庆祝世界水日:享有水和卫生设施是一项基本人权

By on 2019-03-22

《2019年世界水发展报告》在(瑞士)日内瓦的万国宫举行发布会。照片版权:Graham Alabaster/联合国人居署

内罗毕,2019322—— 在今天庆祝世界水日之际,值得关注的是,仍有数十亿人无法获得安全的饮用水和卫生设施。 这些人被落下,是因为性别、民族、文化和/或社会经济地位等。 排外、歧视、固有的权力不对等、贫困和物质不平等是实现安全的饮用水和卫生设施这项人权、实现《2030年可持续发展议程》中与水相关的目标的主要障碍。

3月19日发布的《2019年世界水发展报告:一个也不落下》是今年世界水日庆祝活动的组成部分。根据该报告,相当一部分贫困的城市居民没有享受到基本服务,或是享受的基本服务不足,这部分人口未被计入(“在视线不可及处”)目前估算基本服务覆盖面的现行办法。该报告第六章关注城市、城市化和非正式住区,指出某些问题在于特定城市环境的“非正式地位”,及由此产生的被“官方”数据排除在外的情况。其他问题的根源在于,采用的调查方法未把服务供应的不公平现象考虑在内。

由于贫困和弱势的群体不能一概而论,安全的饮用水和卫生设施供应的相关政策就需要区分对待不同人群,设计有针对性的行动来分别处理。按性别、年龄、收入人群、民族、文化、地理位置、社会包容状况分析等分列的数据是重要工具,决定了哪些群体被“落下”的风险最大及其原因。在资源有限的情况下,定向服务于基本服务供应最差的人群是明智之举。

肯尼亚马萨瑞非正式住区居民取水。照片版权:朱利叶斯·穆文卢(Julius Mwelu)/联合国人居署

在庆祝世界水日的致辞中,联合国人居署执行主任麦慕娜·莫哈德·谢里夫女士说,“几乎所有的人口净增长都发生在城市,全世界正在日益城市化。因此,可持续发展的挑战在城市日益艰巨,尤其是在人口增长和城市化速度最快的低收入和中等收入国家。缺水是全民基本服务供应和可持续发展的制约因素。总体上,全球面对季节性缺水问题的城市居民人口数预计将从2000年的近5亿增至2050年的19亿。这个问题在非正式住区更严峻,在那里,基本的饮用水和卫生设施需求都难以满足。其居民常常不被官方体系承认,更重要的是在饮用水和卫生设施供应方面被‘落下’”。

2010年7月28日,联合国大会通过历史性的决议,承认“享有安全的清洁饮用水和卫生设施是一项人权,只有实现此项人权,才能充分享受生命权和其它人权。”国际人权法规定各国必须致力于实现为所有人平等地提供饮用水和卫生设施,并优先考虑弱势群体。

实现安全的饮用水和卫生设施这项人权,要求提供基本服务,做到物质便利、公平廉价、安全、文化中不排斥。

“一个也不落下”是《2030年可持续发展议程》的核心使命,旨在让所有国家的所有人都受益于社会经济发展,做到全面实现人权。

As the World Water Day is celebrated, access to water and sanitation is still a human right

By on 03/22/2019

During the launch of the World Water Development report 2019 at the Palais des Nations in Geneva (Switzerland). Photo©Graham Alabaster/UN-Habitat

Nairobi, 22 March 2019 – As the World Water Day is marked today, it is worth noting that billions still lack safe water and sanitation facilities. These people are being left behind for reasons related to their gender, ethnicity, culture and/or socioeconomic status, among others. Exclusion, discrimination, entrenched power asymmetries, poverty and material inequalities are among the main obstacles to fulfilling the human rights to water and sanitation and achieving the water-related goals of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

According to the United Nations World Water Development Report 2019: Leaving No One Behind launched on March 19 as part of the World Water Day celebrations, a significant proportion of unserved and under-served urban residents in vulnerable situations are not counted (‘below the radar’) in current methods used for estimating service coverage. Chapter six of the report is on Cities, urbanization and informal settlements. It indicates that some of the problems lie in the ‘informal status’ of certain urban settings, and their consequent exclusion from ‘official’ statistics. Other problems result from survey methodologies that do not include inequities in service provision.

As poor and vulnerable groups are not homogeneous, policies regarding water supply and sanitation need to distinguish between different populations and design specific actions to address each of them. Disaggregated data with respect to gender, age, income groups, ethnicity, culture, geography and social inclusion analyses are key tools in determining which groups are at greatest risk of being ‘left behind’, and why. When resources are limited, it makes sense to target areas where populations have the least access to services.

Residents access water in Mathare informal settlements, Kenya. Photo©Julius Mwelu/UN-Habitat

In a statement to mark the day, UN-Habitat Executive Director Ms. Maimunah Shariff said, “nearly all net population growth is taking place in cities and the world is becoming increasingly urbanized. Sustainable development challenges will therefore be increasingly acute in cities, particularly in the lower- and middle-income countries where population growth and the pace of urbanization are greatest. Water scarcity is a constraint to universal basic service delivery and sustainable development. Overall, the number of urban dwellers worldwide living with seasonal water shortages is forecast to grow from close to 500 million people in 2000 to 1.9 billion in 2050. The situation is worse in informal settlements where basic water and sanitation needs are barely met. Residents are often not recognized as part of the formal system, and most importantly “left behind” in terms of access to water and sanitation services”.

On 28 July 2010, the United Nations General Assembly adopted a historical resolution recognizing “the right to safe and clean drinking water and sanitation as a human right is essential for the full enjoyment of life and all human rights” International human rights law obliges state to work towards achieving universal access to water and sanitation for all, without discrimination, while prioritizing those most in need.

Fulfilment of the human rights to water and sanitation requires that the services be available, physically accessible, equitably affordable, safe and culturally acceptable.

‘Leaving no one behind’ is at the heart of the commitment of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, which aims to allow all people in all countries to benefit from socioeconomic development and to achieve the full realization of human rights.

Main Menu