在马拉维毁于战火后,菲律宾民众出席新家园的开工典礼

By on 2019-02-18

Licayan Aragasi女士(右)与共建会的伙伴们出席开工典礼,对项目给予全力支持。(照片版权:联合国人居署/2019年/Jomari Guillermo)

菲律宾棉兰老岛马拉维市,20192—— 一大早,在两年前菲律宾南部城市马拉维的战火中失去家园的民众聚到马拉维的 Barangay Dulay 地区,出席新家园的开工典礼。

他们从疏散中心和临时住所赶来,有人花了三个小时才回到马拉维。 马拉维是菲律宾最大的穆斯林城市之一,位于首都马尼拉东南800千米。 典礼上,人们排起长队,座无虚席。 他们激动地挥舞着旗子,举着欢迎横幅。

2017年5月起,激战持续了五个月,马拉维大片地区毁于战火,上万人逃离家园。现在,马拉维正在慢慢重建起来。日本支持的马拉维重建住房和生计项目将为失去一切的民众提供1500所新住房和10个社区基础设施项目中心。

联合国人居署的这一项目于去年启动,推行人民进程的举措,由流离失所的民众主导家园和社区的重建工作。他们接受的培训内容有社区行动规划、项目和财务管理、建设、采购、生计活动、和平发展等。

作为流离失所者,64岁的Farhannah Madid女士是共建会的一员,是Barangay South Madaya的教师。她赞扬了该项目的参与式进程。“这项举措积极且有趣,人

们都参与了项目的实施。众人合力胜一人之力,”她说。

在这个总价1000万美元的项目的开工典礼上,日本驻菲律宾大使馆经济事务部长Makoto Iyoti先生表示,对双方的伙伴关系、对菲律宾精神充满信心。

“该项目将使马拉维人民有机会重建家园,再次拥有自己的社区。项目将支持生计和社区发展,帮助人民自力更生,营造人民理应享有的更美好的未来,”Makoto Iyori先生说。

菲律宾政府通过社会住房金融公司购置了两个地块,位于距马拉维市政厅几千米远的Barangay West Dulay和Dulay Proper。上述地区将建设成900户居民的家园,并为余下的600户居民住宅建设用地选址。

出席开工典礼的另一位共建会成员是Licayan Aragasi女士。她专程前来,以示对项目的支持。

“我们看到了所有机构和组织为了使这个项目落地付出的努力和真诚的态度。作为回报,我们将竭尽所能,贡献力量,建设崭新的、和平的、更美好的社区,”她说。

安全帽和铁锹象征着建筑工人未来的工作。这些工人将从各共建会社区中招募。(照片版权:联合国人居署/2019年/Jomari Guillermo)

1500户居民通过培训课程了解了该项目。目前正在组织他们加入业主协会(HOAs),每个协会包含48户居民。

人居署驻菲律宾国家项目经理Christopher Rollo先生说,项目的全过程将动员业主从始至终积极参与。

“人居署和所有合作伙伴将与业主一道,执行项目的每一步骤,实现创建更美好的马拉维、营造马拉维人民更美好生活的梦想,”他强调。

社会住房金融公司总裁Arnolfo B. Cabling律师强调,该项目不仅仅旨在提供住房。

“我们想要建设、规划,与你们共同梦想,打造包容性的菲律宾社区。为使项目成功,所有人都应贡献力量,亲身参与。这个项目的未来在我们手中。”

一家业主协会的主席Jamila Asama女士感谢马拉维穆斯林市政府为该项目“搭桥”,感谢当地居民收容共建会民众迁入他们的社区。

马拉维市市长Majul Gandamra先生说,他们期待未来与人居署合作,开展项目修缮马拉维市。

人居署曾采用同一举措重建住房和社区,包括在2013年11月台风海燕侵袭菲律宾后,及在冲突后的阿富汗、巴基斯坦和斯里兰卡等。

关注重建马拉维脸谱网页面(Rebuilding Marawi Facebook Page)了解项目的最新进展。

After heavy fighting destroyed their city, Filipino families come together for ground breaking at the site of their new homes

