联合国人居署与斯里兰卡加强合作

By on 2016-09-05

UN-Habitat and Sri Lanka strengthen cooperation

科伦坡,201695日 —— 上周,联合国人居署与斯里兰卡住房和建设部签署谅解备忘录, 以加强与斯里兰卡政府的合作。 住房和建设部部长阿思克拉拉女士(W.K.K Athukorala)与联合国人居署亚太区办事处高级人类住区官员斯里尼瓦沙 · 博帕里先生(Srinivasa Popuri)分别作为斯里兰卡政府与联合国人居署的代表签署了谅解备忘录。

国家项目经理扎纳卡·塔帕格瓦先生(Chanaka Talpahewa)、联合国人居署驻斯里兰卡首席技术顾问蒂姆·麦克奈尔先生(Tim McNair)以及住房和建设部的几位高级官员共同见证了此次签约仪式。联合国人居署与斯里兰卡政府之间有着悠久的合作历史,最早可以追溯到1978年人居署与住房和建设部的合作项目。联合国人居署采取的主要措施包括为科伦坡的总体规划、政府的百万房屋方案和基于住房战略的社区建设提供援助。

谅解备忘录的签署将进一步加强联合国人居署和斯里兰卡政府之间的密切合作。例如,住房和建设部目前正在修订其国家住房政策,旨在帮助所有人获得安居之所,这一举措得到了联合国人居署的支持。阿思克拉拉女士在其讲话中表示:“今天是个重要的日子,因为它代表着我们与联合国人居署的合作又有了重大进展,我们将以为所有人提供栖身之所为目标,从社会和环境两个层面推动可持续住宅的建设。”

博帕里先生(Popuri)在聚会上对斯里兰卡政府的所给予的信任以及过去的三十年里联合国人居署所赋予的合作伙伴身份表示感谢。他回顾了自1976年在加拿大温哥华举办第一届联合国住房和人类住区问题世界会议(人居一)后,斯里兰卡政府在“人民住房”运动中所做的开创性工作。

这位高级人类住区官员解释说,联合国人居署作为联合国一个专门机构,其任务是在联合国系统中为世界各国政府的可持续城市化和人类住区工作提供援助,联合国人居署正在加强与斯里兰卡政府的合作,以进一步协助解决全国范围内的住房和城市化问题。他强调,双方签署的谅解备忘录十分及时,与将于2016年10月在厄瓜多尔基多举办的人居三联合国世界会议不谋而合,届时,世界各国领导人将相聚一堂,宣布“未来二十年人居三转型议程”。

UN-Habitat and Sri Lanka strengthen cooperation

By on 09/05/2016

UN-Habitat and Sri Lanka strengthen cooperationColombo, 5 September 2016 —UN-Habitat last week strengthened its partnership with the Government of Sri Lanka by signing a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Ministry of Housing and Construction. Mrs. W.K.K Athukorala, Secretary Ministry of Housing and Construction, signed the MoU on behalf of the Government of Sri Lanka while Mr. Srinivasa Popuri, Senior Human Settlements Officer, UN-Habitat, Regional Office for Asia and Pacific, signed on behalf of UN-Habitat.

The signing ceremony was held in the presence of Mr.Chanaka Talpahewa, Country Programme Manager and Mr Tim McNair, Chief Technical Advisor of UN-Habitat Sri Lanka along with senior officials from the Ministry of Housing and Construction. UN-Habitat has a long history of cooperation with the Government of Sri Lanka dating back to 1978 with the Ministry of Housing and Construction. Major initiatives supported by UN-Habitat include assistance to the preparation of the Master Plan for Colombo, the Government’s Million Houses Programme and community based methodologies for housing.

The signing of the MoU will further strengthen the close collaboration between UN-Habitat and the Government of Sri Lanka. For example, the Ministry of Housing and Construction is currently revising its National Housing Policy with the aim of facilitating access to decent housing for all, supported by UN-Habitat. In her speech, Mrs. Athukorala, stated “today is an important day as it represents another major milestone in our collaboration with UN-Habitat to promote socially and environmentally sustainable settlements with the goal of providing adequate shelter for all”.

Speaking at the function, Mr. Popuri thanked Government of Sri Lanka for the trust and the partnership conferred upon UN-Habitat for the past three decades. He recalled Governemnt of Sri Lanka’s pioneering leadership on ‘People’s Housing’ campaign ever since first UN World Conference on Housing and Human Settlements Issues (HABITAT I) in Vancouver, Canada, 1976.

The Senior Human Settlements Officer explained that as the specialized UN agency with a mandate to assist world governments on sustainable urbanization and human settlements work within the UN System, UN-Habitat was strengthening its partnership with Government of Sri Lanka to further assist issues related to housing and urbanization issues in the country. He highlighted the timeliness of signing such MoU between two partners coincides with forthcoming HABITAT III UN’s world conference in Quito, Ecuador, where the world leaders are meeting in October 2016 to announce ‘Transformative Habitat III agenda for next twenty years’

Main Menu