性别包容是可持续城市化的关键

By on 2016-06-28

Gender Inclusion Critical for Sustainable Urbanization_2

2016年6月28日 —— 本月,来自联合国妇女署、联合国人居署、城市联盟和怀柔委员会的代表在纽约召开了一场专题讨论会, 就《新城市议程》社会性别前景专家小组会议结果进行了讨论。 参加专题讨论会的代表有:联合国人居署副执行主任艾萨·卡西拉女士(Aisa Kaycira)、联合国妇女署政策顾问西尔维娅·赫尔多斯彻女士(Sylvia Hordosch)、城市联盟城市专家劳拉·利马(Laura Lima)和怀柔委员会的瓦奥莱特·失乌斯(Violet Shivutse) 。

卡西拉女士强调了城市化对于联系农村人口和城镇人口、以及联系人们安家地和工作地的重要性,她还说若这些政策倡议兼容并蓄、协调良好,则其完全能够带来实实在在的变化。她还对联合国妇女署、城市联盟、怀柔委员会及其他合作民间团体表示感谢,感谢他们提倡民众,特别是妇女的发言权,感谢他们对城市政策对话的一贯重视,使其富有意义。

卡西拉女士指出,即将召开的“人居三”大会是可持续发展目标正式通过以来召开的首次重要国际会议,她说:“因此,对我们来说,将《2030年议程》与《新城市议程》联系起来,并通过《新城市议程》有效实施《2030年议程》是至关重要的”,她还补充道,若要实现这一目标,务必要得到各成员国和民间团体的支持,并与他们合作。最终,正是致力于赋予女性和女孩改变其生活权力的强有力和负责任的领导,让女性和女孩成长为新城市议程的领导者和受益者。

联合国妇女署的西尔维娅·赫而多斯彻女士强调,《新城市议程》中有关社会性别的持续对话是以《2030年议程》、《亚的斯亚贝巴行动议程》、《巴黎协定》和1325号决议审议进程为基础的。她还说,《2030年议程》确立了普遍、不可分割、非歧视、参与和责任的原则,同时,为实现性别平等和赋予女性权益的目标,《新城市议程》务必遵循这一路线。“基于现有的《通过消除对妇女一切形式歧视公约》(CEDAW)和《北京宣言》所作出的承诺,在《新城市议程》文件中融入性别视角还有很长一段路要走”,她还强调应早日解决城市女性面临的交叉歧视,不要把所有女性都归为弱势群体。

怀柔委员会的瓦奥莱特·失乌斯强调,《新城市议程》必须承认基层女性是城市化进程中关键的利益相关者,要确保她们参与到决策过程中。她说:“《新城市议程》必须将穷人置于中心位置,同时确保城市女性的居住权保障具有优先权。”她还补充道,理解统一土地权内的居住权、紧扣权力下放对确保女性权利至关重要。她还强调性别响应预算是确保《新城市议程》融资平等的主要部分。

城市联盟的劳拉·利马重申了《新城市议程》应解决那些被落下最远的人的需要。为顺利完成这项任务,城市包容性以及其参与性规划将至关重要。

Gender Inclusion Critical for Sustainable Urbanization

By on 06/28/2016

Gender Inclusion Critical for Sustainable Urbanization_228 June 2016 – A panel discussion held in New York  this month brought together representatives of UN Women, UN-Habitat, Cities Alliance and the Huairou Commission to discuss results of the Expert Group Meeting on Gender Perspectives of the New Urban Agenda. Panelists included Ms. Aisa Kaycira, Deputy Executive Director of UN-Habitat; Ms. Sylvia Hordosch, Policy Adviser, UN Women; Violet Shivutse of the Huairou Commission and Laura Lima, Urban Specialist, Cities Alliance.

Noting that urbanisation is about connecting rural and urban populations, and connecting the places where people make their homes and the places where they make their livelihoods, Ms. Kacyira said policy initiatives have the potential to bring about real change on the ground when they are inclusive and well co-ordinated. She thanked UN Women, Cities Alliance, the Huairou Commission and other civil society partners for advocating for the voice of the people, and those of women in particular, to be consistently taken into account in urban policy dialogue for it to be meaningful.

Ms. Kaycira pointed out that the forthcoming Habitat III Conference will be the first major international conference to take place following the adoption of the Sustainable Development Goals. “It will therefore be of paramount importance for us to ensure that the 2030 Agenda is linked with, and effectively implemented through the New Urban Agenda,” she said, adding that in this endeavour partnerships with, and the support of Member States and Civil Society Organisations are essential. Ultimately, it is through strong and accountable leadership committed to empowering them to transform their lives that women and the girl child will emerge as leaders and beneficiaries of the New Urban Agenda.

Silva Hordosch of UN Women emphasized that ongoing dialogue on the role of gender in the New Urban Agenda builds on the 2030 Agenda, Addis Ababa Action Agenda, the Paris Agreement and the Resolution 1325 review process. The 2030 Agenda established principles of universality, indivisibility, non-discrimination, participation and accountability, and the NUA must follow this path in order to achieve the goal of gender equality and women’s empowerment, said Ms. Hordosch. “More can, and needs to be done to integrate gender perspectives throughout the NUA document, based on existing commitments from the CEDAW and Beijing Declaration,” she said, stressing that the challenge of intersecting discriminations faced by women in cities needs to be addressed clearly, without clustering all women as a vulnerable group.

The New Urban Agenda must recognize women at the grassroots as critical stakeholders in the process of urbanization and ensure that they are included in the decision making process, noted Ms. Violet Shivutse of the Huairou Commission. “The NUA must place the poor at its centre and ensure that security of tenure is a priority right for women in cities,” she said, adding that understanding tenure within a continuum of land rights and focusing on decentralization would be essential for ensuring the rights of women. She also emphasized that gender-responsive budgeting is an essential component in ensuring equality in the financing of the NUA.

Laura Lima of the Cities Alliance reiterated the need for the NUA to address the most urgent needs of those left furthest behind. In order to do this successfully, inclusivity and participatory planning in cities will be critical.

Main Menu