前联合国人居署青年顾问委员会成员荣获联合国年度杰出人物第二名

By on 2016-10-31

raphael-obonyo

内罗毕,20161031日 —— 内罗毕罗戈乔(Korogocho)贫民窟青年拉斐尔 · 欧泊尤(Raphael Obonyo)凭借在青年赋权领域的贡献, 荣获2016年联合国年度杰出人物第二名。

联合国信息中心(UNIC)宣布, 欧泊尤的获奖原因是代表非洲青年对政策制定者施加影响。 他曾是联合国人居署青年顾问委员会成员,至今在重要领域仍占有一席之地。他是全球青年大使(Global Young Diplomat),2014年克莱恩-蒙塔纳(Crans Montana)未来新兴领袖、(美国)德国马歇尔基金会(German Marshall Fund)新兴领袖。2015年,欧泊尤荣获非洲最励志青年称号。他是2015年联合国纳尔逊·曼德拉奖和2015年全球青年之声(Global Youth Voice)的入选者,是肯尼亚《商业日报》40岁以下40名杰出男士的最终入围者。

他在罗戈乔贫民窟出生长大。罗戈乔是肯尼亚第三大非正式住区,环境恶劣,贫困及其相关问题剥夺了居民的尊严,尤其是青年的尊严。欧泊尤最热衷于为青年男女创造机遇,以开发他们全部的潜能。他是诸多青年赋权组织和项目的联合创始人。

2016年联合国年度杰出人物的获奖者是根据其对实现《联合国可持续发展目标》的贡献而选出的。欧泊尤获奖不仅是表彰他个人作为青年的成就,也是宣扬他个人奋斗的经历。这个奖项表明,青年是当今的领袖,而非仅仅是未来的领袖。奖项显示,青年不仅“有不足”,也“有潜力”,为社会进步和发展制定愿景、付诸行动。奖项申明,青年不仅存在问题或制造问题,也解决问题,青年有实力解决社区、国家、大洲乃至全球的问题。

“我感谢联合国始终支持青年的事业。最重要的是,我感谢联合国人居署。这个机构给我提供了千载难逢的机会,代表青年,服务青年”, 前联合国人居署青年顾问委员会成员欧泊尤称。“这个奖项彰显韧性,倡导青年的最高理想,即面对不可想象的困难,我们奋勇向前,改变历史,为青年也为他人创造更加美好的未来,”欧泊尤说。

.

Former UN-Habitat Youth Advisory Board member is runner-up UN Person of the year

By on 10/31/2016

raphael-obonyoNairobi, 31 October 2016—Raphael Obonyo, a Youth from Korogocho Slums in Nairobi, has been named the Runner-Up in the 2016 UN Persons of the Year for his contribution to youth empowerment

In an announcement by the UN Information Centre (UNIC) Obonyo was feted for being an influential voice of African youth to policy makers. He has served as a member of the UN-Habitat Youth Advisory Board, and remains audible in critical circles of influence. He is Global Young Diplomat, a 2014 Crans Montana New Leader of Tomorrow and an Emerging Leader with the German Marshall Fund of the United States. In 2015, Obonyo was named one of the Most Inspirational Youth in Africa. He is a nominee for the 2015 UN Nelson Mandela Award, and 2015 Global Youth Voice, and a finalist for the Business Daily’s 40 under 40 Top Men in Kenya.

He was born and raised in Korogocho, the third largest informal settlement in Kenya, an unforgiving environment, where poverty and poverty related problems strip people especially the youth of their dignity. Obonyo’s strongest passion has always been to create opportunities for young men and women, to realize their full potential and he have co-founded a number of youth empowerment organizations and programs.

The 2016 UN Persons of the Year award winner is selected based on their commitment towards the achievement of the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals. The award to Raphael is not only celebrates his achievements as a youth, but it is also about the story of his struggle for opportunities. The award is a clear signpost that youth are leaders of today, and not only he future. This award shows that youth is not only about “lack”, but it is about “potential” – vision and action for social progress and development. The award affirms that youth are not only a population with problems, or pose problems, but youth are the solution, and that youth have the power to solve problems in our communities, country, continent and the world.

“I am grateful to the United Nations for their continued support to youth endeavors. Most importantly, to UN-Habitat, the agency that gave me a rare opportunity to represent and serve the youth, stated Raphael, a former member of UN Habitat Youth Advisory Board. The award demonstrates resilience, and speaks to youth’s highest aspirations –in the face of unimaginable difficulties, we can beat the odds, change the shape of history and create a better future for ourselves and for others,” Obonyo said.

Main Menu