评估了如何更好地把城市交通安全融入现有的道路交通安全框架,讨论了如何把道路交通安全整合进城市规划和基础设施发展进程。代表们分享了优良做法、循证的解决方案、进展与挑战,考量了联合国道路交通和道路交通安全相关的法律文件,支持实现可持续发展目标11.2和目标3.6。

全球每年交通事故死亡人数达130万,其中超过半数来自城市地区。交通事故死亡预计是全球年龄在5岁至44岁之间的人群的第四大死亡原因。对国家道路交通安全造成影响的几大事项包括道路基础设施质量、执法水平、车辆安全、道路使用者行为、事故受害者的救治等。在城市地区,至关重要的是,解决处于弱势的道路使用者的安全问题,如行人、骑自行车和骑摩托车的人、儿童等。

为了向地方政府和各国政府传授“如何指导”,人居署和美国交通与发展政策研究所(ITDP)合作,最近针对“步行和骑行街道设计—建设安全、通畅、舒适的非洲城市”,推出了一个工具包,在本次研讨会期间向代表们分发。

相关国际组织将继续与非洲各国政府合作,应对道路交通安全、城市机动性的挑战,并支持上述政府履行承诺,执行《可持续发展目标》和《新城市议程》。

Experts converge in Accra to seek ways of improving Africa’s road safety and mobility

By on 08/28/2018

Accra, 28 August 2018 – Over 100 participants drawn from nearly 20 African countries and other partners recently gathered in the Ghanaian capital Accra to mull ways of curbing the runaway road accidents- as well as the attendant mortality- and to improve urban mobility on the continent.

The meeting was held against the milieu that every year, road crashes are estimated to claim over 300,000 lives in Africa. According to WHO, the African region has 2 per cent of the world’s registered vehicles but a disproportionate 16 per cent of the world’s road traffic deaths. Road traffic fatalities are estimated to be the fourth leading cause of death of persons aged 5 through 44 years.

To share experience in improving road safety, over 100 participants representing nearly 20 African Government Ministries of Infrastructure/Transport, National Road Safety Authorities and Councils, African sub-regional and regional organizations, international organizations, Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs), academic and research institutions, and the private sector attended the two-day workshop on Road Safety and Urban Mobility.

The workshop was hosted by the Government of Ghana, with support of the Secretariat of the United Nations Secretary-General’s Special Envoy for Road Safety, the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe, United Nations Economic Commission for Africa, the Africa Transport Policy Program (SSATP), and the United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat).

UN Secretary-General’s Special Envoy for Road Safety, Mr. Jean Todt, and former UN Secretary-General the late Kofi Annan inspired the workshop. Mr. Annan was one of the expected participants, but this was not to be for the former SG was indisposed and passed on immediately before the event. who had intended to participate in the meeting before his sudden illness caused him to cancel his trip to Ghana. Consequently, the workshop began with a moment of silence in respect for Mr. Annan and in sympathy with his family at his recent passing.

“I shared with him the plight this great continent faces in terms of road safety and he, as expected, was ready to help make a difference… I am honored to carry on his legacy through the outcomes of this workshop and in our continued work towards improved road safety in his country and region” says Mr. Todt on Mr. Kofi Annan’s desire to end road deaths in Africa.

The workshop underscored the linkages between growing urbanization and expected rise in the number of road traffic fatalities in the region. It was opened by Mr. Todt, Ghana’s Minister of Transport, Mr. Kwaku Ofori Asiamah, and the World Bank Country Director, Mr. Henry Kerali.

“We are fortunate that in the last few years the world has come together with a vision to tackle road safety in the Sustainable Development Goals, with specific targets under SDG 3.6 to reduce road fatalities, and improving access to safe transport systems under SDG 11.2”, said Ms. Stefanie Holzwarth of the Urban Mobility Unit at UN-Habitat.

She added: to develop action plans, that help us translate these global goals into transformative implementation projects. The New Urban Agenda provides the framework for cities for the next 20 years and helps to localize these global goals”. Participants at the workshop were assessing how to better integrate safe urban mobility within existing road safety frameworks and discussing how to incorporate road safety into urban planning and infrastructure development process. They were sharing good practices, evidence-based solutions, progress and challenges, considering the UN road transport and road safety related legal instruments, in support of the achievement of SDG targets 11.2 and 3.6.

Of the 1.3 million global road traffic fatalities every year , more than half are accounted for in urban areas. Road traffic fatalities are estimated to be the fourth leading cause of death globally of persons aged 5 through 44 years. There are several issues that affect the road safety situation in a country, including quality of road infrastructure, level of law enforcement, safety of vehicles, road user behaviors and post-crash care. In the urban area, it is critical to address the safety of vulnerable road users such as pedestrians, cyclists, children and motorcyclists.

To provide a “How-To-Guide” to local and national governments, UN-Habitat, in collaboration with ITDP, recently developed a Toolkit on “Streets for walking & cycling – designing for safety, accessibility and comfort in African cities” that was disseminated during the workshop.

The involved international organizations will continue to work with African governments to address the challenge of road safety and urban mobility and support them to meet their commitments to implement the Sustainable Development Goals and the New Urban Agenda.

Main Menu