.

图尔卡纳针对难民和东道社区发起煤块项目

By on 2017-07-07

图尔卡纳,2017 77—— 联合国人居署与世界混农林业中心(ICRAF)一道, 针对图尔卡纳的新难民住区和东道社区共同推出了煤块生产项目, 并承诺解决其能源需求, 从而推广可持续燃料的使用。

据联合国人居署在卡库马营地、图尔卡纳新难民住区和邻近区域进行的社会经济调查显示,薪柴和木炭是卡库马难民营使用的主要烹饪燃料,两种燃料的使用率分别为62.7%和37.3%。因此,使用清洁和可持续能源是改变其生活最为经济实惠的方式。

联合国人居署在参与过程中,从公开会议上遴选出15名来自东道社区的女性。东道社区包含十五个村庄,社区从各村选出一名女性代表参加初步范围界定调查(如敲定满足煤块生产需求的合适场所),并确定用于煤块生产和滚筒式干燥炉的有机材料的主要来源。

2017年6月7日,位于图尔卡纳的新难民住区也有类似行动。该项目的实施将有助于减少木炭和木材燃料的使用,这对减缓森林生态系统的破坏以及改善专题领域大量贫困人口的生计问题而言至关重要。

Briquette project for refugees and host community launched in Turkana

By on 07/10/2017

Kalobeyei, 7 July 2017- UN-Habitat in collaboration with World Agroforestry Center (ICRAF) has launched a project for briquette production in Kalobeyei new refugee settlement and the host community in a commitment to address their energy needs improve access and increase availability of sustainable fuel. The Programme is funded by both Government of Japan and Japan International Research Center for Agricultural Sciences (JIRCAS)

According to the recent socio-economic survey done by UN-Habitat in Kakuma camp, Kalobeyei new refugee settlement and the neighboring area, Woodfuel and charcoal are the main sources of cooking fuel in Kakuma refugee camp, as identified by 62.7% and 37.3% of the respondents respectively. Improving access to a clean and sustainable source of energy can therefore transform their lives by adopting an affordable energy option.

Through the UN-Habitat participatory process, 15 women were selected in the host community in a public meeting. The community was clustered into fifteen villages and one woman representative was selected from each village by the community to participate in the preliminary scoping survey which will include identification of suitable sites for location of the briquette production units and establishing major sources of organic materials for briquette production and drum kilns.

A similar process is expected to take place in the Kalobeyei new refugee settlement on 7th June, 2017 and the benefits from this project are projected to help in combating charcoal burning, use of wood fuel which is key in reducing degradation of forest ecosystems as well as improving the livelihoods of a substantial poor population in the thematic area.

Main Menu