.

非洲领导人致力于与青年携手转变非洲

By on 2017-05-16

面对青年濒临贫困的挑战, 卢旺达政府做出应对, 举办转变非洲峰会(Transform Africa Summits)。 这一系列峰会致力于推进整个非洲的技术创新, 注重发挥青年在就业和科技领域的创新力, 目标是改善青年及其所在社区的生活。

建设城市未来向青年提供机会,利用科技,发展相关创新手段,自主创业。青年互联会议在转变非洲峰会期间举行,汇聚了马里总统易卜拉欣·布巴卡·凯塔(Ibrahim Boubacar Keita)、卢旺达共和国青年和信息产业部部长让·菲尔贝·恩森吉马纳(Jean Philbert Nsengimana)、青年代表、私营部门代表和联合国代表等。青年互联会议的目标是探索科技前沿促进青年发展的机遇。

卢旺达总统保罗·卡加梅(Paul Kagame)在会议讲话中指出:“我们需要新一代的问题解决者,更有远见,更有智慧。”

非洲没能实现应有的繁荣,这是因为非洲的城市太小,彼此没有联系。这一情况正在迅速转变,未来,非洲有望成为地球上增长、创新、机遇的伟大中心。

会议的焦点之一是如何发挥青年的创新潜力。卢旺达政府发起青年互联项目(YouthConnekt),致力于发挥卢旺达青年的潜力。青年互联项目作为一个平台,旨在让青年相互沟通,并与公共、私营、公民社会、国际组织相互联系,从而促进青年的公民发展和社会经济发展。从2013年5月项目启动起来,卢旺达国内外的4万多名青年参加了青年互联谷歌项目及其他项目。

卢旺达政府和联合国人居署推出的另一个项目是位于卢旺达Kimisigara的一站式青年资源中心。自该中心于2011年启用起来,超过30万名青年通过该中心参加了各类项目,获得了其他服务,如信息通信技术培训和医疗服务等。

会议承认,制定城市的技术解决方案而不提高技术知识和公民能力,将无法带来可持续的变革。联合国人居署认为,培养“智慧公民”同时创建智慧城市是发展可持续、包容性城市的第一步。

青年高失业率是非洲的一大挑战。虽然非洲经济迅猛增长,但是非洲大陆无法在正式和非正式部门为青年制造足够多的就业机会。在撒哈拉沙漠以南非洲地区,十分之九的劳动青年是贫民,或近乎贫穷,而劳动年龄的城市人口相比其他地区的劳动年龄人口养活着更多的家庭成员。估计目前有8亿青年平均日工资不足2美元,只有约420万青年享有金融服务。2016年至2030年,预计全球需要增加4.7亿份工作,提供给劳动力市场的新人。

African Leaders seek to Transform Africa through connecting with youth

By on 05/16/2017

–Faced with the challenges of youth living on edge of poverty, the government of Rwanda has stepped up and hosted the Transform Africa Summits. This series of summits seeks to advance technological innovation across Africa, through focusing on unlocking the innovation of youth in jobs and technology with the goal of improving their and their communities lives.
Building cities of the future provides opportunities for youth to use technologies and develop relevant innovations; to create their own jobs. The Youth Connect session, held during the Transform Africa Summit, brought together the President of Mali Ibrahim Boubacar Keita, Jean Philbert Nsengimana, Minister of Youth and ICT, Republic of Rwanda, and representatives of youth, the private sector and the United Nations. The goal of the session was to explore the opportunities on the frontiers of technology with regards to youth development.

In a message to the participants, President Paul Kagame of Rwanda said: “We need a new generation of problem solvers, who see further and work smarter.
Africa is not as prosperous as it should be because our cities are too small and disconnected. This situation is changing rapidly and Africa looks set to emerge as one of the planet’s great centres of growth, innovation, and opportunity in the generations ahead.

One of the focuses of the session became how the innovative potential of youth could be harnessed. The government of Rwanda has launched the YouthConnekt programme in response as a way to unlock Rwandan youths potential. YouthConnekt is a platform that aims at bringing youth in touch among themselves and between them and public, private, civil society and international organizations that work to promote youth’s civic and socio-economic development. Since its launch in May 2013, more than 40,000 youth in Rwanda and abroad have participated in YouthConnekts Google Hangouts and other programmes.

Another initiative of the Gobernment of Rwanda and UN-Habitat is the One Stop Youth Reouces Centres based in Kimisigara, Rwanda. Through this Centre over 300,000 youth since its inception in 2011 have accessed a range of programmes and other services such as ICT training and health services.

It has been recognized that developing technological solutions for cities without as well advancing the technological knowledge and capacity of the citizenry does not bring about sustainable change. UN-Habitat believes that creating “smart citizens” in parallel to the creation of smart cities is the first step in developing sustainable and inclusive cities.

The high rate of youth unemployment is a major challenge for Africa. Despite the strong growth performance of Africa economies, the continent has been unable to create sufficient jobs in both the formal and informal sector for youth. Nine out of ten working youth in sub-Saharan Africa are poor or near poor, and yet the working-age urban population now supports more family members than comparative populations elsewhere. It is estimated that 800 million youth live on less than US $2 a day and only about 4.2 million have access to financial services. It is projected that globally 470 million more jobs are needed now globally for new entrants to the labor market between 2016 and 2030.

Translate »
Main Menu