.

联合国人居署发布《2016世界城市状况报告,城市化与发展:新兴未来》

By on 2016-05-18

Emerging-cities-words

纽约,2016518日 —— 周三,联合国人居署发布最新的全球可持续城市发展旗舰报告,称需要制定《新城市议程》来释放城市的变革力量。 《2016世界城市状况报告,城市化与发展:新兴未来》称, 排名前600位的城市拥有全球五分之一的人口,制造的国内生产总值占全球国内生产总值的60%。 然而,如果不对城市化加以规划和管理, 必将导致不平等现象加剧、贫民窟增多、给气候变化带来灾难性的影响,报告指出。

联合国人居署执行主任霍安·克洛斯博士说:“人居二大会召开以来的二十年里,全球人口向城市地区聚集。很多时候,随之发生的是社会经济增长。但是现在城市景观正在转变,迫切需要用具有连贯性的务实举措解决城市化问题。”“《新城市议程》要有效地应对城市化的挑战,利用城市化提供的机遇,”克洛斯说。随着城市人口增加,城市占据的土地面积也在以更高的速度扩张。预计,到2030年,发展中国家城市人口将增加一倍,而城市占据的面积将增加两倍。

此类城市扩张浪费土地,消耗能源,增加温室气体排放量。重要城市,至少超大城市已经向发展中地区过渡。1995年,全球有22个特大城市、14个超大城市。到2015年,两者数量已各增加一倍。届时22个超大城市,即全球79%的超大城市将位于拉丁美洲、亚洲和非洲。目前,增长最快的城市是人口不足百万的中小城市,其人口数占全球城市总人口的59%。

 

持续挑战和新兴挑战

全球各地城市面对的挑战比20年前人居二大会召开时更加艰巨。持续存在的城市问题包括非正式住区的城市居民人口不断增长、提供城市服务富有挑战等。新出现的城市问题包括气候变化、排外和不平等加剧、安全环境恶化、国际移民激增等。1950年至2005年期间,城市化水平从29%增至49%,全球化石燃料燃烧产生的碳排放增长了近500%。这一增长显然是不可持续的。

城市消耗的能源占全球总量的60%至80%,产生的温室气体排放量多达人类总量的70%,以能源供应和交通领域消耗的化石燃料为主要排放来源。城市化提供很多机会来制定缓解和适应气候变化的战略,尤其是通过城市规划和设计。同时,被迫越境的国际移民暴涨是对城市造成影响的新兴问题。叙利亚战争引发了第二次世界大战以来最庞大的人道主义危机。2015年,超过150万被迫移民和难民抵达欧洲,相比之下2014年的移民数量仅有28万。

虽然公众对移民和难民的认知越来越负面,但是以往难民危机的经验显示,移民最终可以成为促进国家经济社会发展的颇具价值的助力。有一个新兴的、重大的城市问题能够破坏全球城市的长期可持续发展,那就是不安全和风险的加剧。犯罪和暴力使恐慌笼罩着城市。影响城市的新的普遍风险包括恐怖主义、城市战争、安保升级、流行病等。

 

前所未有的机遇

第三届联合国住房和可持续城市发展大会(人居三)将于2016年10月在厄瓜多尔基多举行。我们将借此独特的机会制定城市议程,推动繁荣和平衡发展。报告呼吁全面推进《新城市议程》。《新城市议程》对于成功实现《2030年可持续发展议程》制定的可持续发展目标至关重要。

 

WCR-Cover

关键讯息

城市化经过优良管理,可以促进社会经济进步,提高所有人的生活质量。

目前的城市化模型在很多方面不可持续。全球各地很多城市面对城市化的挑战全无准备。

需要制定新议程,有效地应对城市化的挑战,利用城市化提供的机遇。

新城市议程应促进城市和人类住区实现环境可持续、韧性、社会包容、完全、没有暴力、经济富有成效。

UN-Habitat launches the World Cities Report 2016, Urbanization and Development: Emerging Futures

By on 05/18/2016

Emerging-cities-wordsNew York 18 May 2016— The new global flagship report on sustainable urban development launched by UN-Habitat on Wednesday, states that a New Urban Agenda is needed to unlock the transformative power of cities. The World Cities Report 2016, Urbanization and Development: Emerging Futures, says that the top 600 cities, with 1/5th of the world’s population, produce 60 per cent of global GDP. However, when unplanned and unmanaged, urbanization can lead to increased inequality, the growth of slums and disastrous impacts on climate change, according to the report.

