.

联合国人居署成立难民项目难民营住区开发组

By on 2016-07-19

UN-Habitat establishes host community settlement development group in refugee project_1.png

肯尼亚Kalobeyei2016719日 —— 联合国人居署与日本和平之翼(Peace Winds Japan)一道, 在日本政府资助下推行肯尼亚Kalobeyei镇难民和难民营综合规划项目。 该镇辖区内不同年龄、社团、地区的 40 名代表参加了Kalobeyei 第二次社区会议。

社区会议讨论了规划进程,评议了住区当前的形势,包括各种挑战、可用资源、社区共同愿景等。郡助理委员Richard Kimtutai先生和次郡土地管理员Simon Lokakwan先生认可会议建议的项目,补充道,该项目将支持改善生计,刺激经济发展。社区会议特别要求对妇女和青年团体给予培训和商业支持。联合国人居署工作组主持成立了住区开发组,由Kalobeyei不同社团的成员构成,代表不同性别、年龄段、民族、宗教信仰和部落等。

开发组成员从社区成员中提名,最终选出10名成员代表本地政府、基层组织、社区组织、青年和妇女团体、意见领袖、其他类型的公共组织、弱势群体等。开发组强调与难民营、地方组织合作的需求。联合国人居署的这一举措使社区成员可以参与关乎他们未来的讨论,促进了参与式、包容性的规划。住区开发组将在整个规划进程中与联合国人居署合作,包括有关Kalobeyei地区难民和难民营融合的参与式规划培训。

开发组成员将了解土地使用和城镇规划的重要性,支持项目组进行调研,为空间规划献言献策,支持社区动员实地开展项目活动。Kalobeyei的发展需以合理规划和设计为基础,大量投资基础设施,来满足Kalobeyei综合空间规划迫切的规划和实施需求。这就要求开展参与式、包容性规划和社区赋权项目,支持发展和经济增长。

UN-Habitat establishes host community settlement development group in refugee project

By on 07/19/2016

UN-Habitat establishes host community settlement development group in refugee project_1.pngKalobeyei Town, Kenya 19 July 2016– UN-Habitat, together with Peace Winds Japan has been taking forward the project Planning for Integrated Refugee and Host Communities in Kalobeyei, Town, Kenya funded by the Government of Japan. The second community meeting convened in Kalobeyei Town was attended by 40 participants from different age, social groups and locations within the town`s administrative area.

The community discussed the planning process considering the current situation of the settlement including challenges, resources available and the collective community vision for the town. The Assistant County Commissioner Mr. Richard Kimtutai and the Sub-County Land Administrator Mr. Simon Lokakwan welcomed the proposed project adding that it will support improving livelihoods and attract economic development. The community has particularly requested training and business support especially for women and the youth groups. UN-Habitat team led the formation of a Settlement Development Group, with members from different social groups in Kalobeyei Town; to ensure a well-balanced representation of gender, age groups, ethnicity, religions, and tribal groups.

The nominations came from the community members and finally 10 members were selected to represent local administration, grassroots organizations, Community Based Organizations, youth and women groups, opinion leaders, other types of communal organizations and vulnerable groups in the project. The need for cooperation with host community and local organizations was emphasized. UN-Habitat approach enhances participatory and inclusive planning by allowing community members to be involved in discussions that shape their future. The Settlement Development Group will work with UN-Habitat throughout the planning process, including participatory planning workshops concerning the integration of refugee and host community in Kalobeyei area.

The members will acquire knowledge on the importance of land use and town planning, supporting the project team in research activities, giving spatial planning insights and supporting community mobilization for implementing project activities on the ground. The growth of Kalobeyei town will require considerable infrastructure investment based on a sound planning and design, in response to the urgency of planning and implementation of an integrated spatial plan for Kalobeyei. This will call for participatory and inclusive planning and community empowerment program supporting development and economic growth.

Main Menu