.

埃德蒙顿会议将缩短气候变化科学与气候变化实践之间的差距

By on 2018-03-12

埃德蒙顿, 2018 38—— 此次会议由联合国政府间气候变化专门委员会(IPCC)召集并与联合国人居署联合举办, 为首次将城市气候变化背后的科学以会议的形式进行重点讨论。

城市 IPCC 会议由加拿大的埃德蒙顿市主办, 其最终目标是构画一幅全球蓝图, 以便更好地了解气候变化、 气候变化对城市的影响以及各地在解决这一难题中所发挥的重要作用。

在会议召开的三天时间里,各国科学家、政府官员、研究人员及发展专家努力评估与城市及气候变化相关的学术和实践知识现状,确定应优先关注的关键知识,并为学者、气候变化工作者及城市政策制定者开拓一条向前发展的道路。

联合国人居署执行主任谢里夫女士(Maimunah Mohd Shariff)在会议声明中表示:“我们明白城市有可能成为创新和气候行动的积极推动因素,但要利用这一点,我们不仅需要鼓舞人心的全面数据做指导,还需同各领域的合作伙伴一起开展有针对性的活动。”

“随着我们的世界城市化水平不断提高,如果我们有机会实现巜2030年可持续发展议程》、<巴黎协定>和<新城市议程>,我们就必须确保我们的城市以可持续的方式扩张。联合国人居署很高兴能继续支持这一重要进程。” 谢里夫女士说。

作为会议的主要协办方之一,联合国人居署在互动和快节奏的对话中明确指出研究人员所面临的一些极为迫切的问题。
在一次关于非正式活动的特别会议上,与会发言者强调了这样一个事实,即不仅国与国之间不同程度地感受到了气候变化的影响,在各国内,一些居住在城市非正式住区的最脆弱人群也感受到了气候变化的影响。

会议还强调了城市在应对气候变化方面的作用日益重要。

在会议结束时发布的新闻稿中,C40城市气候领导联盟科学与创新部主任、会议的科学指导委员会联合主席之一塞思·舒尔茨(Seth Schultz)说:“我们已能在城市地区感受到气候变化的影响,未来几年对于确定有效方法去应对保护城市的挑战至关重要。”

“不过,我们不能盲目去做。在此次会议上,我们已经能够围绕最重要的调查领域进行合作,因此我们可以以最有效和最有针对性的方式利用宝贵的时间和资源。 气候变化研究不仅仅有助于拯救我们的城市——它还将为我们的后代改善城市的居住环境,”舒尔茨先生说。

Edmonton conference bridges gap between climate change science and practice

By on 03/12/2018

Edmonton, 8 March 2018 – A conference convened by the International Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and co-organised by UN-Habitat has, for the first time, put the science behind climate change in cities at the centre of the debate around action.

Cities IPCC, hosted by the Canadian city of Edmonton, culminated with the establishment of a global blueprint to better understand climate change, its impacts on cities, and the critical role localities play in solving this challenge.

Over the course of three days, scientists, policymakers, researchers and development experts worked to assess the current state of academic and practice-based knowledge related to cities and climate change, identify key knowledge priorities, and chart a course forward for academic, practitioner and urban policy-making communities.

In a statement about the conference, UN-Habitat Executive Director, Maimunah Mohd Sharif, said: “We know that cities have the potential to be positive drivers of innovation and climate action but to harness this we will need comprehensive and cohesive data to guide us and targeted activities with partners across the spectrum.

“As our world becomes increasingly urban, we must ensure our cities expand in a sustainable manner if we are to have any chance of meeting the commitments in the 2030 Sustainable Development Agenda, the Paris Agreement and the New Urban Agenda, and UN-Habitat is happy to continue to support this important process,” said Mrs Sharif.

As one of the lead coordinators for the conference, UN-Habitat brought some of the most pressing issues facing the research community to the table in interactive and fast-paced dialogues.
In a special session on informality, speakers highlighted the reality that the effects of climate change are being felt disproportionately not only from country to country but also within countries themselves with some of the most vulnerable communities those living in informal settlements.

The conference also emphasised the growing role of cities in the fight against climate change.

In a press release issued at the close of the event, Seth Schultz, Director of Science and Innovation, C40 Climate Leadership Group, and one of the co-chairs of the conference’s Scientific Steering Committee, said: “The impacts of climate change are already being felt in our urban areas, and the next few years are critical for determining how effectively we will rise to the challenge of protecting our cities.

“However, we can’t undertake this work blindly. At this conference we have been able to coalesce around the most important areas of inquiry, so we can use precious time and resources in the most efficient and targeted way possible. And this research won’t just help save our cities – it will also improve them for generations to come,” said Mr Schultz.

Main Menu