.
Don't Miss >

    تسلّم 200000 نازح ومضيفيهم مرافق الخدمات الأساسية مثل المياه والصرف الصحي ووسائل السيطرة على الفيضانات والمواد الزراعية من حكومة اليابان وموئل الأمم المتحدة.

    By on يناير 19, 2017

    توضح مشاريع موئل الأمم المتحدة في جنوب السودان أن البنية التحتية والتخطيط التشاركي يوفران نهجاً وقائياً – وليس علاجياً – لحل النزاعات طويلة الأمد وبناء السلام.

    جوبا، 16 يناير 2017 – برنامج الأمم المتحدة للمستوطنات البشرية (موئل الأمم المتحدة) قام بتوفير تدابير الوقاية من الفيضانات والمياه و الصرف الصحي وسبل المعيشة، بقيمة 2.4 مليون دولار، إلى 200000 من النازحين والعائدين والمجتمعات المضيفة في جنوب السودان.

    بتمويل من حكومة اليابان، قام موئل الأمم المتحدة بتدعيم أوضاع النازحين والعائدين من خلال توفير سبل الوقاية من الفيضانات وتوصيل المياه ومرافق الصرف الصحي وسبل المعيشية في المشروع الذي استمر لمدة عامين تقريباً حتى ديسمبر 2016. وفي نهاية المشروع، قام ممثلين من حكومة اليابان وموئل الأمم المتحدة بالإضافة الي وكيل وزير الأراضي والإسكان والتنمية الحضرية، والقائم بأعمال وكيل الشؤون الإنسانية وإدارة الكوارث، بإفتتاح هذه المرافق المجتمعية التي تم انشائها كثمرة للحوار المجتمعي الناجح.

    يعد المشروع بمثابة رابطة بين النازحين والعائدين والمجتمعات المضيفة، ورمزاً لتعزيز الإندماج في المجتمع. وتشمل المرافق التي تم تسليمها إلى المجتمعات المحلية في ضواحي مدينتي جوبا وواو أنظمة أنابيب لإمدادات المياه والمراحيض، وأنظمة التحكم في الفيضانات، و توسيع الطرق والدرجات، ومركز اجتماعي، و معدات زراعية ل200000 من النازحين و اللاجئين والمجتمعات المضيفة لهم. حيث تمثل الهدف من المشروع مساعدة السكان على بناء مجتمعات متكاملة أكثر مرونة مع تأمين مصادر للرزق.

    في الوقت الراهن، واحد من كل أربعة في جنوب السودان يواجه خطر النزوح وعدم كفاية المرافق. النازحين والعائدين خاصة يجدون أنفسهم في نهاية المطاف مقيمين في الأراضي الهامشية الأكثر عرضة للفيضانات. وفي الوقت نفسه، تزداد ندرة فرص كسب العيش في المجتمعات. كما تواجه البلاد نقصاً غذائياً حاداً،و تدهور مستمر في الاقتصاد، و لايزال النضال المستمر لإعادة إدماج النازحين والعائدين مع المجتمعات المضيفة.

    لفتت المحنة التي يعاني منها عدد كبير من الأسر المتضررة من جراء حوادث الفيضانات المتكررة والخلافات بين المستوطنين والوافدين الجدد على مدى السنوات انتباه حكومة اليابان. جمع موئل الأمم المتحدة 2.4 مليون دولار لتنفيذ المشروع في “جوري ” و “أليك شوك”، مناطق الإمتداد العمراني التي تعاني من ترددات عالية من الفيضانات. وهكذا، كان المشروع بمثابة اختبار لتسهيل التسوية والتكامل على أساس دائم بين النازحين والعائدين في مجتمعاتهم.

    تم اتخاذ التدابير الرئيسية اللازمة لتعزيز التكامل و تحقيق منظمة مجتمعية شاملة، والتخطيط التشاركي لجميع أصحاب المصلحة، والتدريب لحماية وإدارة الأصول المجتمعية بحيث يمكن استشعار فوائد الخدمات العامة من قبل الجميع.

    في ملاحظاتها الرئيسية خلال مراسم التسليم في ديسمبر 2016، صرحت السيدة رودا كوش اكول ممثلة وزير الأراضي والإسكان، والتنمية الحضرية: “يمكنك أن ترى سعادة المواطنين في جوري مما يشير إلى أنه قد تم قبول هذا المشروع بالفعل من قبل المجتمع. نحن ممتنون جداً لحكومة اليابان لهذه المساعدة ونأمل ان تكون بداية للمزيد من التدخلات لتطوير البنية التحتية في جوبا وأجزاء أخرى من جنوب السودان “.

    كما صرح شيجيرو هامانو، القائم بالأعمال في سفارة اليابان في جنوب السودان في كلمته بأن اليابان ملتزمة بالعمل مع المجتمع الدولي، بما في ذلك موئل الأمم المتحدة، لمساعدة حكومة وشعب جنوب السودان لإدارة تحديات ما بعد الصراع وتطوير البنية التحتية لتلبية الاحتياجات الأساسية باستخدام النماذج والتجارب اليابانية، وليس فقط لمكافحة كوارث الفيضانات ولكن أيضا لتحقيق التنمية المستدامة.

