会议推动《新城市议程》最后冲刺

By on 2016-08-05

内罗毕, 2016 年 月 日 —— 为了筹备将于10 月在基多举行的人居三大会, 近日闭幕的筹备委员会第三次会议( PrepCom3 )大力推进《新城市议程》。

会议在印度尼西亚泗水进行了三天的紧密磋商, 各成员国代表承认可持续城市化的重要意义, 讨论影响《2030年可持续发展议程》及实现可持续发展目标的举措。

142 个国家的 4248 名代表注册参会, 审议筹备委员会第三次会议对于人居三大会的重要意义。

联合国人居署执行主任兼人居三大会秘书长霍安·克洛斯博士在闭幕词中称:“我们感谢印度尼西亚和泗水市的热情好客。人居署与泗水市政府、泗水市市长、印度尼西亚公共工程和住房部的合作互助为在泗水展开密集工作打下了坚实的基础。”

 

《新城市议程》的冲刺阶段

在66次平行会议和周边会议上,联合国各成员国、利益相关方、及政府间组织、地方和地区政府、基层组织的代表,包括妇女团体和青年团体、贫民窟居民组织、非正式部门等,讨论了城市发展的新模式如何把经济、社会、环境可持续发展的方方面面融合起来。

目前,全球半数以上人口居住在城市,今后几十年城市人口数有望大幅增长。我们当前的诸多挑战,如气候变化、移民、社会包容、安保等,都是城市固有的问题。

《新城市议程》与可持续发展目标息息相关,囊括了可持续发展目标第11条目标(让城市包容、安全、韧性、可持续)范围内外的发展问题,为全面创新地解决这些问题提供了独一无二的机会。

“参与人居三大会进程的所有政府和利益相关方都将在今后几个月开展密集的工作,以保障在10月成功通过《新城市议程》,”克洛斯博士说。

Discussions push ever closer to adoption of a New Urban Agenda

By on 08/05/2016

Nairobi, 5 August 2016 – In preparation for the Habitat III conference to be held in Quito in October, the third session of the Preparatory Committee – PrepCom3 – closed with strong progress towards the adoption of the New Urban Agenda.

In three intensive days of negotiations in Surabaya, Indonesia, delegates from member states recognized the importance of sustainable urbanization and discussed the ways in which it could influence Agenda 2030 and the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals.

A total of 4,248 participants from 142 different countries were registered during the three day meeting reflecting the importance of the discussions at PrepCom3 leading up to Habitat III.

In his closing remarks, Dr Joan Clos, UN-Habitat Executive Director and Secretary-General of the Habitat III conference said: “We thank the city of Surabaya and the country of Indonesia for their great hospitality and a magnificent welcoming.  The cooperation and mutual spirit with the local government of Surabaya, its Mayor and with the Ministry of Public Works and Housing provided a solid ground for the intense work done here.”

The final stretch to the NUA

In 66 parallel and side events, United Nations member states, stakeholders, representatives from intergovernmental organisations, local and regional governments and grassroots organisations – including women and youth groups, slumdwellers’ organisations and the informal sector – discussed how a new model of urban development would be able to integrate all facets of economically, socially and environmentally sustainable development.

With more than 50 per cent of the world’s population currently residing in cities and this expected to grow significantly over the next few decades, many of the current challenges facing us – such as climate change, migration, social exclusion and security – are inherently urban issues.

With strong links to the Sustainable Development Goals, encompassing development issues beyond those outlined in SDG11 (to make cities inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable), the New Urban Agenda provides a unique opportunity to address these in a holistic and innovative way.

“All governments and stakeholders involved in the Habitat III process will work intensively over the coming months to secure a successful adoption of the New Urban Agenda in October”, said Dr. Clos.

Main Menu