UN-Habitat Executive Director, Dr Joan Clos, said: “In the twenty years since the Habitat II conference, the world has seen a gathering of its population in urban areas. This has been accompanied by socioeconomic growth in many instances. But the urban landscape is changing and with it, the pressing need for a cohesive and realistic approach to urbanization. “A New Urban Agenda is required to effectively address the challenges and take advantage of the opportunities offered by urbanization,” said Clos. The changing urban landscape As the urban population increases, the land area occupied by cities is increasing at a higher rate. It is projected that by 2030, the urban population of developing countries will double, while the area covered by cites could triple.

Such urban expansion is wasteful in terms of land and energy consumption and increases greenhouse gas emissions. The urban centre of gravity— at least for megacities has shifted to the developing regions. In 1995, there were 22 large cities, and 14 megacities globally; by 2015, both categories of cities had doubled, with 22, or 79 per cent of the megacities located in Latin America, Asia and Africa. The fastest growing urban centres are the medium and small cities with less than one million inhabitants, which account for 59 per cent of the world’s urban population.

Persistent and emerging challenges

Urban areas around the world are facing greater challenges than they did 20 years ago when Habitat II Conference took place. The persistent urban issues include the growing number of urban residents living in informal settlements and the challenge of providing urban services. The emerging urban issues include climate change; exclusion and rising inequality; rising insecurity; and upsurge in international migration. Between 1950 and 2005, the level of urbanisation increased from 29 per cent to 49 per cent, while global carbon emissions from fossil-fuel burning increased by almost 500 per cent. This growth is obviously unsustainable.

Cities account for between 60 and 80 per cent of energy consumption, and generate as much as 70 per cent of the human-induced greenhouse gas emissions primarily through the consumption of fossil fuels for energy supply and transportation. Urbanization offers many opportunities to develop mitigation and adaptation strategies to deal with climate change especially through urban planning and design. At the same time, the upsurge in forced migration across international borders is an emerging issue which has implications for cities. The war in Syria has given rise to the largest humanitarian crisis since World War II. In 2015, more than 1.5 million forced migrants and refugees arrived in Europe compared to 280,000 in 2014.

Despite growing negative public perception of migrants and refugees, previous experience of refuge crisis shows that migrants can, eventually become valuable contributors to the economic and social development of countries. A major emerging urban issue capable of undermining the long-term sustainability of cities worldwide concerns insecurity and increasing risk. The fear of crime and violence continues to be pervasive in cities. New and pervasive risks affecting cities include terrorism, urban warfare, heightened securitization, and disease and pandemics.

An unprecedented opportunity

With the United Nations Conference on Housing and Sustainable Urban Development, Habitat III, taking place in Quito, Ecuador, in October 2016, we have a unique opportunity to set the urban agenda on the path to prosperity and equitable growth. The report calls for a comprehensive approach to the New Urban Agenda which will be vital to success in achieving the Sustainable Development Goals as set out in the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

WCR-CoverKey Messages

When well-managed, urbanization fosters social and economic advancement and improved quality of life for all.

The current model of urbanization is unsustainable in many respects. Many cities all over the world are grossly unprepared for the challenges associated with urbanization.

A new agenda is required to effectively address these challenges and take advantage of the opportunities offered by urbanization.

The new urban agenda should promote cities and human settlements that are environmentally sustainable, resilient, socially inclusive,safe and violence-free, economically productive.

Main Menu