.

埃及住房、公共设施和城市发展部签署瑞士资助的Hayenna城市综合发展项目

By on 2018-12-03

埃及开罗,20181129—— 瑞士联邦政府与阿拉伯埃及共和国政府于2013年11月26日就技术与财政合作签署框架协议。 在此背景下,埃及政府与瑞士政府于2018年4月签署了项目协议。 埃及住房、公共设施和城市发展部副部长、实体规划总会主席(GOPP)Assem El Gazzar 博士于今天签署 Hayenna 城市综合发展项目的单独协议。 该项目由瑞士联邦经济事务总局(SECO)资助,将开始实施。

Hayenna(我们的城区)项目旨在推进埃及的城市发展,试点创新举措,用于城市规划与设计、城市财政、地方经济发展、及城市政策和立法等领域。作为项目的执行机构,人居署将于近期在第一个试点省份基纳省开始执行项目,在执行项目的第一年里,与项目合作伙伴磋商后,再选定第二个试点省份。

该项目将改善四个指定地区的居民生活。在这些地区,将试点实施干预行动,以推行更正式、更透明的城市规划和土地价格管理,提升公共服务。通过该项目,有望创造大量就业机会,这是因为改善城市设计将尤其有益于支持中小型私营部门在项目城区开展经营活动。

除了主要目标,Hayenna 项目还支持当前的行动,在国家一级改善治理城市发展的法律和制度框架,尤其是促进建立管理城市扩张的优化框架。该项目处理重要事务以推动国家发展,旨在支持执行《2030年埃及愿景》及《2052年国家战略发展规划》。

为保障可持续性,该项目聚焦知识转让,办法是提高城市级和国家级公职人员的能力。培训专题包括城市综合规划和发展、及有效的土地管理和设计。Hayenna 项目还将对上述人员进行改善地方公共财政管理的培训,办法是征收土地收益金,即对日益攀升的地价征税,而地价攀升是公共基础设施投资造成的。

根据签署的单独协议,项目期至2023年,项目总值1180万美元,其中810万美元由瑞士联邦经济事务总局(SECO)出资,360万美元由埃及政府出资。该项目将由人居署与实体规划总会(GOPP)执行,其中实体规划总会是埃及的项目执行机构。

在签约仪式上,副部长Assem El Gazzar 强调,这个试点项目意义重大,提供并测试城市规划工具,有助于预防非正式住区的滋生。Assem El Gazzar 博士还提到,该项目的创新举措集城市规划与公共财政于一体,前景光明。他期待该项目提供经验教训,以支持埃及政府改善城市发展进程。最后,Assem El Gazzar副部长表示,感谢瑞士政府资助项目,感谢人居署与埃及住房、公共设施和城市发展部开展成功的合作。

人居署埃及项目经理 Rania Hedeya 女士说,该项目致力于促进《新城市议程》及其主要目标。依托人居署与实体规划总会(GOPP)在 Qalioubeya 进行协作、细致规划城市扩张地区的成功试点项目,该旗舰项目将促进人居署使本机构的主要观点和举措适应埃及的情况。由于埃及乃至全球的城市持续增长,该项目对于管理城市增长大有裨益,可以赋权所有人享受城市化的福利。Rania Hedeya 女士还补充道,升级该项目和项目经验对于项目的成功至关重要。

对于瑞士联邦经济事务总局(SECO),该项目是在城市发展领域深入行动的开端。瑞士驻埃及大使馆合作事务负责人 Corinne Henchoz Pignani 强调,瑞士大使馆对于与人居署在城市发展领域的新合作十分乐观。随着人口迅速增长、城市日益发展,城市问题已成为埃及最紧迫的挑战之一。因此,经济繁荣要求城市发挥作用,也就使这一领域的技术合作意义重大。

基纳省的项目启动工作将于12月底开始,为在基纳市的头两个试点场地执行该项目奠定基础。

Egypt’s Ministry of Housing, Utilities and Urban Communities signs Swiss funded “Hayenna”: Integrated Urban Development Project

