.

城市是实现可持续发展目标的驱动力

By on 2018-07-18

2030年可持续发展议程》的诸多目标将在城市中心“决战取胜”,而当前城市地区人口占全球人口半数以上。

纽约市,717—— 当前,全球半数以上人口居住在城市,且城市人口日益增长。 建设包容、可持续、有韧性和安全的城市,对于实现《2030年可持续发展议程》和可持续发展目标至关重要,这是今天联合国高级别会议上发言人们的观点。

这次会议由联合国可持续发展目标治理和竞争力国际组织(UNSDG)领导,是本周举行的高级别政治论坛的周边活动,关注世界各国的城市如何加快实现可持续发展目标,同时展示在城市执行可持续发展目标如何促进向可持续和有弹性的社会转型。

联合国副秘书长兼联合国可持续发展目标治理和竞争力国际组织(UNSDG)主席阿米娜·穆罕默德(Amina Mohammed)主持本次会议,称“城市是经济巨头,预计到2025年前,其国内生产总值占全球总量的88%。然而,城市也是复杂互联的各项挑战的聚集地:制造了超过70%的全球温室气体排放量,使用着全球80%的能源。”她总结,“我们需要让城市化走上正轨,以便实现《2030年可持续发展议程》。”

本次会议为各成员国、城市政府、非国家行为者提供了独特的机会,共同展示他们的创新工作,并阐释联合国系统可以如何支持他们的工作。

巴林住房大臣巴希姆(Basim Bin Yacob AlHamer)先生、喀麦隆班甘特(Bangangté)市长Célestine Ketcha Courtès女士、纽约市长办公室国际事务专员阿贝瓦德娜(Penny Abeywardena)女士、世界城市和地方政府联合组织主席帕克斯·陶(Parks Tau)先生、国际妇女基层网络怀柔委员会主席Violet Shivutse女士讨论,城市和地方行为者如何支持可持续的城市化议程。

联合国开发计划署(UNDP)执行主任兼联合国可持续发展目标治理和竞争力国际组织(UNSDG)副主席阿奇姆·施泰纳强调城市内的不平等,如收入、医疗、教育不平等,指出城市拥有巨大的潜力,尤其是在应对气候变化方面,城市已经发挥了榜样的作用。他呼吁国际社会,释放城市的能量,以帮助解决全球挑战。

联合国人居署执行主任麦慕娜·莫哈德·谢里夫在会上发言称,城市是“当前我们面临的几乎所有全球挑战的前沿阵地。城市需要占据战略核心位置,以解决全球挑战。”未来需要采取新的举措,“以往的城市发展不足以解决问题,”她补充。

媒体联络

联合国开发计划署传播专员Sangita Khadka,sangita.khadka@undp.org,+1 212 906 5043

联合国人居署高级传播顾问Susannah Price,susannah.price@un.org, +254 722719867

关于联合国人居署

联合国人居署在90多个国家支持人民建设城市和人类住区,创建城市未来。40多年来,人居署始终关注城市发展。人居署与各国政府、地方合作伙伴合作实施项目。其项目影响深远,把国际水平的专长与本地的知识相结合,提供及时的、有针对性的解决方案。

关于联合国开发计划署

联合国开发计划署与社会各阶层人民合作,帮助建设国家,抵御危机,推动和维护发展,以提高所有人的生活质量。开发计划署在近170个国家和地区设立机构,提供全球视野和本地洞见,以助于充实人生,建设有韧性的国家。

Cities are engines for achieving the Sustainable Development Goals

By on 07/18/2018

Much of the 2030 Agenda will be ‘fought and won’ in urban centres, where more than half the world’s population live

New York City, July 17 – With the majority of the global population now living in cities and the numbers growing daily, making cities inclusive, sustainable, resilient and safe is critical to achieving the 2030 Agenda and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), according to speakers at a high level UN meeting today.

The event, led by the UN Sustainable Development Group (UNSDG) on the margins of this week’s High-level Political Forum, focused on how the cities of the world are accelerating progress towards the SDGs, as well as showcasing how SDG implementation in cities can contribute to transformation towards sustainable and resilient societies.

Chairing the meeting, UN Deputy Secretary-General and UNSDG Chair Amina Mohammed said that “cities are economic powerhouses with an estimated global GDP share of 88 percent by 2025. However, cities are also locus of complex and interconnected challenges: producing more than 70 percent of the world’s greenhouse gas emissions and using 80 percent of the world’s energy.” She concluded that “we need to get urbanization right to achieve the 2030 Agenda.”

The event provided a unique opportunity for Member States, city authorities and non-state actors to come together to showcase their own innovative work, and to illustrate how the UN system can support these efforts.

Bahrain’s Housing Minister Mr Basim Bin Yacob AlHamer; the Mayor of Bangangté, Cameroon, Ms Célestine Ketcha Courtès; New York City’s Commissioner for International Affairs, Ms Penny Abeywardena; the President of United Cities and Local Governments, Mr Parks Tau; and the Chair of the international women’s grassroots network Huairou Commission, Ms Violet Shivutse, discussed how cities and local actors are championing the sustainable urbanization agenda.

UNDP Administrator and UNSDG Vice-Chair Achim Steiner highlighted inequality within cities on issues like income, health, and education but said cities had enormous potential – notably on addressing climate change where they were already leading by example.  He called on the international community to unleash the power of cities to help solve global challenges.

Executive Director of UN-Habitat, Maimunah Mohd Sharif, told the meeting that cities are “on the frontlines of nearly every global challenge we currently face, and they need to be at the center of our strategy to solve them.” Looking ahead requires new approaches – the “urban development of yesterday will not suffice,” she added.

Media Contacts

Sangita Khadka, Communications Specialist, UNDP, sangita.khadka@undp.org,+1 212 906 5043

Susannah Price, Senior Communication Advisor, UN-Habitat, susannah.price@un.org, +254 722719867

About UN Habitat

UN-Habitat works in over 90 countries supporting people in cities and human settlements for an urban future. The agency has been focusing on urban development for over 40 years. Working with governments and local partners, its high impact projects combine world-class expertise and local knowledge to deliver timely and targeted solutions.

About UNDP

UNDP partners with people at all levels of society to help build nations that can withstand crisis, and drive and sustain the kind of growth that improves the quality of life for everyone. On the ground in nearly 170 countries and territories, we offer global perspective and local insight to help empower lives and build resilient nations.

Download the Press Release below:

Cities are engines for achieving the Sustainable Development Goals

Download 722.63 KB 50 downloads
Main Menu