联合国人居署第二届青年和蓝色经济会议代表呼吁采取行动提高就业水平

By on 2019-05-25

联合国人居署执行主任麦慕娜·莫哈德·谢里夫与(肯尼亚政府)青年事务部长Raymond Ochieng先生在内罗毕举行的青年和蓝色经济会议闭幕之际与Tarumbeta非洲鼓乐队共舞

内罗毕,2019523—— 在第二届青年和蓝色经济会议上,250 多名青年与私营部门、政府和联合国的代表们集会,共同探讨在蓝色经济背景下提升青年就业的方式。

会议为期两天,题为 “蓝色经济之路”。青年们在会上同意,组建青年和蓝色经济路线特别工作组,召集各国政府、地方政府、私营部门和其他利益相关方,支持青年。会议在首届联合国人居大会正式开幕前几天召开,得到人居署、加拿大驻肯尼亚高级专员公署和联邦青年项目(Commonwealth Youth Programme)的支持。

“工作组的总目标是推进青年会议和蓝色经济会议的伟大工作,保证肯尼亚乃至全球的青年都全面参与蓝色经济活动,”18岁的Elly Savatia称。Elly Savatia是在人居署总部所在地内罗毕的联合国内罗毕办事处(UNON)召开的这次会议中最年轻的代表。“我们需要的不只是开会,我们需要行动!”

工作组将创建青年和蓝色经济基金会“青年蓝”,支持青年领导的企业和创业公司。工作组还将制定青年和蓝色经济政策纲要,通过磋商,汲取以往会议的经验,保障参与建设蓝色经济的私营部门为青年提供就业机会。

联合国人居署副执行主任Victor Kisob在内罗毕举行的蓝色经济之路会议上对与会青年代表发表讲话

“我的团队与加拿大高级专员公署、青年大会、肯尼亚政府及你们所有人一起,将合作组建这个特别工作组,创建一个项目来处理突出问题,”人居署执行主任麦慕娜·莫哈德·谢里夫说,“该项目将在蓝色经济框架内提供机遇,提高青年就业,对这点我表示乐观。”

加拿大驻肯尼亚高级专员Lisa Stedelbauer阁下表示加拿大全力支持保障青年参与建设蓝色经济。

“与你们合作建设蓝色经济,我们激动不已。可持续蓝色经济会议赢得重大成功,我们要把这个势头保持下去,”Lisa Stedelbauer女士称,“通过与私营部门的伙伴关系,我们可以推动为青年创建蓝色经济的就业机会。”

通过私营部门领导的“世界城市咖啡馆”,与会代表与超过25个私营部门团体会面。私营部门的主持人们分享了他们自己如何创业的“路线”。

肯尼亚政府代表表示大力支持。

“政府将继续在海事部门发展和培养青年的能力,”肯尼亚青年事务部长Raymond Ochieng称,“其中包括教育和激励青年研究海洋事务,并将最终提高这一产业的产值。为达到这一目标,青年事务部计划对蓝色经济框架内的青年项目给予大力支持。”

本次论坛由人居署青年顾问委员会前成员Raphael Obonyo主持,发表讲话的有肯尼亚青年事务主任Susan Njau女士、企业家兼慈善家Manu Chandaria、私营部门代表和青年组织代表等。人居署第一届青年和蓝色经济会议于去年11月在联合国内罗毕办事处举行,先于可持续蓝色经济会议。

点击这里下载《青年和蓝色经济宣言》:http://bit.ly/YouthBlue-Economy-DeclarACTION

Delegates at UN-Habitat’s second Youth Blue Economy Conference call for action on jobs

By on 05/25/2019

UN-Habitat Executive Director, Maimunah Mohd Sharif and Mr. Raymond Ochieng, Secretary for Youth Affairs (Government of Kenya) dance with the Tarumbeta Africa Drum Group at the closing of the Youth and Blue Economy conference in Nairobi.

NAIROBI, 23 May 2019 – Over 250 youth met with representatives of the private sector, government and the UN to explore ways to boost young people’s employment in the Blue Economy at the second conference on Youth and the Blue Economy.

The youth at the two-day conference, entitled Pathways to the Blue Economy, agreed to set up a Pathways Taskforce for Youth and the Blue Economy to mobilize governments, local authorities, private sector and other stakeholders to support youth. The conference, which took place a few days before the official opening of the first UN-Habitat Assembly, was supported by UN-Habitat, the Canadian High Commission in Kenya and the Commonwealth Youth Programme.

“The taskforce’s overall goal will be to take forward the great work of both Youth and the Blue Economy conferences and ensure that youth in Kenya and globally are fully engaged in the Blue Economy,” stated Elly Savatia, who at 18 was the youngest delegate at the conference held at the UN Office in Nairobi (UNON) where UN-Habitat has its headquarters.  “We need more than conferences – we need action!”

The Taskforce will create a Youth and Blue Economy Fund called “Youth Blue”– to support youth-led enterprises and startups.  It will also develop Youth and the Blue Economy policy guidelines, through a consultative process, and drawing from previous conferences and ensure the private sector involved in the Blue Economy hires youth.

 

UN-Habitat Deputy Executive Director Victor Kisob addresses youth delegates of the Pathways to the Blue Economy conference in Nairobi

“My team together with Canadian High Commission, the Youth Congress, the Government of Kenya and indeed all of you, will work together to establish this Taskforce and create a programme to address the areas highlighted,” said the UN-Habitat Executive Director Maimunah Mohd Sharif, “I am optimistic that the programme will provide opportunities within the Blue Economy to increase youth employment.”

Canada’s High Commissioner to Kenya, H.E. Lisa Stedelbauer, expressed her country’s full support to ensure youth involvement in the Blue Economy.

“We are excited to be partnering with you on this event. The Sustainable Blue Economy Conference was such a great success; we need to keep the momentum going,” stated Ms. Stedelbauer, “Through partnerships with the private sector we can help to create jobs for youth in the Blue Economy.”  

Conference delegates engaged with over 25 private sector groups through “World Urban Café” which were led by private sector hosts who shared their “pathway” on how they established their business .

Representatives from the Government of Kenya expressed their strong support.

“The Government will continue to develop and build capacity for the youth in the Maritime Sector,” stated Raymond Ochieng, Kenya’s Secretary for Youth Affairs, “This entails educating and motivating the youth to study the maritime domain, that will ultimately increase the output value of the industry. To this effect, my Ministry plans to allocate significant support to youth programmes in the Blue Economy.”

The forum was moderated by Raphael Obonyo, a former UN-Habitat Youth Advisory Board member, with speakers Ms. Susan Njau, Director, Youth Affairs in Kenya; Manu Chandaria, business entrepreneur and philanthropist, and representatives from private sector and youth-led organizations.  UN-Habitat’s first Conference on Youth and the Blue Economy was held last November at UNON ahead of the Sustainable Blue Economy Conference.

The Youth and the Blue Economy DeclarACTION can be downloaded here: http://bit.ly/YouthBlue-Economy-DeclarACTION

 

Main Menu