By on 12/03/2018

CAIRO, Egypt –29th November 2018

In the context of the signed framework agreement between the Government of the Swiss Confederation and the Government of the Arab Republic of Egypt regarding Technical and Financial Cooperation ratified on 26th of November, 2013, the project agreement was signed by the Egyptian government and the Swiss government in April 2018. Dr Assem El Gazzar, Deputy Minister of Housing, Utilities and Urban Communities for Urban Development and chairman of the General Organization for Physical Planning (GOPP) signed today the separate agreement of the “Hayenna”: Integrated Urban Development Project funded by the Swiss State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO), the project will now start implementation.

The “Hayenna” (Our District) project aims at enhancing urban development in Egypt through piloting innovative approaches related to urban planning and design, municipal finance and local economic development as well as urban policies and legislation. UN Habitat, the implementing agency of the project, will soon start project implementation in the Governorate of Qena as the first pilot governorate, while a second Governorate will be selected after consulting the project partners within the first year of implementation.

The project will improve the living conditions of the inhabitants of four selected areas where pilot interventions will take place aiming at more formal and transparent urban planning, management of land values and improved public services. A considerable number of jobs are expected to be created through the project since the improved urban design will support in particular small and medium private sector activities in the targeted inner city areas.

In addition to its main goals, “Hayenna’s” activities supports ongoing efforts to improve the legal and institutional frameworks governing urban development at the national level contributing in particular to a better framework for managing urban expansion. Addressing important issues for the development of the country, the project aims at supporting the implementation of the Egypt Vision 2030 as well as the National Strategic Development Plan 2052.

To ensure sustainability, the project focuses on transferring knowledge by enhancing the capacities of state employees at the municipal and the national level. Training topics include integrated urban planning and development as well as effective land management and design. “Hayenna” will also train them on improved local public financial management through application of the betterment levy, a tax collected on increasing land values due to public infrastructure investments.

With the signing of the separate agreement, the project, which will be implemented until 2023, is valued US$11.8 million, with a contribution of $8.1 million by the Swiss State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) and US$3.6 million by the Egyptian government. The project will be implemented by UN Habitat with the General Organization for Physical Planning (GOPP) as the national counterpart.

During the signature ceremony, Deputy Minister Assem El Gazzar highlighted the importance of this pilot project in providing and testing urban planning tools that help to prevent the creation of informal settlements.  Dr. El Gazzar also mentioned that the project’s innovative approach combining urban planning and public finance is especially promising. He expects the project to deliver lessons learned that could support the government in improving the urban development process. At the end Deputy Minister El Gazzar thanked the Swiss Government for funding the project and UN Habitat for its successful cooperation with the Ministry.

Ms. Rania Hedeya, UN Habitat Egypt Program Manager, said that the project serves to bring the New Urban Agenda and its main objectives to life. Building on successful pilot projects in collaboration with GOPP on detailed planning in expansion areas in Qalioubeya, the flagship project will allow UN Habitat to translate key ideas and approaches of UN Habitat into the Egyptian context. With cities continuing to grow in Egypt as well as worldwide, the project is an important contribution to managing urban growth and enabling everybody to enjoy the benefits of urbanization. Ms. Hedeya also added that the scaling up of the project and the lessons learned are very crucial for the success of the project.

For the Swiss State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO), the project is the start of a deepened engagement in the field of urban development. Corinne Henchoz Pignani, Head of Cooperation at the embassy of Switzerland in Egypt, emphasized the enthusiasm of the Swiss Embassy regarding the new cooperation with UN Habitat in the field of urban development. With a fast increasing population and growing cities, urban issues are one of the most pressing challenges in the country. Economic prosperity thus demands functioning cities which makes technical cooperation in this field important.

A first kick-off mission to Qena Governorate will take place end of December, laying the ground for the implementation of the project in the first two pilot sites in Qena city.

 

Main Menu