By on 02/18/2019

Ms. Licayan Aragasi (right) and fellow homepartners attend the groundbreaking ceremony to show their full support for the project. (Photo @UN-Habitat/2019/Jomari Guillermo)

Marawi City, Mindanao, Philippines, February 2019 – From early morning, families whose homes were destroyed in the heavy fighting in Marawi in the southern Philippines almost two years ago, gathered in the Barangay Dulay Proper district of Marawi for the groundbreaking ceremony for their new houses.

They came from evacuation centres and transitory shelters, some travelling up to three hours to come back to Marawi, one of the country’s largest Islamic cities 800 kilometres southeast of the capital Manila. There were long queues, every stackable chair was occupied, and people were excitedly waving flags and holding up welcome banners.

During five months of heavy fighting from May 2017, large swathes of the city were destroyed and tens of thousands of people fled. The city is slowly being rebuilt and the Japan-supported Rebuilding Marawi Shelter and Livelihood Project will provide 1,500 new homes and 10 community infrastructure projects centres for those who lost everything.

The UN-Habitat project, which began last year, uses the People’s Process approach in which the displaced families lead the rebuilding of their homes and communities, They are trained on community-action planning, project and financial management, construction, procurement, livelihood activities, and peace development.

One of the displaced, known as homepartners, Ms. Farhannah Madid, aged 64, a teacher from Barangay South Madaya praised the participatory process. “This is a really positive and interesting approach because the people are involved in the implementation. A thousand hands are better than one,” she said.

During the groundbreaking ceremony for the USD10 million project, Mr. Makoto Iyori, Minister for Economic Affairs of the Embassy of Japan in the Philippines, expressed confidence in the partnership and in the Filipino spirit.

“The project will give the people of Marawi a chance to rebuild their homes and have their community once again. Livelihood and community development support will be given to help them get back on their feet, leading to a brighter future they deserve,” Mr. Iyori said.

The Philippine Government, through the Social Housing Finance Corporation, bought two sites at Barangay West Dulay and Dulay Proper, a few kilometres from Marawi City Hall, where homes for 900 families will be built and the land for the remaining 600 is being selected.

Another homepartner at the ground breaking ceremony, Ms. Licayan Aragasi, came to show her commitment to the process.

“We see the efforts and sincerity of all agencies and organizations that made this project possible. In return, we will do our best and our part to build a new peaceful, better community,” she said.

Hard hats and shovels symbolizing the future work of construction workers who will come from the homepartner communities (Photo @UN-Habitat/2019/Jomari Guillermo)

The project has been introduced to the 1,500 families through orientation sessions and they are being organized into Homeowners’ Associations (HOAs) consisting of 48 families each.

Mr. Christopher Rollo, UN-Habitat Country Programme Manager said the homeowners would be actively involved in the whole process from beginning to end.

“UN-Habitat and all the partners will be with them on every step of the way in achieving the dream of a better Marawi and better lives for Maranaos (the people of Marawi),” he emphasized.

Attorney Arnolfo B. Cabling, Social Housing Finance Corporation President, emphasized that the project was about more than providing shelter.

“We want to build, plan, and dream with you in building an inclusive Filipino community. For this project to succeed, everyone has to contribute and be involved. The future of this project is in our hands.”

Ms. Jamila Asama, president of one of the HOAs thanked the Islamic City Government of Marawi for acting as the “bridge” for the project, as well as local residents for accepting the family homepartners into their community.

The Marawi City Mayor, Mr. Majul Gandamra, said they looked forward to working with UN-Habitat in future projects to rehabilitate the city.

UN-Habitat used the same approach in rebuilding houses and communities after Typhoon Haiyan that hit the Philippines in November 2013 and in post-conflict situations in Afghanistan, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.

Follow the Rebuilding Marawi Facebook Page for project updates.

 

Main Menu