改善十亿贫民窟居民生活运动在欧洲揭幕

By on 2016-07-02

Up for slum dwellers- transforming a billion lives campaign unveiled in Europe

瑞士日内瓦,201672日 —— 为了筹集资金应对贫民窟的挑战, 改善十亿贫民窟居民生活运动第一次在欧盟国家揭幕。 该运动是雄心勃勃的全球性公共与私营伙伴关系, 通过联合国人居署的世界城市运动(WUC)框架实施。

“目前,全球有16亿人无法享有充足的住房。其中10亿人居住在非正式住区,约四分之一人口的生活环境有害健康、安全、繁荣和机会,”联合国人居署方案司司长阿利乌尼·巴迪阿尼(Alioune Badiane)先生说。

“缓解城市地区的不平等现象,把贫民窟居民纳入更宽泛的城市肌理,使我们的城市更繁荣、可持续,”他补充道。该运动将筹集资金,采取切实行动,如废弃物管理、供水和环境卫生、道路和公共空间、社区空间和小区照明、创造就业等,改善贫民窟居民的生活条件。“该运动还提供平台,在关系不睦的社区之间搭建桥梁。利用本地资源和工具进行贫民窟改造,可以成为公众参与的有力工具。”

“我们愿借助日内瓦和平建设平台网站,进一步推广该运动的主要行动和讯息,”日内瓦和平建设平台执行协调员Achim Wennmann博士称。该运动还将作为平台,供全球北方和南方的参与国交流贫民窟改造方面的知识和经验。联合国欧洲经济委员会(UNECE)指出,25年来,非正式住区日益成为该地区重要且紧迫的事务。

2007年,联合国欧洲经济委员会(UNECE)20个成员国的非正式住区人口估计有5000万。此外,联合国人居署预计,到2030年,需要提供充足住房的人口将再增加30亿,约占全球人口的40%,以保障其充足住房权。这意味着,每天需要新增96150个经济适用住房单位,即每小时增加4000个。未来的任务如此艰巨,要求紧急采取行动,以保障贫民窟居民人口不再因为缺乏充足住房而增加。参与式贫民窟改造方案将主持这项运动,并展示其成果。

该方案在非洲、加勒比地区和太平洋的35个国家、190个城市推行。方案支持参与国实现《千年发展目标》在水、卫生和贫民窟方面的目标。具体而言,该方案促进提高超过26.8万人的生活水平。筹得资金的10%由本地社区直接管理,用于实施利用本地劳动力和工具的项目。此外,为防止贫民窟滋生,制定了超过32项政策,作为当前改造项目的有益补充。

参与式贫民窟改造方案(PSUP)将支持各国实现《可持续发展目标》第11条目标,聚焦贫民窟改造。定于2016年10月17日至20日在厄瓜多尔基多举行的联合国住房和可持续城市发展大会将通过《新城市议程》,由各国政府进而决定该方案未来的使命。

Up for slum dwellers- transforming a billion lives campaign unveiled in Europe

By on 07/12/2016

Up for slum dwellers- transforming a billion lives campaign unveiled in EuropeGeneva, Switzerland, 2 July 2016 – In a bid to raise financial resources aimed at tackling the slum challenge, the Up for Slum Dwellers- Transforming a Billion Lives Campaign was unveiled to the European Union countries for the first time. The campaign is an ambitious global public-private partnership being implemented through the framework of UN-Habitat’s World Urban Campaign (WUC).

“Today, 1.6 billion people do not have access to adequate shelter around the world. One billion of those live in informal settlements and about one in four people live in conditions that harm their health, safety, prosperity and opportunities,” said Mr. Alioune Badiane, the UN-Habitat Director of Programmes.

“Reducing inequalities in the urban context by integrating the people living in slums into the broader urban fabric makes our cities more prosperous and sustainable,” he added. The campaign will mobilize financial resources that will go towards the implementation of tangible initiatives such as waste management, access to water and sanitation, access roads and public spaces, lighting for community spaces and neighbourhoods and creation of job opportunities, which improve the living conditions of people living in slums. “The campaign also provides a platform for building bridges amongst communities in conflict. With the use of locally available resources and tools, slum upgrading can be a powerful tool for engagement.

We would like to offer the Geneva Peace Building Platform website to further disseminate key actions and messages that emerge,” said Dr. Achim Wennmann, the Executive Coordinator , Geneva Peace Building Platform. The campaign will also be a platform through which participating countries in the global north and south will exchange knowledge and experiences on slum upgrading. The United Nations Economic Commission for Europe( UNECE) indicates that over the last 25 years, informal settlements have become an increasingly important and urgent matter in the region.

As of 2007, an estimated 50 million people lived in informal settlements in 20 member States of the UNECE. In addition, UN-HABITAT estimates that by the year 2030, an additional 3 billion people, about 40 percent of the world’s population, will need access to adequate housing to ensure their human right to adequate housing. This translates into a demand for 96,150 new affordable and accessible units every day and 4,000 every hour. With such an enormous task ahead, urgent action is required to ensure that the number of people living in slums does not increase due to the lack of adequate housing. The achievements of the Participatory Slum Upgrading Programme, which will host the campaign we also showcased at the event.

The Programme is operational in 35 countries and 190 cities located across Africa, Caribbean and Pacific. Participating countries were supported to implement the Millennium Development Goal Targets on water, sanitation and slums. More specifically, the Programme contributed to the transformation of the living conditions for more than 268,000 people. Ten percent of funds raised were directly managed by local communities, in projects that utilize local labour and tools. In addition, inorder to prevent slum formation, more than 32 policies were developed as a way of complementing on-going upgrading initiatives.

Going forward, PSUP will support countries to implement the Sustainable Development Goal 11 and target on slum upgrading. With the adoption of the New Urban Agenda at the United Nations Conference on Housing and Sustainable Urban Development scheduled to take place in Quito, Ecuador, from 17 – 20 October 2016, Governments will further decide on the future mandate of the Progamme.

Main Menu