图尔卡纳青年在联合国人居署摄影培训班上探索城镇生计

By on 2016-08-04

Kakuma-Turkana1

肯尼亚卡库玛,201684日 —— 最近,肯尼亚图尔卡纳郡卡库玛和Kalobeyei地区的一群青年获得千载难逢的机会,参加摄影培训。 摄影培训班由联合国人居署卡库玛工作组开办,隶属于日本政府资助的难民和难民营综合规划项目。 培训班得到项目执行合作伙伴日本和平之翼(Peace Winds Japan)、卡库玛镇和Kalobeyei 镇管理办公室的支持。

联合国人居署的活动包括公众参与项目全程各阶段,从信息、绘图、研究到参与式规划,以了解难民和难民营的需求及发展愿景。与图尔卡纳郡人类住区的实地分析相辅相成,联合国人居署为图尔卡纳郡卡库玛镇和Kalobeyei镇的青年举办了这个特别培训班。

几十年来,卡库玛镇的发展与卡库玛难民营如影随形,受到难民营活动的直接影响。例如,卡库玛难民营既汇集了联合国机构和非政府组织(NGOs)等大量组织,也需要开发市场、住房和交通。

Kalobeyei镇毗邻Kalobeyei新住区,是个小镇,有几幢永久性建筑、公路和店铺。因为与新住区有着直接关系,Kalobeyei镇与卡库玛镇的发展境况相同。在Kalobeyei镇,一大部分社会成员仍然流浪街头,几乎所有居民都住着临时住房。

Kakuma-Turkana

培训班有两大目标。一方面,引导青年群体通过探索生活空间和生计类型、可持续发展元素、自力更生,发现社会性元素,另一方面,培训班在摄影艺术上提供有价值的技能培训。

为实现两大目标,培训班分为两个部分:(1)解析生计问题(2)摄影技能培训。联合国人居署试图通过探索城市,了解青年对所在城市生计的观点。摄影技能培训由联合国人居署获奖摄影师Julius Mwelu讲授。青年群体的任务是从5个方面拍摄他们的生活:住房、水、交通、经济和公共空间。Kalobeyei镇青年群体加上了第6个方面,即环境。

技能培训教导学生学习摄影,练习新闻摄影。获选图片反映出图尔卡纳郡城镇的重要元素,是迅速了解学生的办法。图片说明清晰地解释了图尔卡纳郡青年对于住区的看法。从最后自选的图片来看,青年确认的各类元素,如公共设施、公共空间、经济和人类活动等,对于人类住区有着极为重要的意义。然而,青年确认的主要需求是供水、住房和交通。

Turkana Youth exploring towns` livelihoods in UN-Habitat photography workshops

By on 08/04/2016

Kakuma-Turkana1Kakuma, Kenya 4 August 2016—A group of youths from Kakuma and Kaloeyebei areas of Kenya’s Turkana County recently had the once in a lifetime opportunity to train in photography. The photography workshop was organized by UN-Habitat Kakuma within the project Supporting Planning for Integrated Refugees and Host Communities, funded by the Government of Japan. The activity was supported by the implementation partner Peace Winds Japan and the Ward administration offices of Kakuma and Kalobeyei towns.

UN-Habitat approach involves public participation in all stages of the project, from information, mapping and research to participatory planning for understanding the need and vision for development from both refugees and host communities. To complement ground analysis on human settlements in Turkana County, UN-Habitat organized the special workshop involving Turkana youth living in Kakuma Town and Kalobeyei Town.

Kakuma Town has been developed in the past decades with the presence of the Kakuma Refugee Camp and has been directly impacted by the activities around the refugee camp. For instance, the camp has brought a number of organizations, including UN Agencies and NGOs, but also need for market development, housing and transportation.

Kalobeyei Town, in the proximity on Kalobeyei New Site is a small town with several permanent buildings, road and shops, where development is prospected to take place under the same conditions as Kakuma Town due to the direct relation with the New Site. In Kalobeyei Town, a large part of the community members are still nomads and almost the entire population lives in temporary homes.

Kakuma-TurkanaThe workshops had two main objectives: on one hand the youth groups were led to discover elements of being settled as a community, through exploring typologies of living space and livelihood, elements of sustainability and self-reliance but on the other hand, the workshop provided valuable skill training in the art of photography.

Following the two objectives, the workshops were divided in two components: (i) decoding the livelihood and (ii) the technical training on photography. Through an urban exploration exercise, UN-Habitat to understand the youth`s view on the livelihoods of their towns. The technical training in photography was conducted by the awarded UN-Habitat photographer Julius Mwelu. The youth groups were assigned to photograph their livelihoods following 5 aspects: shelter, water, transport, economy and public space. Kalobeyei Town youth group added a 6th element – environment.

The technical skill enabled students to learn photography and exercise photojournalism. The selection of images reflects important elements of Turkana towns, and proved a very fast learning from the students. The captions represent clear interpretation of what means being settled for the Turkana Youth. From the final presentation of self-selected images, the youth identified elements such as public amenities, public space, economy and human activity to have a high importance in making people settled. However, the primary needs identifies are water provision, shelter and transport.

Main Menu