约翰内斯堡着手实施可持续规划

By on 2016-07-12
Johannesburg embraces sustainable planning

约翰内斯堡街道 照片©:萨拉·阿加瓦尔(Sarah Agarwal);弗利克(Flickr)

约翰内斯堡,2016712日 —— 上周,主题为“规划非洲城市”的南非规划研究院(SAPI)2016年年会召开。 会上,约翰内斯堡市向年会提交了约翰内斯堡2040年空间发展框架(SDF)。 空间发展框架阐明了约翰内斯堡的空间愿景,即把约翰内斯堡打造成世界级的非洲城市。 联合国人居署城市规划实验室和约翰内斯堡规划部门促成了一系列多方利益相关者参与的研讨会(专家研讨会),正是通过这些研讨会,才得以制定出该框架。 上月,市长委员会已批准该框架,并将其纳为委员会政策。

空间发展框架的参与程序举例说明了,如何利用城市规划来协调人们所关心的不同领域问题,并发展成互相协调的空间愿景。空间发展框架在整个城市范围内运用了可持续规划原则,推动建立了公正高效的空间机构。为确保该计划的可实施性,从一开始,联合国人居署就采用了包括空间、法律和金融在内的三管齐下方案。

该框架为发展提供了指导方针,强调了在未来25年之内,对资本基础设施和战略性城市区域投资的重要性。约翰内斯堡是南非最大的城市之一,现有居民400万,到2040年,其居民有望增长到600万。目前,大多数城市增长通过一次性、低密度的城市边缘地区进行调和,导致交通拥堵,上班时花费在路上的时间过长。

空间发展框架标志着一个全新规划方法的开始,这个全新方法将促使约翰内斯堡从一个无规则延伸的城市,渐渐转变为一个能为人们带来更多就业机会、便利设施和公共交通设施的紧凑型城市。为实现这一目标,空间发展框架确定了5个转型领域,分别是采矿带、交通节点附近的城市发展、以及城市中心的重生和发展。约翰内斯堡2040年空间发展框架为21世纪非洲城市规划和如何实施《新城市议程》树立了榜样。

Johannesburg embraces sustainable planning

By on 07/12/2016
Johannesburg embraces sustainable planning

A street in Johannesburg © Sarah Agarwal; Flickr

Johannesburg, 12 July 2016– Last week, the City of Johannesburg presented Johannesburg’s Spatial Development Framework 2040 (SDF) at the 2016 South African Planning Institute (SAPI) Conference entitled ‘Planning African Cities’. The Spatial Development Framework elucidates Johannesburg’s spatial vision to become a world-class African city. It was developed through a series of participatory multi-stakeholder workshops (charrettes) facilitated by UN-Habitat’s Urban Planning LAB and Johannesburg’s planning department. The framework was approved and adopted as council policy by the mayoral committee last month.

The SDF’s participatory process is an example of how urban planning can be used to coordinate different sectorial concerns to develop an integrated spatial vision. The SDF applies sustainable planning principles on a city-wide scale, and promotes a just and efficient spatial organization. To ensure that the plan is implementable, UN-Habitat’s three pronged approach that incorporates spatial, legal and financial components was adopted from the start.

The framework provides guidelines for development and prioritizes the investments in capital infrastructure and strategic urban areas for the next 25 years. Johannesburg is one of the largest cities in South Africa, and is expected to grow from 4 to 6 million inhabitants by 2040. Currently, most urban growth is accommodated by single-use, low-density areas at the edges of the city, resulting in traffic jams and long travel times to work.

The SDF marks the beginning of a new planning approach that will allow Johannesburg to shift progressively from a sprawled city to a compact one that brings people closer to jobs and amenities and increases public transport opportunities. To achieve this, the SDF defines five transformation areas which include the mining belt, urban development around transit nodes, regeneration and extension of the city centre. Johannesburg’s Spatial Development Framework 2040 sets an example for planning an African city in the 21st century, and how the New Urban Agenda can be implemented.

Main Menu