.

联合国人居署执行主任于国际生物多样性日致辞

By on 2018-05-23

2018 年的今天, 让我们庆祝《生物多样性公约》生效 25 周年。

在8,300种已知的动物种类中,8%已经灭绝,22%濒临灭绝。 全世界有80,000多个树种,人们只对其中1%进行了研究,开发有益的用途。 微生物和无脊椎动物维持着整个生态系统,但它们的重要性几乎仍然不为人所知,很少得到承认。

世界上的生物多样性遭受到越来越多的冲击。随着当代城市化进程的不断加深,这种情况也在加剧。动植物和其它生物原本生活的区域建起了公路、高层建筑和生活区。这导致了自然栖息地的退化,有些地方完全消失,最终破坏了生态系统。

拯救生物多样性不单是一个人、一个社区、一个组织或一个国家的责任,而是全世界共同的责任。如果生物种类继续减少,我们及我们的后代都会受到影响。为此,联合国人居署同样承担着保护环境和协助保护物种多样性的重大责任。

城市的生态多样性可以得到提升。鸟类、昆虫、植物及其它生物都可以以不同的方式将城市作为栖息之地。为它们提供生活环境并不复杂。城市森林或野生动植物保护项目、社区花园,以及城市里种植的树木和灌木都可以大大改善野生动植物的生活环境。这些环境的改善会产生显著的效果,不仅让城市居民享受到更多绿色空间,长远来讲,还将有助于增强气候的稳定。在设计、规划和管理城市时考虑到对自然环境的保护,不仅能确保生物多样性,还将使我们的城市更加宜居,更具可持续性。

今天是生物多样性国际日,在这里,联合国人居署与联合国环境署、其它联合国机构及世界各国携手共同努力,以确保生态系统的韧性、生物资源的可持续利用和生态多样性的提高。

Executive Director’s Message on the occasion of the International Day for Biological Diversity

By on 05/23/2018

This year and on this very day, we celebrate the 25th anniversary of the adoption of the Convention on Biological Diversity.

Eight percent of the 8,300 known animal breeds are already extinct, and 22 percent are vulnerable to extinction. Only one percent of the more than 80,000 tree species in the world have been studied for beneficial uses. Entire ecosystems are sustained by micro-organisms and invertebrates, but their importance is still relatively unknown and rarely acknowledged.

The world’s biological diversity is ever more under attack, which is also amplified in this era of increasing urbanisation. Roads, high-rise buildings and settlements are constructed in areas where animals, plants and other organisms once lived. This leads to habitat degradation – and sometimes their complete loss – and to the destruction of ecosystems.

Saving biological diversity is not the responsibility of one individual, community, organisation, or nation alone. It is the world’s collective responsibility, as we – and our children – will all feel the consequences of its further reduction. UN-Habitat thus bears an equally great responsibility in conservation and in helping preserve species variety.

Cities can work to promote urban biological diversity. Birds, insects, plants, and other organisms have all, in one way or another, made urban areas their habitats, and accommodating them does not require much. Urban forest or wildlife programmes, community gardens, and civic efforts to plant trees and shrubs, can go a long way in promoting wildlife. The benefits of this will go a long way – not only through providing more green spaces for city dwellers to enjoy, but also in the long term, in contributing to climate stability. In designing, planning and managing cities with nature in mind, we will go beyond ensuring biodiversity: we will make our cities more liveable and more sustainable for their residents.

Today, on the International Day for Biological Diversity, at UN-Habitat, we join hands with UN Environment, other UN agencies, and the rest of the world to ensure resilient ecosystems, sustainable use of biological resources, and the promotion of eco-diversity.

Main Menu