一种新的城市分类方法显示出非洲南部国家的城市化程度超出预想

By on 2019-02-18

卢萨卡,20191—— 南部非洲很多国家以不同方式界定城市或农村地区。 目前的方法所涉及的标准包括人口规模和密度、 行政职能、 经济目的和政治界定。 这显著影响了这些国家的城市地区数量和生活在这些地区的人口比例。 当使用共同的方法来定义城市区域时,次区域比原本认为的更加城市化。 这一发现于2019年1月22日至25日在卢萨卡举行的技术研讨会上公布,来自于该次区域的 12 个国家代表出席了会议。 这些结果是通过使用统一的城市分类方法 – 即城市化水平(DEGURBA)得出的。 根据这一分类,相比于两个国家 / 官方认可的城市,博茨瓦纳有七个都市 / 城市区域;南非有 67 个城市,而国家认可的却不到 20 个。

DEGURBA 方法根据一平方公里的均匀网格(正方形)评估一个区域是城市、城镇还是农村区域。 每个网格的特征根据其人口密度进行体现,连续网格所呈现的总人口数决定了它们是共同构成城市、城镇还是农村地区。

联合国可持续发展目标11号召建设具有包容性、安全性、韧性和可持续性的城市,报告其发展进程的关键挑战之一是缺乏全球认可和适用的城市或城市地区定义。2016年“人居三”大会期间欧盟和其他合作伙伴做出的全球自愿承诺为推进全球统一的都市/城市和农村地区定义工作提供了一种途径。通过这一承诺,在2020年向联合国统计司提出正式提案之前,会征求各国的意见。自2018年10月以来,联合国人居署、欧洲委员会、联合国粮食及农业组织(FAO)和做出这一自愿承诺的其他合作伙伴在非洲组织了三次区域磋商。2019年3月至8月期间,将在拉丁美洲和加勒比及亚洲地区再举行四次磋商。

来自国家统计局、民间社会、大学和负责规划、城市发展、住房、地方政府和财政的部门代表参加了卢萨卡研讨会。在研讨会开幕式上,赞比亚住房和基础设施发展部常务秘书 Charles Mushota 先生指出,全球性的定义将大大有助于正在为2020年人口普查做准备的赞比亚实施系统措施,来进行地方监测和报告城市可持续发展目标、国家城市议程指标以及《非洲2063年议程》。另外,他强调了统一定义在监测和做出能够促进社会包容力,提供基本服务,创建宜居城市,改善互联互通和加强韧性的明智决策方面的重要性。负责南部非洲地区若干国家的联合国人居署项目经理 Thomas Chiramba 先生指出,迫切需要一个统一的城市定义,以便各国能够准确地确定其住区类型,比较数据,监测各种发展议程并依据信息做出明智的决定,从而实现可持续城市化。

那些参加统一城市定义的区域磋商会的国家预计将对 DEGURBA 进行全国性和仅次全国性的审查,并在可能的情况下建立必要的系统,从而能够将这种方法用作城市可持续发展目标监测和报告的机制。联合国人居署、欧盟委员会和联合国粮农组织将继续让主要参与方试点应用 DEGURBA 并支持其做出调整以适应当地情况,他们围绕城市可持续发展目标监测开展的更广泛活动,这是其中的组成部分。

A new city classification method shows Southern African countries more urbanized than thought

By on 02/18/2019

LUSAKA, January 2019 – Countries in Southern Africa define their urban or rural areas in diverse ways. Current approaches use criteria such as population size and density, administrative functions, economic purpose and political delineations. This significantly affects both the number of urban areas and the share of population living in such areas in these countries. When a common approach is used to define urban areas, the sub-region is more urbanized than previously thought. This discovery was unveiled during a technical workshop held in Lusaka between 22 and 25 January 2019, and attended by representatives from 12 countries in the sub-region. These results were based on application of a unified city classification approach known as Degree of Urbanization (DEGURBA). Based on this classification, Botswana has seven cities/urban areas compared to the two nationally/officially recognized cities, and South Africa has 67 cities against fewer than 20 nationally recognized ones.

The DEGURBA approach evaluates whether an area is a city, town or rural area based on uniform grids (squares) measuring one square kilometers. The character of each grid is assessed based on its population density, and the total population of continuous grids determines if they collectively constitute cities, towns or rural areas.

One of the key challenges in reporting on progress on Sustainable Development Goal 11 which calls for inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable cities, is the lack of a globally agreed and applicable definition of a city or urban areas. A global voluntary commitment by the European Union and other partners during Habitat III in 2016 provided a way to advance work towards a globally harmonized city/ urban and rural areas definition. Through the commitment, countries are being consulted before an official proposal is made to the United Nations Statistics Division in 2020. Since October 2018, three regional consultations have been organized in Africa by UN-Habitat, the European Commission, the UN Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) and other partners that form part of this voluntary commitment. Four more consultations will be held in Latin America and the Caribbean and Asia regions between March and August 2019.

The Lusaka workshop was attended by representatives from national statistics offices, civil society, universities and ministries in charge of planning, urban development, housing, local government and finance. At the opening of the workshop, Mr. Charles Mushota, Permanent Secretary at the Zambian Ministry of Housing and Infrastructure Development, noted that a global definition would significantly help his country, which was preparing for the 2020 census, to implement systems for local monitoring and reporting on urban SDGs and NUA indicators, and the Africa 2063 agenda. Among other things, he highlighted the importance of a harmonized city definition in monitoring and making informed decisions that promote social inclusion, provision of basic services, creation of livable cities, improving connectivity and strengthening resilience. Mr. Thomas Chiramba, UN-Habitat’s programme manager who is in charge of several countries in the southern Africa region, noted that a harmonized city definition is urgently needed so that countries can accurately identify their types of settlements, compare data, monitor various development agendas and make informed decisions to bring about sustainable urbanization

Countries participating in the regional consultations on harmonized city definition are expected to undertake national and sub-national reviews of the DEGURBA and, if possible, put in place the necessary systems to adopt this approach as a mechanism for urban SDGs monitoring and reporting. UN-Habitat, the European Commission and FAO will continue to engage key actors in piloting the application of the DEGURBA and support its local adaptability, as part of their wider activities around urban SDGs monitoring

Main Menu