    “في الوقت الذي يمثل تحدياً حاسماً لبناء الأمة في جنوب السودان، مع وجود 3 ملايين من النازحين يجب استيعابهم مرة أخرى في المجتمعات، يعطينا هذا المشروع لمحة عن كيفية التعامل مع
    الكوارث ويبشر بقدوم السلام من خلال استعادة  تماسك المجتمع عبر إدارة متناغمة من الأصول المجتمعية. وآمل مخلصا أن تترك هذه الأمة نموذجاً مثالياً تماماً مثلما فعلت جوري لجعل اسم جنوب السودان مرادفاً لإعادة الإدماج وإعادة الإعمار “، أكد السيد شيجيرو.

    وقال كريستيان أوكافور، مدير مشروع موئل الأمم المتحدة في جنوب السودان: “يسرنا أن نعلن أن هذه التدخلات تعمل بشكل جيد. نحن ننظر أبعد من الحلول السريعة. نريد الحلول التي تساعد النازحين والعائدين والمجتمعات المضيفة أن يصبحوا أكثر اعتماداً علي النفس وأقل اعتمادا على الحكومة وغيرها من وكالات المساعدة الإنسانية في المدى الطويل. هذا هو الهدف الرئيسي للنهج المجتمعي التشاركي لموئل الأمم المتحدة”.

    “يمكنك أن ترى أن الناس خرجوا جميعاً، الأطفال، الرجال، النساء، الصغار والكبار جميعهم هنا ليظهروا سعادتهم بهذا المشروع”، صرح بيتيا ناثانيل، رئيس المجتمع المحلي في جوري.

    Menu Title

200,000 IDPs and their hosts take over basic service facilities such as water, sanitation, flood control and agricultural materials from Japan and UN-Habitat

By on 01/18/2017

UN-Habitat’s projects in South Sudan show that infrastructure and participatory planning provide a preventative – rather than curative – approach to long-term conflict resolution and peace building.

Juba, 16 January 2017 – The United Nations Programme responsible for human settlements (UN-Habitat) has delivered flood protection measures, water and sanitation and livelihood materials, worth $2.4 million, to 200,000 internally-displaced persons (IDPs), returnees and host communities in South Sudan.

With funding from the Government of Japan, UN-Habitat supported living conditions of IDPs and returnees with flood prevention, water and sanitation and livelihood facilities in a project that lasted for nearly two years until December 2016. At the end of the project, representatives of the Government of Japan and UN-Habitat, together with the Under-secretary of Lands, Housing and Urban Development, and the Acting Under-secretary of Humanitarian Affairs and Disaster Management, inaugurated these communal facilities that have been installed as a fruit of successful community dialogue.

They serve as a nexus between IDPs and returnees and host communities and a symbol of promotion of community integration. The facilities handed over to the local communities in the outskirts of cities of Juba and Wau include communal piped water supply systems, toilet facilities, flood control systems, community road expansion and grading, a community centre, and agricultural implement and equipment for 200,000 IDPs and refugees, and their host communities. The facility provision was intended to help residents build a more resilient and integrated communities with secure sources of livelihood.

Currently, one in four South Sudanese faces displacement and inadequate hygiene conditions. IDPs and returnees in particular end up finding themselves settling in marginal land most prone to flooding. At the same time, livelihood opportunities in communities are getting scarcer. The country has been facing critical food shortages, a down-spiraling economy, and a continued struggle of reintegrating IDPs and returnees with host communities.

The plight of the large number of households affected by the recurrent flood incidences and disputes between settlers and newcomers over the years came to the attention of the Government of Japan. UN-Habitat solicited $2.4 million funds to implement a project in Gureii and Alel Chok, areas of recent urban sprawl with high frequencies of flooding. Thus, the project was a test to facilitation of settlement and integration on a permanent basis of IDPs and returnees into their respective communities.

Key measures to enable integration were strengthened inclusive community organization, participatory planning of all stakeholders, and training to protect and manage communal assets so that benefits of public services are felt by all.

In her keynote remarks at the hand-over ceremony in December 2016, Ms Roda Kuch Achol representing the Minister of Lands, Housing, and Urban Development, said: “You can see the happiness of the citizens of Gureii indicating that this project has really been accepted by the community. We are very thankful to the Government of Japan for this assistance and hope that this is a beginning of more infrastructure development interventions in Juba and other parts of South Sudan.”

In his congratulatory remarks, Shigeru Hamano, Charge d’Affaires of the Embassy of Japan in South Sudan , said that Japan is committed to working with the international community, including UN-Habitat, in helping the Government and the people of South Sudan manage post-conflict challenges and develop infrastructure to meet basic needs using Japanese models and experiences, not only to combat flood disasters but also to bring about sustainable development.

“At a critically challenging time for South Sudan’s nation-building, with 3 million displaced population to be accommodated back in communities, our project gives us a hint to how we may cope with man-made disasters and herald the advent of peace by restoring community cohesion through the harmonious management of communal assets. I sincerely hope that this nation leaves an exemplary case just like Gurei did to render the name South Sudan a synonym for reintegration and reconstruction,” Mr. Shigeru emphasized.

Christian Okafor, UN-Habitat South Sudan’s project manager, said: “We are pleased to announce that these interventions are working well. We are looking beyond quick-fix solutions. We want solutions that help IDPs, returnees and host communities become more self-reliant and less dependent on Government and other humanitarian assistance agencies in the long run. This is the main objective of the UN- Habitat’s community led participatory approach.”

“You can see the people have come out, all the children, men, women, young and old, are here to show you that they are happy with this project,” said Pitya Nathaniel, Chief of Rombur Community- Gureii.

Translate »
Main Menu