联合国人居署青年论坛讨论难民营的城市经济

By on 2016-09-12

un-habitat-youth-forum-on-urban-economy-in-the-refugee-settlement

肯尼亚卡库玛,2016912日 —— 最近,联合国人居署及其合作伙伴举办论坛,对卡库玛和Kalobeyei 的一群青年开展城市经济培训。 肯尼亚工业化和企业发展部图尔卡纳郡代表Geidon Loitalem Angelei 先生对青年进行了肯尼亚创业流程的培训, 包括焦点活动、品牌、及更重要的企业办理营业执照的手续。

世界粮食计划署(World Food Programme)的Philomena Wanyama女士介绍了世界粮食计划署开发的Bamba Chakula项目的结构。该项目致力于支持难民融入收容难民的社区。在该项目中,地方企业经过注册,可以与难民进行贸易,推动收容难民的社区的经济发展。青年将需要发展技能,增加知识,以寻求和发展创新的商业解决方案。

联合国人居署与日本和平之翼组织(Peace Winds Japan)合作,将提供一系列培训,开展青年的能力建设,便于青年领导创业,从而促进该地区的就业。联合国人居署经济和城市金融专家戴维·卡里乌基(David Kariuki)先生说明,Kalobeyei住区的空间规划将如何有助于城市化利益的最大化,预防或缓解城市化的不利影响,推动地方创造就业,实现地方就业的优质化。

卡里乌基逐步介绍青年应该如何分析各种主张的可行性,制定行动计划,筹集资金,关注商品供求以评估市场等。这是一次进步的论坛,有望使收容难民的社区的30名青年代表获益,促进他们的生计,缩小他们与青年难民之间的经济差距。以往,住区发展中出现过此类经济差距。

联合国人居署致力于支持规划,使难民融入收容难民的社区。作为交叉问题,青年的参与对于提高能力、在经济发展中创造机遇等至关重要。联合国人居署的工作组对卡库玛和Kalobeyei地区小企业的城市经济进行了快速评估,讨论需要提升Kalobeyei镇收容难民的社区的能力,使他们能在新难民营发展创造的潜在机遇中获益。

联合国人居署通过普遍参与式进程,正在领导Kalobeyei难民营的空间规划。这个项目由日本政府资助,旨在使难民融入社区。新难民营是重要的新市场,是周边社区商业发展的良机,尤其是对Kalobeyei镇而言。Kalobeyei镇的城市经济疲软,极为需要提升能力和产品,拥有大量潜在的稳定劳动力和土地供应等优势。

根据社会经济调研的成果,Kalobeyei镇社区需要了解“在企业产权法定条件相关的新兴经济机遇中,如何使经营理念概念化,”以之作为路线图,获益于Kalobeyei地区的新兴市场。

UN-Habitat youth forum on urban economy in the refugee settlement

By on 09/12/2016

un-habitat-youth-forum-on-urban-economy-in-the-refugee-settlementKakuma, Kenya 12 September 2016—UN-Habitat and its partners recently hosted a forum to train a group of youths from Kakuma and Kalobeyei on urban economy. Mr. Geidon Loitalem Angelei, delegate from the Ministry of Trade, Industrialization and Enterprise Development Turkana County trained the youth on the procedure of starting a business in Kenya, including the focus activity, branding, but most importantly the process for obtaining a license for the entrepreneurial activity.

Further, Ms. Philomena Wanyama from World Food Programme, presented the structure of Bamba Chakula Programe developed by WFP in support of the integration approach of the host and refugee community. Within the programme, local enterprises can be registered to trade with the refugees communities, empowering the host community in economic development. Young people will need to develop the skills and understanding to pursue and develop innovative solutions for businesses.

UN-Habitat in partnership with Peace Winds Japan will offer a series of trainings to build the capacity of youths to initiate youth led enterprises which will promote employment in the area. On his part, Mr. David Kariuki, an economic and municipal finance expert from UN-Habitat explained how the spatial planning for the Kalobeyei Settlement will help to maximize the benefits of urbanization and prevent or mitigate negative impacts, helping to create and keep quality local jobs.

Kariuki presented step by step how youth should analyze the ideas viability, develop an action plan, mobilize capital, and assess the market focusing on demand and availability of goods. This is a progressive forum projected to benefit 30 youths from the host community and potentially contribute to their livelihoods and reduce the economic disparities with their counterparts from the refugee community as recorded in previous developments.

UN-Habitat is working on supporting planning for integrated refugee and host communities, and as a cross-cutting issue, youth involvement is highly important in increasing capacity and linking opportunities for development from an economic perspective. Following a quick assessment of urban economy on small businesses in Kakuma- Kalobeyei area, UN-Habitat team discussed the need of increasing the capacity of the host community in Kalobeyei town to enable them benefit from the potential opportunities that the New Settlement brings for development.

UN-Habitat is leading the spatial planning component for Kalobeyei Refugee Settlement, through a deeply participatory process aimed at integrating refugees and host communities, funded by the Government of Japan. The New Settlement is an important new market, an opportunity for business development for the surrounding community, in particular Kalobeyei Town. Kalobeyei town has a very weak standing in urban economy practices, with great need for enhancing its capacity and products, and with strengths such as a large number of potential competent workers and the land availability.

Following the outcomes of a scoping socio-economic research, the community in Kalobeyei Town needs to be informed on the “how to conceptualize business ideas from emerging economic opportunities with respect to the legal requierements of business ownership” as the roadmap to benefitting from the growing market in Kalobeyei area.

Main Menu