.

联合国大会呼吁认可非正式住区青年的权力

By on 2017-09-22

纽约,2017922日 —— 在联合国大会上,青年站到了舞台中心,呼吁要摆脱边缘化的处境,进入决策的核心,这不仅基于青年的权利,还基于他们为创建经济社会包容且活跃的社会所付诸的行动。

“人人共有的城市” 会议汇聚肯尼亚、法国、津巴布韦的青年与联合国妇女署、联合国人居署,讨论世界各国领袖如何支持青年有意义地参与所有各级政府的决策,目标是实现 2030 年可持续发展目标(SDGs)和《新城市议程》(NUA)。

会议强调,提供城市空间可以促进青年参与。会前,联合国秘书长在2017年国际妇女节期间访问了肯尼亚内罗毕的玛萨瑞(Mathare)非正式住区。

会议首先放映了一站式中心玛萨瑞青年保护环境组织拍摄的视频,概述了他们为在贫民窟内赢得空间经过的历程,及他们如何通过清理和回收垃圾创建这一空间,这一空间如何成为关乎社区经济社会福祉的核心。

 

青年是进步的核心力

目前,一站式中心和毗邻的足球场是3.5万多居民唯一的公共空间。升任新一届联合国秘书长后,秘书长在访问肯尼亚期间参观的正是这里。他与一站式中心的青年展开对话,为贫民窟足球场揭幕,接见联合国妇女署支持的有政治抱负的女青年。

在播完视频后,研究人员Tone Vesterhus发布了联合国人居署的最新报告《青年、非正式性和公共空间:公共空间对内罗毕Mlango Kubwa青年重要性的定性个案研究》

“研究报告旨在审视公共空间是否有利于改善青年的生活,”Tone Vesterhus说,“报告总结,公共空间当然有利于促进社区发展,但是村里青年的政治策略和外交能力才是社区进步的核心力。”

Tone Vesterhus进而阐述了贫民窟青年面对的空间、社会和政治挑战,构建了会议及随后讨论的基点。

 

社区的力量

联合国人居署执行主任克洛斯博士在会上发表讲话,强调经济、空间和社会公平之间相互联系。他赞扬青年男女通过创建一站式中心重塑尊严所付出的努力。

“公共空间是服务大众的,应该受到社区保护,”克洛斯博士称。“有钱人和有权人将利用一切手段掠夺最后的空间,只有社区的力量才能帮助大众保卫现有的公共空间。”

他进而反思,视频中

玛萨瑞青年如何利用经济手段推动社会公益。

“玛萨瑞青年清理回收垃圾来重建公共空间,现在全体居民都在使用这个空间,”他指出,“城市化可以实现,我们需要的是政治意愿。费用不高,可以实行。”

 

女企业家和女决策者

联合国妇女署方案主任维扎(Maria Noel Vaeza)呼吁性别平等,强调女性面对相互交叉的多重阻碍。“在超过189个国家,女性不能继承土地,这意味着她们不能建房,而住房是基本需求;在76个国家,没有男性签字女性不能贷款,”维扎主任说,“然而大多数企业家都是女性,没有贷款的话就无法开展事业。”

她赞扬玛萨瑞的女人可以踢足球和竞选政治职务,而足球常常是男人包揽的运动。

三个青年代表在会上发言。他们都聚焦促进贫民窟青年的权利,尤其是青年妇女的权利。妇女团体全球网络怀柔委员会的代表Mareli Vincent强调,女性需要参与治理和决策,尤其是关系到可持续发展目标本地化的决策。

“我们需要为女性创建政治空间,”Mareli Vincent女士指出,“可以通过建设并赋权基层妇女网络实现。”

津巴布韦青年正向组织(Zimbabwe Young Positives)是青年领导的组织,致力于改善艾滋病病毒感染者的生活。该组织代表Annah Sango也倡导青年女性参与社区活动,促进“社区承担的社会责任模式”。

 

促进资产为本的社区发展模式

联合国人居署项目协调员Linus Sijenyi发表会议闭幕讲话,强调贫民窟青年面对的挑战,包括失业、疾病、毒品和滥用药物,呼吁切实的解决。

“我们必须直面这些挑战,正如我的兄弟Isaac Musua在Mathare所做的,”Linus Sijenyi谈到Mathare环境组织的视频时指出。“我建议采取以资产为本的方式,如John McKnight的资产为本社区发展模式,以社区已经取得的成功为基础,从而保障所有权和可持续性,赋权青年男女等团体,以期妥善解决他们的需求。”

会议最后明确,所有发言代表一致同意,青年男女在社区发挥领导作用,联合国和其他机构的作用则是支持青年,为他们提供公共空间,并直接支持青年领导的团体和活动。

“真乱,我总说内罗毕真乱。到处混乱、嘈杂,乌烟瘴气,”玛萨瑞一个受访青年在青年非正式报告中说。“但是我总告诉青年……虽然到处都乱,但我们有金子。犯罪不是答案。青年是我们的金子。除了有臭气、垃圾、堵塞的排水管,我们还有金子。”

Call for recognition of power of youth from informal settlements at UN General Assembly

By on 09/22/2017

New York, 22 September 2017 – Youth took centre stage at the United Nations General Assembly, calling to be liberated from the margins and welcomed into the centre of decision-making, based not only on their right to be there but their actions in creating economically and socially inclusive and dynamic societies.

