加拿大城市探索《可持续发展目标》的机遇和挑战

By on 2016-08-03

Canadian municipalities explore challenges, opportunities of SDGs

多伦多,201683日 —— 最近,国际城市领导组织(ICL)和城市金融和治理协会(IMFG)举办圆桌会议,考量加拿大城市执行《可持续发展目标》的机遇和挑战、资金和能力,尤其是第11条目标,“让城市包容、安全、韧性、可持续。” 会议题为 “资助加拿大城市的可持续发展目标”,在多伦多大学蒙克全球事务学院召开。

围绕这一目标展开讲话的有三位演讲嘉宾,分别代表联邦、城市和国际决策者。联合国人居署城市经济和金融处协调员Marco Kamiya首先介绍了在全球范围资助《可持续发展目标》的情况。他指出,加拿大有实力实现《可持续发展目标》设定的各项目标,可以成为其他国家和城市的榜样,指引他们实现城市的《可持续发展目标》。

 

全球监督、本地执行

基奇纳市长、加拿大城市联盟(FCM)名誉主席、世界城市和地方政府联合组织(UCLG)财务长Berry Vrbanovic在Marco Kamiya之后发表演讲,称虽然《可持续发展目标》一定范围内得到全球监督,但是这些目标的实现必须由地方来执行。加拿大目前处于“范式转变中,要求从城市、地区、省到联邦各级政府通力协作”,Berry Vrbanovic先生说。如果各级政府间的联系中断,那么《可持续发展目标》将难以实现。

士巴丹拿-约克堡(Spadina-Fort York)国会议员兼总理国会秘书(政府间事务)魏德方(Adam Vaughan)强调,妥善采集数据和指标具有重要意义,有利于有效且高效地引导决策进程。“需要实现循证决策,”他说。这类进程信赖城市,允许城市“积极向前”,这样地方政府就能代表居民理智行动。最后,与会者同意,城市发挥着关键作用,不仅关系到实现城市的《可持续发展目标》,而且关系到所有的《可持续发展目标》。虽然城市被视为全球性挑战,但重要的是从本地出发应对城市问题,才能找到解决方案。

本次圆桌会议是系列会议的第二次会议。第一次会议于2016年4月举行,广泛讨论了《可持续发展目标》和城市繁荣项目(CPI)。随后将召开更多会议,为2017年多伦多举行的2017国际金融峰会做好准备。

Home   >   MEDIA CENTRE   >   News   >   Canadian municipalities explore challenges, opportunities of SDGs

Canadian municipalities explore challenges, opportunities of SDGs

By on 08/03/2016

Canadian municipalities explore challenges, opportunities of SDGsToronto, August 03, 2016 – International City Leaders (ICL) and Institute of Municipal Finance and Governance (IMFG) recently hosted a roundtable event to consider the finance and capacity opportunities and challenges of Canadian municipalities when faced with implementing the SDGs, specifically Goal 11; “Make cities inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable”. The event, ‘Financing the Urban Sustainable Development Goals in Canadian Cities’ was held at the Munk School of Global Affairs at the University of Toronto.

To address this objective, there were three guest speakers representing the federal, municipal, and international levels of decision makers. Marco Kamiya, Coordinator, Urban Economy and Finance Branch, of UN-Habitat began by presenting what financing the SDGs looks like at a global scale. He stated that Canada is well positioned to accomplish the goals outlined by the SDGs and can act as role model for other countries and cities looking for guidance in achieving urban SDGs.

Global monitoring, local implementation

Mayor Berry Vrbanovic, Mayor of Kitchener, FCM President Emeritus, and UCLG Treasurer, followed Marco Kamiya’s address stating that while SDGs are presented and to an extent monitored at a global scale, the achievement of these goals will have to be addressed at a local level. Canada is currently in a “paradigm shift, which calls for collaboration between all orders of government, from municipal, regional, provincial, and federal”, said Mr Vrbanovic. With disconnection between levels of government, the SDGs will become difficult to achieve.

Adam Vaughan, Member of Parliament for Spadina-Fort York and Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister (Intergovernmental Affairs) stressed the importance of proper data collection and metrics, in order to efficiently and effectively guide the decision making process. “Evidence based decision making needs to become a reality,” he said. This type of process lends trust to the city, and allows them to ‘lean in’ so the local authority can act rationally on habitant’s behalf. Finally, participants agreed that cities play a key role in the achievement of not just urban SDGs, but of all SDGs, and though they are considered a global challenge, it is important to bring them back to the local scale in order to search for solutions.

This round-table event was the second event in a series of discussions. The first held in April 2016 that broadly discussed SDGs and the City Prosperity Initiative. There will be more discussions to follow and they will build up to the 2017 International Financial Summit, to be held in Toronto in 2017.

Main Menu