The Cities for All event brought together young people from Kenya, France and Zimbabwe with UN Women and UN-Habitat to discuss how world leaders can support youth’s meaningful engagement in decision making at all levels of government with the goal of achieving the 2030 sustainable development goals (SDGs) and the New Urban Agenda (NUA).

The event highlighted how the provision of urban space can facilitate youth’s engagement. This meeting followed the visit of the UN Secretary-General to the Mathare informal settlement in Nairobi Kenya during the 2017 International Women’s Day.

The session, which began with a video shot by the One Stop Mathare Environmental Youth Conservation Group, outlined the journey they went through to acquire a space in the middle of the slums and how they created in this space through garbage collection and recycling, and how this space became central to the economic and social well-being of the community.

Young people at the core of advancement

Currently the One Stop and adjoining football pitch are the only public space serving a population of more the 35,000 inhabitants. It is the same facility that the Secretary-General visited during his visit to Kenya following his appointment as the new UN Secretary General, and engaged in dialogue with youth from the One Stop, inaugurated the Slum Football Pitch, and met with young women political aspirants supported by UN Women.

Researcher Tone Vesterhus followed the video, launching UN-Habitat’s new report

Youth, Informality And Public Space: A Qualitative Case Study on the Signi cance of Public Space for Youth in Mlango Kubwa, Nairobi.  

 “This research had the aim of examining whether public spaces play a role in improving the lives of young people,” said Vesterhus, “And while concluding that public space certainly does play a role in advancing this community, the political strategies and diplomatic abilities of the young people in the village are at the core of these advancements.”

Vesterhus went on to detail the challenges faced by youth in the slums spatially, socially and politically, framing the session and ensuing conversation.

The strength of communities

UN-Habitat Executive Director Dr. Jon Clos spoke at the session, highlighting the linkages between economic, spatial and social equity. He commended the efforts of the young men and women in reclaiming their dignity through the creation of the One Stop Centre.

“Public spaces are for the public good and should be protected by the community,” said Dr Clos. “The rich and people in authority will use all means to grab the last space and it is only the strength of the communities that will help them defend and protect the available public spaces.”

He went on to reflect on the video from the Mathare youth, and how they used economic means to create a social good.

“The youth in Mathare have cleared and recycled garbage to reclaim the public space which now the entire population is currently using,” he stated, “Urbanization can be done; what we need is the political will. It is not expensive, it is doable.”

Women as entrepreneurs and decision makers

Maria Noel Vaeza, Director of Programme Division for UN Women called for gender equality, highlighting the many intersecting barriers women face.   “In over 189 countries women can’t inherit land, that means they cannot build houses, which is a basic need; in 76 countries women cannot access credit facilities without a man’s signature,” said Director Vaeza, “yet women make up the most entrepreneurs; who without credit facilities cannot implement their initiatives.”

She applauded the fact that in Mathare women were playing football, often represented as an all male sport, and were engaged in running for political office.

Three youth representatives spoke at the session and all focused on promoting the rights of youth living in slums, especially young women. Mureil Vincent, representing the Huairou Commission, a global network of women’s groups, stressed that women need to be included in governance and decision making, especially as decision making related to the localizing of the Sustainable Development Goals.

“We need to create political space for women,” stated Ms. Vincent, “this can be done by building and empowering grassroots women’s networks.”

Annah Sango, representing Zimbabwe Young Positives, a youth-led group fighting to improve the lives of those living with HIV, also advocated for the engagement of young women in the community, promoting “models of social responsibility where the community takes charge”.

Towards an asset-based community development model

Wrapping the session up was Linus Sijenyi, project coordinator for UN-Habitat, who highlighted the challenges faced by youth living in the slums including unemployment, disease and drug and substance abuse, and called for practical solutions.

“We must face these challenges as we saw my brother, Isaac Musua, do in Mathare,” stated Sijenyi, referring to the Mather Environmental video. “I propose an asset based approach, such as John Mcknight’s Asset Based Community Development model, which builds on the successes the community already has, and thus guarantees ownership and sustainability, and empowers groups such as young men and women to adequately address their needs.”

By the end of the session it was clear that all the speakers needed no convincing that young women and men played leadership roles in their communities, and that it was the role of the UN and other agencies to provide support to them both in the provision of public space as well as supporting directly youth-led groups and activities.

“It is messy, I always say that Nairobi is messy. It’s messy, noisy, and has fumes all over,” said one Mathare youth respondent to the Youth Informality report. “But I always tell the youth…that out of all this mess, we have some gold. Crime is not the answer. Youth is our gold. Out of the fumes, the garbage, the blocked drainages, there is some gold.”

Translate »
Main Menu